Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: #139 pg. 15 (Jeans Coordinates) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1298 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/06 12:31 PM
Last Updated:3/28/06 12:31 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
This looks wonderful. I love the fabric. Also I enjoyed looking at your blog and all your wonderful bags and quilts.
3/28/06 1:09 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Absolutely beautiful. You've done a wonderful job - and I LOVE the fabric. Great blog, too!
3/28/06 1:51 PM
Ousa said...
Great looking Jacket and skirt. So chic! ~Ousa
3/28/06 1:53 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
This is truly stunning with a definite 1950s vibe with the collar and the flared skirt. I'd love to see this on you!
3/28/06 2:15 PM
Peggy L said...
This is really stunning! Congratulations on such a successful outcome.
3/28/06 2:43 PM
PhyllisC said...
I love the Judy Jetson fabric. :D !
3/28/06 2:58 PM
jnamcd said...
Wow! That is super! I really admire you did that without a pattern! Excellent work and it looks really fun!
3/28/06 3:01 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I saw your gorgeous outfit when you posted a link on SW recently - I have not forgotten it. It is breathtaking!
3/28/06 3:11 PM
madhatter said...
thank you all so much :) itīs really fun to draft a pattern - i never thought that this would be something for me! gigi, i remember you posted in the sw-thread *hi!* :) *whisper* the fabric is originally a curtain, i bought it really cheap at IKEA. so you see what happens when i see fabric - no matter what ;)
3/28/06 4:46 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's fabulous. Yes, my first thought was Judy Jetson in haute couture. We won't tell anyone your inspiration fabric came from curtains because we understand. Cheers to your sense of adventure.
3/28/06 6:06 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love it. It has so much style. Your hard work was well worth it.
3/28/06 8:56 PM
Lhan said...
Wow! This looks stunning. You seem so calm about the process of drafting a pattern from minimal information and working on something in a language you don't speak, for a complicated project involving something unusual using a lot of fabric ...... I think you are a sewing risk-taker. All power to you. (Does that translate into German?!?). You inspire me to take a few more risks. And ah - I recognise that fabric now! I have quite a few Ikea fabrics that I don't intend to use for home furnishings - they have very firm structure in mostly natural fibres and I like that. I have a multi-fabric jacket pattern that I am intending to make up using them, and one of them is not unlike the one you used. I bet you get many comments on that outfit when you wear it. Give us some more reviews!!
3/28/06 9:11 PM
Plantwizard said...
Holy cow! I can't believe you call yourself an intermediate. Lady, you are at least advanced the way you pulled this off. I could never wear it but on the right person it would be stunning. You should post a picture of you wearing it.
3/29/06 2:19 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow! This is very impressive. I have a few of these books but been too intimidated to try. You didn't exactly pick the easiest project to start with either. This looks truly fabulous, and I bet it looks even better with a sequined fish purse :-)...
3/29/06 5:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely outfit! Love the fabric and the whole look.
3/29/06 7:19 AM
Tini said...
Still love that one :) best thing is, that I do own this pattern and one day I'll sew it ( maybe after the usewhatyouhave month...)
3/29/06 2:30 PM
madhatter said...
indeed you need much patience for drafting without being able to read anything, but thereīs alway someone who can help you in some way, i think. itīs worth a try :) i truly AM intermediate - you donīt know that i needed four muslin sleeves to get it right... or how much swearing was involved! donīt tell anybody... ;) tini: i still have some curtains left *grin*
3/30/06 3:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Wild Ginger Curves 6 Gore Slip
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 5/31/04
Read Review

Butterick 5935 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 5935 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7202 Pattern
Burda 7202 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sewing Patterns 115
photo
Review by Gatorbunny on 2/27/14
Read Review

Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern
Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us