SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Suitability> 2600 (Riding Chaps)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1237 times 
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/06 3:35 PM
Last Updated:4/7/06 3:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Cool! For anyone who want to work w ultrasuede, the best way to get the rubber cement to stick is to apply it to both side, let it dry until just tacky, then press together.
4/7/06 6:03 PM
oracle said...
My best friend rides Western; I might just make her a pair of these chaps! Thanks for the review, and thanks, bunz, for the rubber cement advice.
4/7/06 6:21 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Very nice job, and I love the color! I made black ultrasuede chaps from Suitability for a little girl who was involved in show riding years ago, and this review brings back memories! I think I did the same thing with the conchos, and I do recall the zipper took some thinking to insert it correctly! Thanks for reminding me what a fun project this was! I also made a riding jacket from Suitability, shirts, vests, and helmet covers---it is a well drafted series of patterns.
4/7/06 8:12 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, chaps! That's an interesting project and you did a great job!
4/7/06 11:32 PM
AnneM said...
Ok, I give up: what's a concho? Great job on making these. They look very nice.
4/8/06 9:34 AM
PrairieTides said...
Great chaps! I have this pattern, and the ultrasuede, but I haven't been brave enough yet to try this pattern. You can get conchos from Tandy Leather, and most western tack stores.
4/8/06 12:20 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Reply to AnneM: A "concho" is a sort of button that is very common in Western wear as it has a Hispanic/Native American beginning. Conchos were originally made from coins hammered over a round object, creating an indentation. Then a metal loop (shank) was soldered to the inside, much like our shank buttons today. Sometimes they were punched into the fabric for decoration. You can see them on the back of the chaps to get an idea.
4/8/06 2:08 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Sorry about the funny looking apostrophes. I recently upgraded my computer and the word processing software puts those ''google-y'' ones in there. I'm still working out the bugs, so bear with me.
4/8/06 2:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 5668

photo
by: lilyloulad...

Review

Pattern

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now