Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 033106 (Tee Shirt Makeover) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2673 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/06 10:51 AM
Last Updated:4/1/06 10:51 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cool! That's similar to what Phyllis did last year with a KS Tee pattern. Here's PhyllisC's review -Ann
4/1/06 11:59 AM
Ousa said...
OMG girl...those are soooo cute! My husband is always getting me shirt from his many bike races, triathalons, etc. , and they just sit in a drawer b/c I don't like the fit. What a fabulous idea!! Thanks so much for sharing it! ~Ousa
4/1/06 12:03 PM
Tailypo said...
Oh Debbie that is fantastic. Changing the neckband made a vast improvement and would never have occurred to me. I have a union tshirt that I want to wear (our contract is up for negotiation) but makes me look like a walrus. I will get started on this tonight!
4/1/06 12:25 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Ann, thanks for the link to Phyllis' review! I had missed that.
4/1/06 12:43 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Teriffic teaching review. Thanks for your effort in giving us the procedure and details.
4/1/06 12:53 PM
PhyllisC said...
I did the before and after shots on my dress form but as you can see - seeing the difference on a person really sells the idea!
4/1/06 1:07 PM
Aixoise said...
Thanks, Debbie, for the clear and concise instructions! We all have those promo T's taking up space in the closet. The makeovers will be perfect for workouts at the gym--always need more of those (workouts and t-shirts). :-)
4/1/06 1:31 PM
mamakooz said...
Thank you for taking the time to show us all the details. The tee looks so much better after you "remade" it!
4/1/06 1:35 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Gee thanks Debbie! I will keep this.
4/1/06 5:28 PM
frame said...
This is a great idea. Do you mind if I ask what the benefit of the asymmetrical sleeve is? I noticed this sleeve shape on your other review also and was wondering about it. Thanks.
4/1/06 5:28 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Linscee, the benefit is that it fits me. :) It's the sleeve drafted to my measurements with my pattern software.
4/1/06 5:31 PM
frame said...
LOL, I understand that it obviously fits you. I guess I was trying to ask (without being rude) why it fits. I have a similar body shape as you and was wondering if it was something that would benefit me. I'm not a PMB user, but definitely interested in it.
4/1/06 5:44 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Oh, sorry. I didn't realize you wanted specifics ... I wasn't trying to be flip or anything. This shape fits me because it more closely mimics the shape of my shoulder and over/underarm. On a knit (where you usually see those perfectly symmetrical sleeve caps), mine allows a closer fit and higher armhole without folds at the bust. This tee pattern of mine was drafted with Curves, not PMB, by the way. Curves is the knit/activewear module similar to PMB but for more casual or knit garments without sewn darts.
4/1/06 5:58 PM
frame said...
:) Debbie, thanks for the info. I didn't think you were flip. My question wasn't very clear. I sincerely appreciate your responses. You are always very informative. Thanks. I'm definitely going to check into this software.
4/1/06 6:12 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is soo cool!
4/1/06 6:12 PM
PVA said...
Oh, I feel an inspiration coming on! I really do want to re-make a t-shirt soon! I'm taking a workshop with Marcie Tilton tomorrow. We will be using all manner of messy stuff to embellish t-shirts & all I can find to work on is what is really top-drawer in the men's dept. at Penney's! (sigh) This will really help! Thanks so much for the review!
4/1/06 7:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
This review makes me want to run to the closet, yank out an over-sized tee and get to work on it!
4/1/06 8:21 PM
Tov said...
Excellent photo tutorial- thanks! Viv
4/2/06 0:30 AM
sewsue said...
Thank you for a vrey helpful detailed and informative review! Your t shirts look great, and yet the whole process is so simple. Clever thinking, thanks for sharing it with us.
4/2/06 3:08 AM
Tini said...
great "class" thank you for it! your t looks awesome!
4/2/06 10:52 AM
AnneM said...
Nice breakdown of the steps, and great comparison pics. I like the addition of the curved hem.
4/3/06 8:03 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Great reveiw. It just makes sense to deconstruct a man's T-shirt and add some curves. Thanks for sharing how you did it, love the pictures - I'm off to give it a try to a T-shirt that I made years ago.
4/7/06 8:01 AM
lornakismet said...
I might take a lesson from you and re-make some of the Tees that I have. Your lesson is excellent. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/27/06 11:09 PM
*Jessica* said...
great info ! thanks. im going to try ^_^
10/18/06 3:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2007-11 Hooded Sweater
photo
Review by mrsanniep on 10/20/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2013-17 Beckie
photo
Review by Amanda.Cla... on 6/28/13
Read Review

Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4386 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 4386 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us