SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 3197 

27 more reviews
Viewed 1721 times 
Reviewed by:Teri
photo

 
 
About Teristar
ID USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/02 3:10 PM
Last Updated:10/9/02 6:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Teri, your top is beautiful and I love the way it coordinates with your lovely setting there. Great photo styling!
10/9/02 3:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri I love your top! and the binding tip is very helpful and clear. I have to take this pattern out!
10/9/02 4:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice! I have found that I can sew this top with sleeves flat (the pattern calls for it to be set in) and the sleeve on the bottom. The feed dogs ease it it, and then I just sew up the underarm. I have sewn this top up in knit, poly interlock, a slinky-ish knit, and a very stable jersey and the sleeves ease in nicely on any fabric. (Glad my neckline hint helped, your top looks great!)
10/9/02 5:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, that t-shirt/top is great ! if that burda pattern is still at the stores and not oop. i would like to get a pattern for my daughter. so when you say you used "slinky" fabric, is that what you ask for in the store ? "slinky"? i wouldnt mind trying that stuff out. and in fact im wondering if maybe a piece that i have in my stash is some of that stuff. my mom had given me some material she had about 5 months ago. hhhmmm, but just wanted to check with you guys, before i go charging in the store asking for it. if that is what its called or not. :)
10/9/02 5:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Can someone explain this part to me. of course im dense. i can never seem to understand these things. "I also eliminated the facing and cut a 1 strip of fabric on the crossgrain. I stitched the short ends together, folded wrong sides together and stitched it to the right side of the neck edge. I then folded the binding to the inside and edge stitched." thanks
10/9/02 5:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you everyone. Sue, thanks for the sleeve tip. I thought of doing that, but it was after I already tried to set the sleeves in. I will for sure do that next time. Maria, I think if you go into a fabric store and ask for "slinky" they will know what you are talking about. At least I would hope they would. I picked up this pattern just two weeks ago, so you should be able to find it. Good Luck. About the neck binding. I added a link to a close up. Click on neck binding in the review. Basically, you are cutting a small strip of fabric and stitching it to the neck edge like you would do piping. Does that help, or is it still clear as mud?
10/9/02 6:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, this is a great looking T, I love the color too, and your neck binding is fabulous looking. Tres chic Nan
10/9/02 6:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, thanks that helped when i went back and looked at the picture. of course its still clear as mud ! :) jk (just joking) but really the picture helped me alot. thanks
10/9/02 7:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, your top looks great. I really like that fabric, and I will have to try that neckline treatment too. Maria, I think your daughter would like this top. It's one of those designs that looks good on everyone. The pattern is very well drafted and easy to sew.
10/10/02 1:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Diane E said...
Teri, this is so pretty and your neckline binding looks beautiful. Isn't slinky great stuff and isn't it a bit hair-raising the first time you work with it?
1/21/03 9:43 PM
Tessa said...
I found the most annoying thing about this pattern was the 5/8" seam allowances. 1/4" is easier for knits. Try reducing the sleeve cap and armscye allowances to 1/4", it will make easing the sleeve in much easier.
7/7/03 2:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
I made this t-shirt today after reading several of these reviews. I used the same neck binding approach, raising the neckline about an inch, and it turned out great. I also used Sue Wilson's tip about how to put the sleeve in flat and that worked out well too. I love this pattern and plan to use it again and again -- starting as soon as I find some good knits.
8/24/03 1:48 PM
Teri said...
Thanks for all of your nice comments. I have since made this top several times with lots of success. It is much easier to put in the sleeves using a flat method, especially if using a synthetic fabric.
8/25/03 11:02 AM
Creative Hormone Rush said...
Very informative review! You're very generous to show your decisionmaking process rather than just the changes you made without the reasons why. You make it possible for others to make a top that will come out as beautifully as yours did. Thank you!
2/7/10 2:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now