Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 3197 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1719 times 27 more reviews
Reviewed by:Teri
photo
About Teristar
ID USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/02 3:10 PM
Last Updated:10/9/02 6:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Teri, your top is beautiful and I love the way it coordinates with your lovely setting there. Great photo styling!
10/9/02 3:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri I love your top! and the binding tip is very helpful and clear. I have to take this pattern out!
10/9/02 4:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice! I have found that I can sew this top with sleeves flat (the pattern calls for it to be set in) and the sleeve on the bottom. The feed dogs ease it it, and then I just sew up the underarm. I have sewn this top up in knit, poly interlock, a slinky-ish knit, and a very stable jersey and the sleeves ease in nicely on any fabric. (Glad my neckline hint helped, your top looks great!)
10/9/02 5:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, that t-shirt/top is great ! if that burda pattern is still at the stores and not oop. i would like to get a pattern for my daughter. so when you say you used "slinky" fabric, is that what you ask for in the store ? "slinky"? i wouldnt mind trying that stuff out. and in fact im wondering if maybe a piece that i have in my stash is some of that stuff. my mom had given me some material she had about 5 months ago. hhhmmm, but just wanted to check with you guys, before i go charging in the store asking for it. if that is what its called or not. :)
10/9/02 5:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Can someone explain this part to me. of course im dense. i can never seem to understand these things. "I also eliminated the facing and cut a 1 strip of fabric on the crossgrain. I stitched the short ends together, folded wrong sides together and stitched it to the right side of the neck edge. I then folded the binding to the inside and edge stitched." thanks
10/9/02 5:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you everyone. Sue, thanks for the sleeve tip. I thought of doing that, but it was after I already tried to set the sleeves in. I will for sure do that next time. Maria, I think if you go into a fabric store and ask for "slinky" they will know what you are talking about. At least I would hope they would. I picked up this pattern just two weeks ago, so you should be able to find it. Good Luck. About the neck binding. I added a link to a close up. Click on neck binding in the review. Basically, you are cutting a small strip of fabric and stitching it to the neck edge like you would do piping. Does that help, or is it still clear as mud?
10/9/02 6:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, this is a great looking T, I love the color too, and your neck binding is fabulous looking. Tres chic Nan
10/9/02 6:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, thanks that helped when i went back and looked at the picture. of course its still clear as mud ! :) jk (just joking) but really the picture helped me alot. thanks
10/9/02 7:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, your top looks great. I really like that fabric, and I will have to try that neckline treatment too. Maria, I think your daughter would like this top. It's one of those designs that looks good on everyone. The pattern is very well drafted and easy to sew.
10/10/02 1:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Diane E said...
Teri, this is so pretty and your neckline binding looks beautiful. Isn't slinky great stuff and isn't it a bit hair-raising the first time you work with it?
1/21/03 9:43 PM
Tessa said...
I found the most annoying thing about this pattern was the 5/8" seam allowances. 1/4" is easier for knits. Try reducing the sleeve cap and armscye allowances to 1/4", it will make easing the sleeve in much easier.
7/7/03 2:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
I made this t-shirt today after reading several of these reviews. I used the same neck binding approach, raising the neckline about an inch, and it turned out great. I also used Sue Wilson's tip about how to put the sleeve in flat and that worked out well too. I love this pattern and plan to use it again and again -- starting as soon as I find some good knits.
8/24/03 1:48 PM
Teri said...
Thanks for all of your nice comments. I have since made this top several times with lots of success. It is much easier to put in the sleeves using a flat method, especially if using a synthetic fabric.
8/25/03 11:02 AM
Creative Hormone Rush said...
Very informative review! You're very generous to show your decisionmaking process rather than just the changes you made without the reasons why. You make it possible for others to make a top that will come out as beautifully as yours did. Thank you!
2/7/10 2:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 7608 Misses' Jeans
photo
Review by Renren on 6/30/13
Read Review

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3463
photo
Review by Sue Parrot... on 5/8/13
Read Review

Vogue 8355 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8355 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us