Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 9850 (Empire Waisted Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1770 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/06 7:19 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Very timely review. The two Marfy tops I ordered are waiting for me at the post office. I will take your advice and do very careful measurements. Yours turned out just beautiful - such a graceful line.
4/3/06 7:38 PM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful - none of the aggravation shows!
4/3/06 7:39 PM
SansSouci572 said...
It looks very expensive!
4/3/06 8:12 PM
Karla Kizer said...
The struggle paid off: it's another beauty, worth all the trouble you went to. (But then again, my grandfather's favorite saying was "Nothing is too much trouble ---- for somebody else to do." ) Good review, too.
4/3/06 8:21 PM
touran said...
That's gorgeous. I have this one too - you're inspiring me to move it up the list. Lovely look on you.
4/3/06 8:32 PM
Gigi Louis said...
It's beautiful, Barbara. No one would ever guess you had a moment's trouble with it.
4/3/06 8:39 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful top!
4/3/06 8:40 PM
Lori Sews said...
So pretty!
4/3/06 8:52 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Love it, love the fabric, it is beautiful, as always! -Ann
4/3/06 9:00 PM
barbc said...
Oh this looks really really nice. Great job!
4/3/06 10:21 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful. Very stylish. I love seeing Marfy reviews.
4/3/06 11:37 PM
Ann Smith said...
Looks wonderful. Thanks for such a helpful review.
4/4/06 1:37 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, a pattern drafted for a small bust size! It's pretty in your fabric.
4/4/06 5:58 AM
carolynw said...
Since joining PR I have been reading a lot about Marfy patterns - if they can look this good it is time for me to try one!! This is so pretty on you - love the fabric
4/4/06 8:38 AM
SewVeryTall said...
So pretty...this blouse has great shape!
4/4/06 9:31 AM
Motorposus said...
Wow, AA? For real? I gotta get me that! This is an eye-catching style, and you look great in it.
4/4/06 12:29 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oh Barbara, that top is gorgeous. Loved it when I saw the pattern drawings and your take on it is fantastic. You're slender and typically wear slim fitting clothes; does the front drape make you feel at all "fluffy" or preggers? It certainly doesn't look like it in the photos, but I wonder what it feels like to wear that style.
4/4/06 1:52 PM
twistedangel said...
Just beautiful!
4/4/06 4:56 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for your kind compliments, everyone! Motorpusus, yes, I really do mean it seems to have been drafted for an AA bust. Seriously! Leslie, I have not worn this type of top until now. I think in a cotton eyelet, it would be super enlarging. If we stick to a very drapy fabric, like this rayon or a silk, it's fine. As for how it feels to wear - a bit like I COULD be pregnant and no one would be able to tell. But my stomach sometimes pooches out a slight bit anyway, and this top front draping flows smoothly over any slight pooching without enlarging me too much. Since the style is narrow at the sides, there is still an overall slim look. Interesting tidbit is that the front portion is gathered at CF for only 9 centimeters; the rest is sewn 1:1 along the front of the top to the side seams.
4/4/06 7:18 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty, and great job on overcoming the sizing problems.
4/5/06 8:03 AM
guillorypr said...
Very pretty!
4/6/06 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1762
photo
Review by Kay Y on 2/20/14
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6557 Pattern
New Look 6557 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2007-20 Corduroy Skirt
photo
Review by callmeRuth on 5/24/10
Read Review

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us