SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Suitability> 2600 (Riding Chaps)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1239 times 
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/06 3:35 PM
Last Updated:4/7/06 3:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said...
Sorry about the funny looking apostrophes. I recently upgraded my computer and the word processing software puts those ''google-y'' ones in there. I'm still working out the bugs, so bear with me.
4/8/06 2:12 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Reply to AnneM: A "concho" is a sort of button that is very common in Western wear as it has a Hispanic/Native American beginning. Conchos were originally made from coins hammered over a round object, creating an indentation. Then a metal loop (shank) was soldered to the inside, much like our shank buttons today. Sometimes they were punched into the fabric for decoration. You can see them on the back of the chaps to get an idea.
4/8/06 2:08 PM
PrairieTides said...
Great chaps! I have this pattern, and the ultrasuede, but I haven't been brave enough yet to try this pattern. You can get conchos from Tandy Leather, and most western tack stores.
4/8/06 12:20 PM
AnneM said...
Ok, I give up: what's a concho? Great job on making these. They look very nice.
4/8/06 9:34 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, chaps! That's an interesting project and you did a great job!
4/7/06 11:32 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Very nice job, and I love the color! I made black ultrasuede chaps from Suitability for a little girl who was involved in show riding years ago, and this review brings back memories! I think I did the same thing with the conchos, and I do recall the zipper took some thinking to insert it correctly! Thanks for reminding me what a fun project this was! I also made a riding jacket from Suitability, shirts, vests, and helmet covers---it is a well drafted series of patterns.
4/7/06 8:12 PM
oracle said...
My best friend rides Western; I might just make her a pair of these chaps! Thanks for the review, and thanks, bunz, for the rubber cement advice.
4/7/06 6:21 PM
bunz said...
Cool! For anyone who want to work w ultrasuede, the best way to get the rubber cement to stick is to apply it to both side, let it dry until just tacky, then press together.
4/7/06 6:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Burda 8090

photo
by: style insp...

Review
McCall's 6427

photo
by: pamxch

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now