SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4928 (Misses'/Miss Petite Jackets)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1975 times 
Reviewed by:Diahn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diahnstar
TN USA
Member since: 6/27/05
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/06 7:37 PM
Last Updated:4/6/06 8:10 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful jacket, excellent review.
4/4/06 7:44 PM
Kay Y said...
That is one beautiful jacket! I agree with your choice to reduce the lapel width - the result is really classic. So --- did you make a skirt or pants to go with it? I look forward to reading more of your reviews.
4/4/06 7:44 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Beautiful tailored jacket. I absolutely agree; classic and timeless. Love the fabric.
4/4/06 7:45 PM
Riordan said...
Lovely jacket--impeccably tailored. Thank you for the review.
4/4/06 7:51 PM
leigh7911 said...
Wow. I want one.
4/4/06 7:59 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a wonderful jacket! Such impeccable tailoring. I really like it!
4/4/06 9:09 PM
rosephreak said...
This is a beautiful jacket - it looks so professionally tailored. You did a fabulous job. Love the fabric and the covered buttons. I like that you left the pockets off as well. Nice, nice job.
4/4/06 9:22 PM
drsue said...
Wow, this came out great! I could only see your pics by accessing the "shoulder area" link. You might want to see if you can fix the other links. I may have to pick up this jacket pattern.
4/4/06 10:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
The tailoring and the details are absolutely impeccable. I'm a big fan of shoulder princess styling too for the same reasons you are. You do beautiful work -- I hope to enjoy many more reviews from you.
4/4/06 11:08 PM
lmg said...
Just beautiful. One day I hope to have your skill with collars/lapels. Thanks for letting us know about this pattern.
4/5/06 0:20 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW Absolutely stunning tailoring, that's one beautifully made jacket!. Yes I wish patterns had roll lines. I aspire to making a jacket looking that great one day !
4/5/06 0:33 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous jacket. Lovely work. Thanks for letting us see it.
4/5/06 0:35 AM
frame said...
Great review. Your jacket is beautiful.
4/5/06 0:56 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely jacket. Great job.
4/5/06 5:53 AM
jbrewer said...
Your jacket is just gorgeous! The beautiful fabric really accentuates the fine details of the pattern style. Great job!
4/5/06 7:12 AM
LauraM62 said...
I have this pattern to make up, so am glad to see such a positive review for it! It looks really great.
4/5/06 7:42 AM
Diahn said...
Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments. Drsue, I don't know what's wrong with the photos. I used the same album for all the pictures, and they worked last night. If anyone knows how to fix this, please let me know. The only thing I can suggest is to link on the shoulder pic and view the other slides.
4/5/06 8:24 AM
carolynw said...
Diahn: It sounds like you have a winner here but for some reason I cannot get your project picture!! Great review for the pattern and I hope I will be able to see the photo soon! Wonder if anyone else is having this problem - like drsue I can see the shoulder but that's all.
4/5/06 8:43 AM
slanden99 said...
Paste this link for your photo and everything will work http://us.a1.yahoofs.com/users/41bb664cz9bdd143f/5468/__sr_/df9d.jpg?phYL9MEBKqSpz5Ic Your jacket turned out great.
4/5/06 9:54 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful jacket! It just looks perfect.
4/5/06 10:54 AM
Mariko said...
Your jacket looks so nice! I have not yet sewn any clothes with lining because it looks very difficult. But I have wanted to make a jacket and your project inspired me. Thank you for your review!
4/5/06 10:58 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
The main photo is at http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/diahng/detail?.dir=5468&.dnm=df9d.jpg&.src=ph not at http://us.a1.yahoofs.com/users/41bb664cz9bdd143f/5468/__sr_/df9d.jpg?ph4ewMEBPjkfz5Ic, which is where the link seems to be pointing. I agree, the jacket is fabulous. The size 4 shoulders look in proportion for the 10-6 bust-hips; the standard shoulder width must be huge. Great job adjusting and tailoring.
4/5/06 1:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That looks so expensive. The fabric is wonderful. Such a classic you can wear for many years to come. Congratulations.
4/5/06 6:55 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Beautiful jacket...very well done! I use Yahoo for photos too, so I can explain what happened with your original link. You used the properties address, and Yahoo changes this address, so that's why it only worked for a little while. On your shoulder photo, you used the address from your browser, which doesn't change...with Yahoo, you want to always use the browser address when posting.
4/6/06 5:30 AM
Diahn said...
SewVeryTall, Thank you! That was exactly the information I needed. Thank you everyone for your kind and helpful comments. It has been very encouraging for me for my first attempt at tailoring.
4/6/06 8:16 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Great review and wonderful jacket!
4/6/06 8:26 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous jacket. Your tailoring skills are impeccable.
4/6/06 8:34 AM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket is beautiful! Thank you for the great review! It makes me want to make a princess shoulder seam jacket.
4/6/06 8:39 AM
valerie sews said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. I also liked it at first sight and have it at home to make up. Your jacket is lovely.
4/6/06 8:44 AM
julieb said...
What a beautiful jacket. Your work is spectacular.
4/6/06 8:51 AM
jnamcd said...
Beautiful job, and great review! The jacket is stunning!
4/6/06 8:54 AM
HAW66 said...
What a beautiful jacket. Excellent review. I want to make one for myself.
4/6/06 9:27 AM
carolynw said...
Got the picure at last and what can I say that hasn't been said already - it is just beautiful and the work you did on it is outstanding - no RTW could ever compete with this!!
4/6/06 9:36 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful jacket, which should stay a part of your wardrobe for many years to come.
4/6/06 9:53 AM
SandraB said...
This jacket is beautiful.
4/6/06 9:59 AM
Hilary said...
Gorgeous.
4/6/06 10:25 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful! Excellent craftsmanship.
4/6/06 10:45 AM
PVA said...
OHMYGOSH, what a beautiful result! Your jacket is to die for! Thanks for the review!
4/6/06 11:24 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Wow, your jacket is beautiful ... and thank you very much for a comprehensive review, especially regarding petit sizing! I never thought of the shoulder adjastability of the shoulder princess seam .. I shall evaluate my patterns differently .....Thanx!
4/6/06 12:14 PM
MarilynB said...
I never would have bought this pattern if I judged it just by the pattern illustration. Your jacket is beautiful--it should be on the pattern envelope. This jacket is a true classic that will look great for many years. Thanks for the review.
4/6/06 12:29 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
What a beautiful jacket and so well done. Marita
4/6/06 12:31 PM
jlg said...
Your jacket looks beautifully made.
4/6/06 1:26 PM
ryansmumAria said...
BRAVO!!!!!
4/6/06 2:09 PM
regine said...
Your jacket is perfect, well done, a real inspiration ot all of us.
4/6/06 2:36 PM
slanden99 said...
There are two ways to get the photo to work--the URL at the top of the browser and the URL you get from the photo properties. Both work fine--but yahoo might be the exception.
4/6/06 3:25 PM
jemgirlca said...
Gorgeous jacket!!
4/6/06 4:07 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
The last jacket I made like this was in tailoring class in high school. Took a long time. I admire you for your excellent effort! Beautiful!
4/6/06 8:06 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh...an absolute stunner! What more is there to say :) .
4/6/06 8:55 PM
Lalena said...
What a beautiful jacket, and the tailoring looks impecable! Nice job and thank you for sharing this find. I am planning on getting this pattern.
4/23/06 2:53 PM
solosmocker said...
Beautiful jacket and fit! This petite is on her way to get this pattern.
5/2/06 8:12 PM
meljane said...
What a stylish jacket and so beautifully tailored. I'm adding this pattern to my shopping list! Thanks for the detailed info and well done on a great job.
5/10/06 6:34 PM
gaby said...
I"m so jealous! This Jacket looks absolutely beautiful. Someday I would like to have a gorgeous finished piece like you.
5/20/06 6:18 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Diahn, That is gorgeous! Wow! Beautifully done, exquisite shaping. Now I'm DEFINITELY going to see if I have this pattern in my stash. 'Course your fabric selection, couture techniques, Obviously PERFECT body! I'm a big fan of black and white, and saw some beautiful black and white houndstooth the other day, but thought, NO I already have too much houndstouth in my stash. Now, I'm thinking that it would look lovely in this jacket! My only problem is that I live in the desert and opportunities to wear a jacket are small. I also look forward to reading more of your reivews!
6/10/06 2:16 PM
xstpenguin said...
To repeat others' comments - what a beautiful jacket! You are extremely talented. I have a question - given that the fabric is silk and you used silk lining, I'd expect the jacket to be very comfortable and especially breathable - does the fusible interfacing detract from this? I have some silk tweed and am not sure how to handle it from that point of view. THX AJ
12/8/06 2:19 PM
manola6176 said...
Awesome jacket. I've just discovered it because I was checking your profile on the 2011 lined jacket contest. Had this one been submitted it would deserve 1st prize.
5/9/11 4:55 AM
nancy2001 said...
Six years later, and it's still gorgeous!
12/28/12 3:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2400

photo
by: collister4...

Review
Butterick 5523

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now