SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6429 (Misses Wrap Dress)

57 more reviews
Viewed 2364 times 
Reviewed by:jnamcd
photo

 
 
About jnamcdstarstarstar
IN USA
Member since: 10/5/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/06 4:07 PM
Last Updated:4/12/06 5:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
guillorypr said...
Beautiful. You did a great job "salvaging" and your hard work of picking out the stitches was worth the effort. The fabric was a great choice.
4/11/06 4:15 PM
Jan B. said...
Very pretty. The fit looks great.
4/11/06 4:17 PM
pterion said...
This looks awesome! I love your choice of fabrics.
4/11/06 4:23 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Great dress! I love the color and the contrasting belt and collar. Nice fitting, too.
4/11/06 4:27 PM
Peggy L said...
Very nice! I just got this pattern for my DD yesterday.
4/11/06 5:05 PM
jemgirlca said...
I love your dress! Thanks for the review, I haven't gotten around to making it yet.
4/11/06 5:10 PM
Em's Summer said...
That's a very pretty dress! Looks great! I think I'm going to have to make one, too!
4/11/06 5:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the color and the coordinating fabric for the tie and the collar. Great looking dress.
4/11/06 6:17 PM
kathleenb said...
Elegant dress! How did the sizing seem to you? Did you make your usual size or size up or down?
4/11/06 7:58 PM
jnamcd said...
kathleenb--per the pattern back, I measure for the bust (high bust measurement) more like a size 10 --and everything else is around a size 12-14. So I choose to make a size 8 on the bodice, and then tapered to almost a 12 in the hip area. I mentioned it did gape in the chest area, but after resewing the side seams and pulling the center panels tighter, it was fine. The end product may have been just a little tighter than I would have wanted, but the fabric was there, I just went too tight the 2nd time around--but by that time I was content with it!
4/11/06 8:06 PM
fionah said...
Thanks for the great review, I am definately going to make this but it is sold out at the local shop with patterns at 50% off. Blast.
4/11/06 9:01 PM
LBJ said...
Your dress is lovely!
4/11/06 9:04 PM
lmg said...
Wow! Beautiful dress, colour and fit.
4/11/06 11:58 PM
Leora said...
You really have a nice fit. How does it look in the back? Do you feel it clinging to your backside or is the cut better than that? I love that color too!
4/12/06 0:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a pretty dress! I love the fabric color. Looks very nice on you.
4/12/06 5:17 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress and great review! But I sighed when I read your seam ripping triple stitch woes. That's like a bad nightmare, isn't it. Point well taken to baste first.
4/12/06 7:03 AM
AnneM said...
Been there, done that - removing the stretch stitch out of fussy fabric. Looks like you conquered that and got a great fitting dress.
4/12/06 7:57 AM
Linda E. said...
lovely dress you did a great job.
4/12/06 8:11 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty dress and looks great on you.
4/12/06 10:10 AM
Sew it seams said...
Beautiful dress. I just finished this dress for myself and I agree. It's a great pattern and very flattering. I really like your sleeve without the cuff and the print you chose to go with it. Nice job!
4/12/06 10:34 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love your fabric choices! Don't feel bad - I had to unpick one of my front seams, too...
4/12/06 5:22 PM
jnamcd said...
Leora--I've edited my review to show a picture of the back of the dress. Again, other than the "point" probably sitting to high, I don't feel that it clings too much.
4/12/06 5:49 PM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! I don't know what's more impressive - your figure or your dress. It is beautitul.
4/12/06 9:31 PM
carolynw said...
Very, very nice. You look lovely in this outfit and for what it's worth I don't think it is too tight in any area - you have a wonderful and perfect figure for this style. Great review.
4/13/06 9:24 AM
patsijean said...
Very, very nice. A good use of fabrics.
6/11/06 1:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 6282

photo
by: Opals Pass...

Review

Pattern

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-116

photo
by: vchan38

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now