SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9850 (Empire Waisted Blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1770 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/06 7:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Very timely review. The two Marfy tops I ordered are waiting for me at the post office. I will take your advice and do very careful measurements. Yours turned out just beautiful - such a graceful line.
4/3/06 7:38 PM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful - none of the aggravation shows!
4/3/06 7:39 PM
SansSouci572 said...
It looks very expensive!
4/3/06 8:12 PM
Karla Kizer said...
The struggle paid off: it's another beauty, worth all the trouble you went to. (But then again, my grandfather's favorite saying was "Nothing is too much trouble ---- for somebody else to do." ) Good review, too.
4/3/06 8:21 PM
touran said...
That's gorgeous. I have this one too - you're inspiring me to move it up the list. Lovely look on you.
4/3/06 8:32 PM
Gigi Louis said...
It's beautiful, Barbara. No one would ever guess you had a moment's trouble with it.
4/3/06 8:39 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful top!
4/3/06 8:40 PM
Lori Sews said...
So pretty!
4/3/06 8:52 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Love it, love the fabric, it is beautiful, as always! -Ann
4/3/06 9:00 PM
barbc said...
Oh this looks really really nice. Great job!
4/3/06 10:21 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful. Very stylish. I love seeing Marfy reviews.
4/3/06 11:37 PM
Ann Smith said...
Looks wonderful. Thanks for such a helpful review.
4/4/06 1:37 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, a pattern drafted for a small bust size! It's pretty in your fabric.
4/4/06 5:58 AM
carolynw said...
Since joining PR I have been reading a lot about Marfy patterns - if they can look this good it is time for me to try one!! This is so pretty on you - love the fabric
4/4/06 8:38 AM
SewVeryTall said...
So pretty...this blouse has great shape!
4/4/06 9:31 AM
Motorposus said...
Wow, AA? For real? I gotta get me that! This is an eye-catching style, and you look great in it.
4/4/06 12:29 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oh Barbara, that top is gorgeous. Loved it when I saw the pattern drawings and your take on it is fantastic. You're slender and typically wear slim fitting clothes; does the front drape make you feel at all "fluffy" or preggers? It certainly doesn't look like it in the photos, but I wonder what it feels like to wear that style.
4/4/06 1:52 PM
twistedangel said...
Just beautiful!
4/4/06 4:56 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for your kind compliments, everyone! Motorpusus, yes, I really do mean it seems to have been drafted for an AA bust. Seriously! Leslie, I have not worn this type of top until now. I think in a cotton eyelet, it would be super enlarging. If we stick to a very drapy fabric, like this rayon or a silk, it's fine. As for how it feels to wear - a bit like I COULD be pregnant and no one would be able to tell. But my stomach sometimes pooches out a slight bit anyway, and this top front draping flows smoothly over any slight pooching without enlarging me too much. Since the style is narrow at the sides, there is still an overall slim look. Interesting tidbit is that the front portion is gathered at CF for only 9 centimeters; the rest is sewn 1:1 along the front of the top to the side seams.
4/4/06 7:18 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty, and great job on overcoming the sizing problems.
4/5/06 8:03 AM
guillorypr said...
Very pretty!
4/6/06 11:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1189

photo
by: kmwann

Review
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now