SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Suitability> 2600 (Riding Chaps)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1241 times 
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 132 (patterns: 82)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/06 3:35 PM
Last Updated:4/7/06 3:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said... (4/8/06 2:12 PM) Reply
Sorry about the funny looking apostrophes. I recently upgraded my computer and the word processing software puts those ''google-y'' ones in there. I'm still working out the bugs, so bear with me.
Miss Fairchild said... (4/8/06 2:08 PM) Reply
Reply to AnneM: A "concho" is a sort of button that is very common in Western wear as it has a Hispanic/Native American beginning. Conchos were originally made from coins hammered over a round object, creating an indentation. Then a metal loop (shank) was soldered to the inside, much like our shank buttons today. Sometimes they were punched into the fabric for decoration. You can see them on the back of the chaps to get an idea.
PrairieTides said... (4/8/06 12:20 PM) Reply
Great chaps! I have this pattern, and the ultrasuede, but I haven't been brave enough yet to try this pattern. You can get conchos from Tandy Leather, and most western tack stores.
AnneM said... (4/8/06 9:34 AM) Reply
Ok, I give up: what's a concho? Great job on making these. They look very nice.
Stacy Sews said... (4/7/06 11:32 PM) Reply
Wow, chaps! That's an interesting project and you did a great job!
kwpanthermom said... (4/7/06 8:12 PM) Reply
Very nice job, and I love the color! I made black ultrasuede chaps from Suitability for a little girl who was involved in show riding years ago, and this review brings back memories! I think I did the same thing with the conchos, and I do recall the zipper took some thinking to insert it correctly! Thanks for reminding me what a fun project this was! I also made a riding jacket from Suitability, shirts, vests, and helmet covers---it is a well drafted series of patterns.
oracle said... (4/7/06 6:21 PM) Reply
My best friend rides Western; I might just make her a pair of these chaps! Thanks for the review, and thanks, bunz, for the rubber cement advice.
bunz said... (4/7/06 6:03 PM) Reply
Cool! For anyone who want to work w ultrasuede, the best way to get the rubber cement to stick is to apply it to both side, let it dry until just tacky, then press together.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2014-122

photo
by: popo

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details