SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Suitability> 2600 (Riding Chaps)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1238 times 
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/06 3:35 PM
Last Updated:4/7/06 3:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said...
Sorry about the funny looking apostrophes. I recently upgraded my computer and the word processing software puts those ''google-y'' ones in there. I'm still working out the bugs, so bear with me.
4/8/06 2:12 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Reply to AnneM: A "concho" is a sort of button that is very common in Western wear as it has a Hispanic/Native American beginning. Conchos were originally made from coins hammered over a round object, creating an indentation. Then a metal loop (shank) was soldered to the inside, much like our shank buttons today. Sometimes they were punched into the fabric for decoration. You can see them on the back of the chaps to get an idea.
4/8/06 2:08 PM
PrairieTides said...
Great chaps! I have this pattern, and the ultrasuede, but I haven't been brave enough yet to try this pattern. You can get conchos from Tandy Leather, and most western tack stores.
4/8/06 12:20 PM
AnneM said...
Ok, I give up: what's a concho? Great job on making these. They look very nice.
4/8/06 9:34 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, chaps! That's an interesting project and you did a great job!
4/7/06 11:32 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Very nice job, and I love the color! I made black ultrasuede chaps from Suitability for a little girl who was involved in show riding years ago, and this review brings back memories! I think I did the same thing with the conchos, and I do recall the zipper took some thinking to insert it correctly! Thanks for reminding me what a fun project this was! I also made a riding jacket from Suitability, shirts, vests, and helmet covers---it is a well drafted series of patterns.
4/7/06 8:12 PM
oracle said...
My best friend rides Western; I might just make her a pair of these chaps! Thanks for the review, and thanks, bunz, for the rubber cement advice.
4/7/06 6:21 PM
bunz said...
Cool! For anyone who want to work w ultrasuede, the best way to get the rubber cement to stick is to apply it to both side, let it dry until just tacky, then press together.
4/7/06 6:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Folkwear 240

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6348

photo
by: margy.64

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now