Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: 033106 (Empire Semi Princess Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1635 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/06 12:26 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Awlful said...
Your ability with Pattern Editor is really inspiring. Please keep posting reviews such as this one. Thanks.
4/1/06 12:39 PM
Mariko said...
A wonderful work Debbie! Wow, I only knew the name "Wild Ginger" (thought just as one of pattern makers) but did not know about this software. Your blouse is so beautiful, just like RTW! I see many cute tops at shops and look like the construction is so simple. But they costs almost $100 even for a tiny bit of cotton fabric. I am going to look into this "Wild Ginger" thing. Thank you and please keep posting great reviews with this!
4/1/06 1:10 PM
PhyllisC said...
Really great Debbie - your custom touches are wonderful. The fabric is perfect too!
4/1/06 1:23 PM
Monica Walker said...
Debbie, Great job on the pattern, construction, and the detailed review. You instruct and inspire. On the original shirt, it looks like there is something decorative going down the front placket. Is it a stitch treatment, or is the detail woven into the fabric?
4/1/06 1:26 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Monica, Keen eye! There is dyed-to-match grosgrain ribbon stitched onto the under placket. Also, the facings are topstitched with a triple loopy coverstitch. I contemplated the loopy CS detail but decided it would get lost in the print. I'll keep it in mind for another time.
4/1/06 1:30 PM
Ladyslipper said...
I love your blouses. Stylish, yet comfortable. Thanks for providing such wonderfully detailed reviews.
4/1/06 3:07 PM
FloraNature said...
Very beautiful! I found it very helpful to look at the line drawing especially, as I'm making an empire tunic right now, with the empire section at about the same place. Hope mine turns out to be as flattering as yours!
4/1/06 3:16 PM
Hilary said...
Debbie, your blouse is *wonderful* I had been resisting the urge to buy pattern software, but you are wearing me down, girl!! I even like the "fish blobs" version :o) Thanks for such a great review! And btw, I printed off your friend's tutorial-a big thanks for her, too!
4/1/06 3:16 PM
frame said...
Your blouse looks terrific. Better than RTW! Great fit.
4/1/06 3:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
You are definitely one of the queens of PMB. What a great blouse. Very helpful and informative review.
4/1/06 5:04 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow - very clever of you. Perfect shirt. Even the placement of the print is well thought out.
4/1/06 5:19 PM
drsue said...
Love your blouse! Would you believe I just finished faux flat felling my jeans jacket and did it on my regular machine???? Didn't even think about the coverstitch (Hits head against wall.)
4/1/06 5:22 PM
Mary Gillette said...
Debbie, Your blouse is fabulous and looks wonderful on you! Great job.
4/1/06 6:26 PM
PVA said...
Debbie, thank you for another great detailed review! Mega thanks for all the photos! Your blouse is just exactly what I love in a cotton shirt, especially during the really hot summer months. With the skirt it makes for a really crisp cool look, a very "finished-look". Love it!
4/1/06 6:52 PM
PVA said...
Debbie, thank you for another great detailed review! Your blouse is just exactly what I love in a cotton shirt, especially during the really hot summer months. With the skirt it makes for a really crisp cool look, a very "finished-look". Love it!
4/1/06 6:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
Very stylish and beautifully made Debbie. I appreciate your wonderful reviews, thank you for the time and thought spent in producing them :)
4/1/06 7:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
You could grade this one into several sizes and sell quite a few patterns! You people who use the PMB software seem to have so much fun with it and create such perfect fitting stylish garments! I don't know how much longer I can resist buying it.
4/1/06 7:57 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely blouse Debbie!
4/1/06 8:30 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
That is a gorgeous fabric, so pretty & summery. Hope FL lets you use it frequently!
4/1/06 9:39 PM
NancyGT said...
I loved your comments about the fish blob test run - and will incorporate that into my next project. Best to make every effort pay off! The blouse fits beautifully on you so am sure that all your work will pay off.
4/2/06 11:11 AM
twistedangel said...
I've have got to get PMB! Your projects are so very encouraging.
4/4/06 5:10 PM
sewnurse2 said...
I LOVE this pattern and wish it was available commercially. Great job. Wish I could use Pattern Boutique like you do. Have the program. Have never used it.
6/27/06 8:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Threads Magazine June July 2006 -125
photo
Review by kkkkaty on 6/19/06
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 142927-1000 summer dress
photo
Review by Saya on 6/29/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6919 Pattern
Burda 6919 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6796 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6796 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us