SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8280 (Skirt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 3051 times 
Reviewed by:Amber in Norfolk
photo

 
 
About Amber in Norfolkstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/16/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/06 8:23 PM
Last Updated:7/25/08 10:16 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barbc said...
Yea your first garment! It looks great! I want to make some skirts for spring, the one's I see in the stores are just a tad too short (I'm tall) and skirts are so easy and so satisfying to make. Barb C
3/19/06 9:23 PM
amadoofus said...
Congrats on your first garment! Isn't it great to be able to pick the fabric and pattern that YOU want, and know that there won't be a duplicate?! It does look great!!
3/19/06 9:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Congratulations on your first garment and first review. I have made this pattern 3 times and just love it.
3/19/06 10:09 PM
Leora said...
Welcome to PR! Your skirt looks great! Congrats on a successful first project and your first review.
3/19/06 10:51 PM
luvzdogz said...
Wow, you've done a really great job considering this is the first garment you've ever sewn! So...Are you addicted to sewing yet? It looks great on you and isn't linen fun!
3/19/06 11:20 PM
PattyGee said...
Amber, great skirt and I the fabric is so cute. Isn't it fun to pick out fabric and get exactly what you want. Happy sewing your doing great!
3/19/06 11:35 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I think your skirt looks great, well done choosing just the right fabric for it too. I do wonder whether you needed to take it up 2" and where you took it from? - the hemline doesn't look as flared as it does in the pattern picture.
3/20/06 1:26 AM
sweetviolets said...
I am in awe! For a first garment you didn't pick the easiest thing and your results are awesome! I am looking forward to seeing what is next for you. Keep up the good work.
3/20/06 2:03 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Congratulations on your first project and review. You did a great job! -Ann
3/20/06 7:25 AM
Peggy L said...
Congratulations - cute skirt! Welcome to PR.
3/20/06 7:52 AM
BSYMPLS said...
Great skirt.
3/20/06 8:19 AM
Lori Sews said...
Congrats on your first garment. The skirt is so cute. I love the fabric!
3/20/06 9:15 AM
Dmd4106 said...
cute skirt. congrats on yr first review!
3/20/06 9:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Congratulations on your first review. This looks fine. As you can tell, each time you make something you learn something. Now you know you have to lengthen the back (I have the same problem there).
3/20/06 9:21 AM
Hilary said...
What a great skirt! It looks really good on you and the fabric is so cute! Congratulations on your first garment!!
3/20/06 10:12 AM
slanden99 said...
Good job on the skirt. I like the fabric you chose
3/20/06 10:47 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
What a successful first project! Perfecting the fit will come with time. Until then, it looks like a stellar skirt to have for the summer.
3/20/06 11:39 AM
jheralinn said...
You did great! Keep on sewing!
3/20/06 12:53 PM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations:) Your first sewing project is fabulous. looking forward to seeing more of your projects. I looked at your blog too..cool :))
3/20/06 5:02 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Congrats on your first sewn garment! I really like the fabric. It looks great on you! It looks like the shorter version has less flare than the longer version - based on the drawings (this is hard to tell though). And, the way the model is standing, her leg pulls out the hem a bit so you can see the flare. You might compare the hem (flare section) of the short and long skirt pattern pieces. Then you could tell if there is more flare on the long version. If so, you could try adjusting the short version using the curves on the longer version near the hem. I hope that makes some sense. Again, congrats on a great skirt - can't wait for summer!
3/20/06 9:06 PM
JuliaS said...
Oh, I love that fabric! What a bummer about the little hole, but your skirt turned out super cute.
7/25/08 10:42 AM
marykpfist said...
Quite the evil thought, but I love to hear that others still make a few mistakes. It makes me feel not so alone! :-) THe skirt looks great on you, and I feel sure that no one will ever notice the hole with that pattern. If they do you can say "darn! That must have just happened!" ;)
7/25/08 11:33 AM
tashainflorence said...
LOVE the fabric, how fun! I almost couldn't find the whole you mentioned in your picture, no one will notice. Great job.
7/25/08 12:24 PM
Rebecca D said...
The skirt is great and you have fabulous personal style. When I grow up (I'm 50), I want to have this much verve and pizzaz.
7/25/08 12:57 PM
merry-one said...
I love this skirt and your fabric choice! I've made this skirt a few times and have been disappointed that the flare at the bottom was not what was drawn. Your's looks adorable.
7/25/08 3:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

HotPatterns HP1136

photo
by: SewOm

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
McCall's 6460

photo
by: sertyan

Review