SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> 033106 (Tee Shirt Makeover)

Viewed 2673 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/06 10:51 AM
Last Updated:4/1/06 10:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cool! That's similar to what Phyllis did last year with a KS Tee pattern. Here's PhyllisC's review -Ann
4/1/06 11:59 AM
Ousa said...
OMG girl...those are soooo cute! My husband is always getting me shirt from his many bike races, triathalons, etc. , and they just sit in a drawer b/c I don't like the fit. What a fabulous idea!! Thanks so much for sharing it! ~Ousa
4/1/06 12:03 PM
Tailypo said...
Oh Debbie that is fantastic. Changing the neckband made a vast improvement and would never have occurred to me. I have a union tshirt that I want to wear (our contract is up for negotiation) but makes me look like a walrus. I will get started on this tonight!
4/1/06 12:25 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Ann, thanks for the link to Phyllis' review! I had missed that.
4/1/06 12:43 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Teriffic teaching review. Thanks for your effort in giving us the procedure and details.
4/1/06 12:53 PM
PhyllisC said...
I did the before and after shots on my dress form but as you can see - seeing the difference on a person really sells the idea!
4/1/06 1:07 PM
Aixoise said...
Thanks, Debbie, for the clear and concise instructions! We all have those promo T's taking up space in the closet. The makeovers will be perfect for workouts at the gym--always need more of those (workouts and t-shirts). :-)
4/1/06 1:31 PM
mamakooz said...
Thank you for taking the time to show us all the details. The tee looks so much better after you "remade" it!
4/1/06 1:35 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Gee thanks Debbie! I will keep this.
4/1/06 5:28 PM
frame said...
This is a great idea. Do you mind if I ask what the benefit of the asymmetrical sleeve is? I noticed this sleeve shape on your other review also and was wondering about it. Thanks.
4/1/06 5:28 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Linscee, the benefit is that it fits me. :) It's the sleeve drafted to my measurements with my pattern software.
4/1/06 5:31 PM
frame said...
LOL, I understand that it obviously fits you. I guess I was trying to ask (without being rude) why it fits. I have a similar body shape as you and was wondering if it was something that would benefit me. I'm not a PMB user, but definitely interested in it.
4/1/06 5:44 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Oh, sorry. I didn't realize you wanted specifics ... I wasn't trying to be flip or anything. This shape fits me because it more closely mimics the shape of my shoulder and over/underarm. On a knit (where you usually see those perfectly symmetrical sleeve caps), mine allows a closer fit and higher armhole without folds at the bust. This tee pattern of mine was drafted with Curves, not PMB, by the way. Curves is the knit/activewear module similar to PMB but for more casual or knit garments without sewn darts.
4/1/06 5:58 PM
frame said...
:) Debbie, thanks for the info. I didn't think you were flip. My question wasn't very clear. I sincerely appreciate your responses. You are always very informative. Thanks. I'm definitely going to check into this software.
4/1/06 6:12 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is soo cool!
4/1/06 6:12 PM
PVA said...
Oh, I feel an inspiration coming on! I really do want to re-make a t-shirt soon! I'm taking a workshop with Marcie Tilton tomorrow. We will be using all manner of messy stuff to embellish t-shirts & all I can find to work on is what is really top-drawer in the men's dept. at Penney's! (sigh) This will really help! Thanks so much for the review!
4/1/06 7:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
This review makes me want to run to the closet, yank out an over-sized tee and get to work on it!
4/1/06 8:21 PM
Tov said...
Excellent photo tutorial- thanks! Viv
4/2/06 0:30 AM
sewsue said...
Thank you for a vrey helpful detailed and informative review! Your t shirts look great, and yet the whole process is so simple. Clever thinking, thanks for sharing it with us.
4/2/06 3:08 AM
Tini said...
great "class" thank you for it! your t looks awesome!
4/2/06 10:52 AM
AnneM said...
Nice breakdown of the steps, and great comparison pics. I like the addition of the curved hem.
4/3/06 8:03 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Great reveiw. It just makes sense to deconstruct a man's T-shirt and add some curves. Thanks for sharing how you did it, love the pictures - I'm off to give it a try to a T-shirt that I made years ago.
4/7/06 8:01 AM
lornakismet said...
I might take a lesson from you and re-make some of the Tees that I have. Your lesson is excellent. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/27/06 11:09 PM
*Jessica* said...
great info ! thanks. im going to try ^_^
10/18/06 3:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8565

photo
by: dignsew

Review