SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2327 (Men's briefs, trunks and thong)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1451 times 
Reviewed by:Tessa
photo

 
 
About Tessastar
MB CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/06 3:09 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tessa said...
Elizabeth, I'll see if I can make it clearer. 1. Sew the CF seam joining 2 pouch pieces (there are 4 in total, 2 to make the outer layer and 2 for the inner, or lining). 2. Sandwich one side front edge between the pouch from step 1 and one of the other pouch pieces, and sew through all three layers. The right sides of both pouches are against the side front piece. Do the same with the other side front edge and last pouch piece. 3. You will now have everything sewn together except the last CF seam. Roll the briefs up so that you can wrap the 2 unjoined pouch pieces around the roll and sew the last CF seam, right sides together. Then turn the whole thing out. It's similar to doing a shirt yoke or the crotch on women's panties. Does that help, or have I just confused you more??
6/29/06 2:02 PM
Elizabeth Blalack said...
Just how do you do that pouch with no exposed seams again? I couldn't quite make sense out of it. My DH is a runner, and I want to make him some underwear like that, because the RTW stuf is like $25 a pair! I already flatlock the seams on my kids' underwear, and I'm planning to offset the inner thigh seams (to prevent chafing), but I couldn't quite grasp your technique. I suppose if I just fiddled with the pieces and though about it for a while I could figure it out too :)
6/28/06 4:32 PM
Tessa said...
Christianne: No way would he pose in these! Sherril: The finished width of the thong back is 1". I think it might be easier to adapt the hip briefs to make them skimpier by raising the leg opening and/or lowering the waist. Anne: I've determined that none of the men in my family care if there's a fly. Makes sewing simpler! Jalie doesn't seem to make a pattern with a fly, but Kwik Sew 2334 has one. Laura: You could start with this and compare it to the RTW he likes. I started making my own panties years ago because the style I liked was discontinued.
4/11/06 11:01 AM
LauraM62 said...
I'm glad to hear you had good results with this pattern because I have it! I bought it because I have such a hard time find DH his bikini briefs that look much like the pic on the Jalie pattern cover. Thinking that as RTW quits making his favorite style I have a pattern to start making them. Guess I should practice soon!
4/11/06 7:13 AM
AnneM said...
Interesting pattern. More sizes are one of the advantages of the Jalie patterns. Having a fly opening would be nice, though.
4/11/06 5:24 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Is the thong a string in the back or is there some coverage for the behind? My DH loves tiny string bikini undies, but he's not crazy about the flossing action of a thong.
4/11/06 1:51 AM
SansSouci572 said...
Nice review! But isn't he going to pose for the camera in them? ;)
4/10/06 8:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Burda 9792

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now