Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2327 (Men's briefs, trunks and thong) thumbsup - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 1448 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Tessa
photo
About Tessastar
MB CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/06 3:09 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SansSouci572 said...
Nice review! But isn't he going to pose for the camera in them? ;)
4/10/06 8:04 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Is the thong a string in the back or is there some coverage for the behind? My DH loves tiny string bikini undies, but he's not crazy about the flossing action of a thong.
4/11/06 1:51 AM
AnneM said...
Interesting pattern. More sizes are one of the advantages of the Jalie patterns. Having a fly opening would be nice, though.
4/11/06 5:24 AM
LauraM62 said...
I'm glad to hear you had good results with this pattern because I have it! I bought it because I have such a hard time find DH his bikini briefs that look much like the pic on the Jalie pattern cover. Thinking that as RTW quits making his favorite style I have a pattern to start making them. Guess I should practice soon!
4/11/06 7:13 AM
Tessa said...
Christianne: No way would he pose in these! Sherril: The finished width of the thong back is 1". I think it might be easier to adapt the hip briefs to make them skimpier by raising the leg opening and/or lowering the waist. Anne: I've determined that none of the men in my family care if there's a fly. Makes sewing simpler! Jalie doesn't seem to make a pattern with a fly, but Kwik Sew 2334 has one. Laura: You could start with this and compare it to the RTW he likes. I started making my own panties years ago because the style I liked was discontinued.
4/11/06 11:01 AM
Elizabeth Blalack said...
Just how do you do that pouch with no exposed seams again? I couldn't quite make sense out of it. My DH is a runner, and I want to make him some underwear like that, because the RTW stuf is like $25 a pair! I already flatlock the seams on my kids' underwear, and I'm planning to offset the inner thigh seams (to prevent chafing), but I couldn't quite grasp your technique. I suppose if I just fiddled with the pieces and though about it for a while I could figure it out too :)
6/28/06 4:32 PM
Tessa said...
Elizabeth, I'll see if I can make it clearer. 1. Sew the CF seam joining 2 pouch pieces (there are 4 in total, 2 to make the outer layer and 2 for the inner, or lining). 2. Sandwich one side front edge between the pouch from step 1 and one of the other pouch pieces, and sew through all three layers. The right sides of both pouches are against the side front piece. Do the same with the other side front edge and last pouch piece. 3. You will now have everything sewn together except the last CF seam. Roll the briefs up so that you can wrap the 2 unjoined pouch pieces around the roll and sew the last CF seam, right sides together. Then turn the whole thing out. It's similar to doing a shirt yoke or the crotch on women's panties. Does that help, or have I just confused you more??
6/29/06 2:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2439 Fleece tops
photo
Review by julesberry on 2/14/06
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4471 Bandeau bikini
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 7/5/08
Read Review

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2916 Pattern
Jalie 2916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us