SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6429 (Misses Wrap Dress)

56 more reviews
Viewed 2364 times 
Reviewed by:jnamcd
photo

 
 
About jnamcdstarstarstar
IN USA
Member since: 10/5/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/06 4:07 PM
Last Updated:4/12/06 5:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
guillorypr said...
Beautiful. You did a great job "salvaging" and your hard work of picking out the stitches was worth the effort. The fabric was a great choice.
4/11/06 4:15 PM
Jan B. said...
Very pretty. The fit looks great.
4/11/06 4:17 PM
pterion said...
This looks awesome! I love your choice of fabrics.
4/11/06 4:23 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Great dress! I love the color and the contrasting belt and collar. Nice fitting, too.
4/11/06 4:27 PM
Peggy L said...
Very nice! I just got this pattern for my DD yesterday.
4/11/06 5:05 PM
jemgirlca said...
I love your dress! Thanks for the review, I haven't gotten around to making it yet.
4/11/06 5:10 PM
Em's Summer said...
That's a very pretty dress! Looks great! I think I'm going to have to make one, too!
4/11/06 5:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the color and the coordinating fabric for the tie and the collar. Great looking dress.
4/11/06 6:17 PM
kathleenb said...
Elegant dress! How did the sizing seem to you? Did you make your usual size or size up or down?
4/11/06 7:58 PM
jnamcd said...
kathleenb--per the pattern back, I measure for the bust (high bust measurement) more like a size 10 --and everything else is around a size 12-14. So I choose to make a size 8 on the bodice, and then tapered to almost a 12 in the hip area. I mentioned it did gape in the chest area, but after resewing the side seams and pulling the center panels tighter, it was fine. The end product may have been just a little tighter than I would have wanted, but the fabric was there, I just went too tight the 2nd time around--but by that time I was content with it!
4/11/06 8:06 PM
fionah said...
Thanks for the great review, I am definately going to make this but it is sold out at the local shop with patterns at 50% off. Blast.
4/11/06 9:01 PM
LBJ said...
Your dress is lovely!
4/11/06 9:04 PM
lmg said...
Wow! Beautiful dress, colour and fit.
4/11/06 11:58 PM
Leora said...
You really have a nice fit. How does it look in the back? Do you feel it clinging to your backside or is the cut better than that? I love that color too!
4/12/06 0:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a pretty dress! I love the fabric color. Looks very nice on you.
4/12/06 5:17 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress and great review! But I sighed when I read your seam ripping triple stitch woes. That's like a bad nightmare, isn't it. Point well taken to baste first.
4/12/06 7:03 AM
AnneM said...
Been there, done that - removing the stretch stitch out of fussy fabric. Looks like you conquered that and got a great fitting dress.
4/12/06 7:57 AM
Linda E. said...
lovely dress you did a great job.
4/12/06 8:11 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty dress and looks great on you.
4/12/06 10:10 AM
Sew it seams said...
Beautiful dress. I just finished this dress for myself and I agree. It's a great pattern and very flattering. I really like your sleeve without the cuff and the print you chose to go with it. Nice job!
4/12/06 10:34 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love your fabric choices! Don't feel bad - I had to unpick one of my front seams, too...
4/12/06 5:22 PM
jnamcd said...
Leora--I've edited my review to show a picture of the back of the dress. Again, other than the "point" probably sitting to high, I don't feel that it clings too much.
4/12/06 5:49 PM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! I don't know what's more impressive - your figure or your dress. It is beautitul.
4/12/06 9:31 PM
carolynw said...
Very, very nice. You look lovely in this outfit and for what it's worth I don't think it is too tight in any area - you have a wonderful and perfect figure for this style. Great review.
4/13/06 9:24 AM
patsijean said...
Very, very nice. A good use of fabrics.
6/11/06 1:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now