SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4887 (Raglan sleeve top)

22 more reviews
Viewed 739 times 
Reviewed by:Argent
photo

 
 
About Argent
NC
Member since: 3/18/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/06 1:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Argent - Are you sure you're using the right size pattern? You might want to go smaller based on your high bust measurement rather than your full bust measurement. That will lessen the fullness in the shoulder/chest area so that the blouse will lie flat over the chest. If your full bust measurement is 2" or more larger than your high bust--that is, if you're a C cup or larger--you might need a full-bust adjustment (FBA), but your overall fit will be better. You'll find plenty of info here about fitting and making a FBA. Can you post a picture? Folks here are truly helpful in solving fitting puzzles. Good luck!
4/3/06 2:56 PM
Sweeta said...
I have sewn this pattern up so many times I had to sigh with delight when I saw it was being reviewed! Sorry it's loosy goosy on you I have had this happen to and it usually depends on my fabric, I often solve it by placing a small button up near the chest, not workable but sewn on rather to hold the front together. I've used very small cute rhinestone buttond they work well and look great. Hope that helps. :) OOps forgot to add I often wear under tanks (cami bra's) with it.
4/3/06 3:56 PM
elizajo said...
You might read the many reviews of Kwik Sew 2694, which has the same wrap style empire waist. There are several fixes described in those reviews. I personally made several 6 inch slashes along the neckline above the bust, and overlapped the slashes like small darts to take in some neckline length. I also stretch the neck binding slightly in that portion of the top to "snug" in the fit. These alterations work well on me because I have a small upper chest. But you might need a different type. Knit fabric with good recovery is a must for this type of pattern, because the neckline must retain its shape. Someone in those 2694 reviews will have done something that will work for you on this pattern. I worked mine out by trial and error. Good luck!
4/3/06 8:13 PM
JenSews2 said...
I just reviewed this top a few days ago and had a similar problem. The lady on the front is wearing the hooded version, which has a higher neckline. I ended up adding a ribbed collar on mine and sewing the crossover shut to save mine!
4/3/06 8:16 PM
Argent said...
Thanks a lot to everyone who responded. I will check out that other review. You guys are great - thank you.
4/4/06 8:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6164

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now