Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8280 (Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 3042 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Amber in Norfolk
photo
About Amber in Norfolkstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/16/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/06 8:23 PM
Last Updated:7/25/08 10:16 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barbc said...
Yea your first garment! It looks great! I want to make some skirts for spring, the one's I see in the stores are just a tad too short (I'm tall) and skirts are so easy and so satisfying to make. Barb C
3/19/06 9:23 PM
amadoofus said...
Congrats on your first garment! Isn't it great to be able to pick the fabric and pattern that YOU want, and know that there won't be a duplicate?! It does look great!!
3/19/06 9:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Congratulations on your first garment and first review. I have made this pattern 3 times and just love it.
3/19/06 10:09 PM
Leora said...
Welcome to PR! Your skirt looks great! Congrats on a successful first project and your first review.
3/19/06 10:51 PM
luvzdogz said...
Wow, you've done a really great job considering this is the first garment you've ever sewn! So...Are you addicted to sewing yet? It looks great on you and isn't linen fun!
3/19/06 11:20 PM
PattyGee said...
Amber, great skirt and I the fabric is so cute. Isn't it fun to pick out fabric and get exactly what you want. Happy sewing your doing great!
3/19/06 11:35 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I think your skirt looks great, well done choosing just the right fabric for it too. I do wonder whether you needed to take it up 2" and where you took it from? - the hemline doesn't look as flared as it does in the pattern picture.
3/20/06 1:26 AM
sweetviolets said...
I am in awe! For a first garment you didn't pick the easiest thing and your results are awesome! I am looking forward to seeing what is next for you. Keep up the good work.
3/20/06 2:03 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Congratulations on your first project and review. You did a great job! -Ann
3/20/06 7:25 AM
Peggy L said...
Congratulations - cute skirt! Welcome to PR.
3/20/06 7:52 AM
BSYMPLS said...
Great skirt.
3/20/06 8:19 AM
Lori Sews said...
Congrats on your first garment. The skirt is so cute. I love the fabric!
3/20/06 9:15 AM
Dmd4106 said...
cute skirt. congrats on yr first review!
3/20/06 9:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Congratulations on your first review. This looks fine. As you can tell, each time you make something you learn something. Now you know you have to lengthen the back (I have the same problem there).
3/20/06 9:21 AM
Hilary said...
What a great skirt! It looks really good on you and the fabric is so cute! Congratulations on your first garment!!
3/20/06 10:12 AM
slanden99 said...
Good job on the skirt. I like the fabric you chose
3/20/06 10:47 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
What a successful first project! Perfecting the fit will come with time. Until then, it looks like a stellar skirt to have for the summer.
3/20/06 11:39 AM
jheralinn said...
You did great! Keep on sewing!
3/20/06 12:53 PM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations:) Your first sewing project is fabulous. looking forward to seeing more of your projects. I looked at your blog too..cool :))
3/20/06 5:02 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Congrats on your first sewn garment! I really like the fabric. It looks great on you! It looks like the shorter version has less flare than the longer version - based on the drawings (this is hard to tell though). And, the way the model is standing, her leg pulls out the hem a bit so you can see the flare. You might compare the hem (flare section) of the short and long skirt pattern pieces. Then you could tell if there is more flare on the long version. If so, you could try adjusting the short version using the curves on the longer version near the hem. I hope that makes some sense. Again, congrats on a great skirt - can't wait for summer!
3/20/06 9:06 PM
JuliaS said...
Oh, I love that fabric! What a bummer about the little hole, but your skirt turned out super cute.
7/25/08 10:42 AM
marykpfist said...
Quite the evil thought, but I love to hear that others still make a few mistakes. It makes me feel not so alone! :-) THe skirt looks great on you, and I feel sure that no one will ever notice the hole with that pattern. If they do you can say "darn! That must have just happened!" ;)
7/25/08 11:33 AM
tashainflorence said...
LOVE the fabric, how fun! I almost couldn't find the whole you mentioned in your picture, no one will notice. Great job.
7/25/08 12:24 PM
Rebecca D said...
The skirt is great and you have fabulous personal style. When I grow up (I'm 50), I want to have this much verve and pizzaz.
7/25/08 12:57 PM
merry-one said...
I love this skirt and your fabric choice! I've made this skirt a few times and have been disappointed that the flare at the bottom was not what was drawn. Your's looks adorable.
7/25/08 3:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

EvaDress E40-6111
photo
Review by lauramae on 3/17/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5714
photo
Review by Pinkhibisc... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us