Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4887 (Raglan sleeve top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 739 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Argent
photo
About Argent
NC
Member since: 3/18/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/06 1:45 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Argent - Are you sure you're using the right size pattern? You might want to go smaller based on your high bust measurement rather than your full bust measurement. That will lessen the fullness in the shoulder/chest area so that the blouse will lie flat over the chest. If your full bust measurement is 2" or more larger than your high bust--that is, if you're a C cup or larger--you might need a full-bust adjustment (FBA), but your overall fit will be better. You'll find plenty of info here about fitting and making a FBA. Can you post a picture? Folks here are truly helpful in solving fitting puzzles. Good luck!
4/3/06 2:56 PM
Sweeta said...
I have sewn this pattern up so many times I had to sigh with delight when I saw it was being reviewed! Sorry it's loosy goosy on you I have had this happen to and it usually depends on my fabric, I often solve it by placing a small button up near the chest, not workable but sewn on rather to hold the front together. I've used very small cute rhinestone buttond they work well and look great. Hope that helps. :) OOps forgot to add I often wear under tanks (cami bra's) with it.
4/3/06 3:56 PM
elizajo said...
You might read the many reviews of Kwik Sew 2694, which has the same wrap style empire waist. There are several fixes described in those reviews. I personally made several 6 inch slashes along the neckline above the bust, and overlapped the slashes like small darts to take in some neckline length. I also stretch the neck binding slightly in that portion of the top to "snug" in the fit. These alterations work well on me because I have a small upper chest. But you might need a different type. Knit fabric with good recovery is a must for this type of pattern, because the neckline must retain its shape. Someone in those 2694 reviews will have done something that will work for you on this pattern. I worked mine out by trial and error. Good luck!
4/3/06 8:13 PM
JenSews2 said...
I just reviewed this top a few days ago and had a similar problem. The lady on the front is wearing the hooded version, which has a higher neckline. I ended up adding a ribbed collar on mine and sewing the crossover shut to save mine!
4/3/06 8:16 PM
Argent said...
Thanks a lot to everyone who responded. I will check out that other review. You guys are great - thank you.
4/4/06 8:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 5030
photo
Review by j Renee De... on 5/7/13
Read Review

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern
SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)
Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6683
photo
Review by wendlesue on 5/12/09
Read Review

Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us