Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt (Sandra Betzina Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2069 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/02 1:25 AM
Last Updated:1/26/03 10:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Ann, your coat looks fabulous. I love the little closure you used!
10/9/02 1:54 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You look so good in dark colors, and this is very elegant+ the closure which is fantastic, really a dot on the i.Thank you for sharing!
10/9/02 5:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow! And, you were "in tune" with the thinking of a designer, what a nice coincidence. (Sandra liked the coat, alot, too!)
10/9/02 6:09 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, I couldn't open your foto. I can I access your album to, perhaps, view it there?
10/9/02 10:52 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I figured out how to access the photo album. Your coat is lovely and I like the idea of making it up in a chenille.
10/9/02 12:06 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann. what is the sizing like? How much ease is there?
10/9/02 3:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mimi, Lots of ease in the upper body. I used a size smaller than my measurments would suggest. It tapers in to be narrower at the bottom but is still loose at the hips.
10/9/02 3:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks. I might try this as a 3/4 length because I can never walk in full-kength coats. It's interesting that this was originally a Tamotsu design. I think they are so simple and refined, which is sometimes not the case with the other Betzina patterns.
10/9/02 5:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, the Tamotsu coat was also a jacket. Mine was fingertip length and worked great that way. Just cut the pattern off and curve the front edges.
10/9/02 5:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Tres chic! Very flattering. I have hopes of getting my version done this winter. . .for our Florida climate. Thanks.
10/9/02 8:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, the coat looks great on you! Very chic.
10/9/02 8:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, when I try to access your garment photo, I get your log-in page. Is there a way to see your photo? Thanks.
10/17/02 12:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deb, does the page you see have 3 albums pictured? If so, just click on the one on the left. That has the two pictures of this coat. Also the middle album, Ann's Sewing Projects, has pictures of other reviews. Hope this works for you.
10/18/02 0:52 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I see that the photo has disappeared so I have edited this to show it again. I wonder why that happens?
10/24/02 7:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
your sewing is very impressive, ann. you look like a movie star! thanks for sharing your work!
10/25/02 3:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lisa Laree said...
Ann, I've decided I need to make a topcoat to wear over suits w/jackets by next winter and I'm seriously considering the Betzina coat. I know yours is actually Vogue, but is there enough room in the back/armsceye area to go over a tailored jacket?
1/18/03 1:29 AM
Ann Smith said...
Lisa, definitely, plenty of room. The sleeve is a dolman type, very low and roomy under the arm. I have worn this over sweaters and over a turtleneck with jumper though not over a tailored jacket. I think it will be okay.
1/18/03 2:21 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Well, I checked SW's website and this coat is not listed! Fortunately Patternshowcase still shows it in stock, so I went ahead and ordered it...just in case...
1/19/03 3:01 AM
Ann Smith said...
Bonnie, I fixed the photos. Sorry, I didn't realize they had gone astray.
1/26/03 10:25 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Ann, you are such an incredibly productive and talented sewist. I always look forward to your reviews. You choose such unique fabric and patterns. Thanks for always sharing. This coat looks wonderful and wonderful on you.
1/27/03 1:17 AM
Mel.J said...
Ann, the pattern picture doesn't show up on the SW site... is it out of print?
1/27/03 4:32 AM
Ann Smith said...
Kathy, see Lisa's comment above. Interesting if SW stopped printing this: they featured a spectacular patchwork garment made with this pattern in the window of their shop in San Francisco just 2 weeks ago.
1/27/03 4:40 AM
Ann Smith said...
I mean Mel, see Lisa's comment....
1/27/03 4:41 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Ann, I can't tell from the photo -- did you do Sandra's funky french seam down the shoulder/arm? I've finally gotten some lovely coating to make this from; now I'm fretting over the details before I cut anything...
10/3/03 9:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
Lisa: yes I did the seam on the shoulders which is from the original Vogue pattern. Be sure to do this, it is a great detail.
10/11/03 11:19 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Ann! I'm concerned about the bulk at the neck/wrists, though...my coating is pretty thick. How bulky was your fabric? Did you have any problems with the (counting) 5 layers of fabric at the ends of the seam?
10/12/03 3:48 PM
Ann Smith said...
Lisa: my fabric is a chenille which has loft but is not thick. It may not be as thick as your coating. I also made this pattern years ago from a wool tweed but that also was not as heavy as a coating fabric. I didn't have any troubles with these fabrics. On the sleeve hems I have just serged, turned and topstitched instead of folding under the edges which elimated a lot of bulk. Why don't you try a small sample seam as per the pattern to see what happens?
10/13/03 11:10 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks again, Ann! I thought I'd skip at least one fold on the binding, to help skinny it down, and I'm thinking about ways to trim the seam in the tuck to eliminate more. Making a sample is a good idea...if the welt doesn't work, I can always just trim away the extra seam allowance and make a conventional seam...
10/13/03 11:30 AM
Ann Smith said...
Lisa: good luck! I just recently made a hooded raincoat (will review soon) and was delighted to discover that it could be worn over this coat.
10/14/03 12:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8480 Jacket
photo
Review by SueV on 5/25/08
Read Review

McCalls 6690 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6690 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6922 Pattern
Burda 6922 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0001 Two-Seam Top
photo
Review by JenniferMM on 5/9/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us