SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3093 (T-Neck L/S Pullover)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1488 times 
Reviewed by:andrearn9
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About andrearn9star
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:14 AM
Last Updated:10/12/02 6:56 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Oops, I meant I was debating between this & 2740. Do you have a comparison between the two? (I see you have done both.)
8/7/03 5:50 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for this review. I was debating betwee this & 3093. This one wins.
8/7/03 5:46 PM
said...
Andrea, thanks for answering my earlier question about Voyager interlock. After not being able to find it, I realized that I had another knit fabric that would work. I made it and it came out looking great! This pattern has a nice shape and isn't baggy or square. It was also easy and quick to make! I used a strip of Fusi-Knit interfacing for the shoulder stay, which worked out well. Thanks for your review! Without it, I wouldn't have known about this pattern and I wouldn't have made such a nice-looking T-shirt!
11/3/02 7:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks everyone for all of your kind words. This pattern gives great results. I also "lived" in t-necks from LL Bean and Lands End. They were nice, but, I agree Diane, they are "sacky." The trim look of the KS top just seems neater-looking and more pulled-together. Sort of takes a casual top and kicks it up a notch!
10/14/02 10:41 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Andrea, what nice tops! I love the fitted silhouette, which definitely takes a cotton turtleneck to another level. I've been wearing a couple of cotton t-necks from Eddie Bauer nonstop lately, and I'm thinking this KS pattern is a must have for replacing those sacky tops! Thanks!
10/13/02 11:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That looks very nice! I too like the hourglass shape. I'll have to try this one. I also haven't had any luck at all with the clear elastic, although some people swear by it. Looks great!
10/12/02 9:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a great review. You covered all the bases. I think I will need to add this pattern to my stash. Your finished garment is very nice. Hard to believe you have never made an adult garment before. Looks very good! You will have to do more--with review. Nice job.
10/12/02 8:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
For a similar cotton/poly by a different name, you could try www.nancysnotions.com and www.greatcopy.com. They have a good range of colors-better at Great Copy- and matching ribbing. This is my default everyday knit.
10/11/02 8:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Just thought I'd add the link for Timmel Fabric's lesson: http://www.timmelfabrics.com/knitslessontwo.htm
10/11/02 12:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Unfortunately, Sewing Studio no longer has any Voyager Interlock. I bought it on sale in August and I guess they've sold out of it. They do have something called Mountainside 100% cotton knit which should be available soon, but I have no idea what it will be like. I have ordered several different fabrics from Sewing Studio and have always been pleased with the quality and service (NAYY). If you're looking for something comparable, try www.sewbaby.com. They carry a line called "Color Match," which has 50/50 cotton-poly interlock (very similar to Voyager), sweatshirt fleece and ribbing. I purchased the interlock and fleece for toddler outfits for my son and was quite pleased with the quality. Their color selection is great, too. The interlock has been laundered a lot, and has held up really well. No fading or pilling. Although a children's fabric site, the "Color Match" fabrics are completely appropriate for adult wear (NAYY). I would definitely recommend this pattern for a beginner, but would suggest that they consult Timmel Fabrics "Sewing a T-Shirt" lesson first. Following that lesson, especially regarding neckband and sleeve insertion, will ensure good results. The lesson's instructions don't differ from Kwik Sew's, however, they are much more precise. For example, where Kwik Sew just tells you to sew in the sleeve, Timmel's lesson tells you exactly how to pin the fabric, hold the fabric, manipulate the fabric and feed the fabric into the machine. That lesson leaves nothing to the imagination and you will get excellent results by following her instructions.
10/11/02 10:54 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This top looks great - I would never have picked it as a beginner project! I also had trouble when I played with the clear elastic, I'm going to try with the interfacing too. Thanks!
10/11/02 5:44 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
It looks like your top came out very nicely! I have been looking for a pattern for a mock turtleneck for a while now - can you tell me where you got the Voyager knit from? I tried www.sewingstudio.com but couldn't find it there. Thanks!
10/11/02 4:30 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I added the photo. I cropped out my head as I'm looking pretty awful today! I added some comments to the bottom of the review regarding the photo. And, yes, I think I'll use the fusible interfacing scraps next time to stabilize the shoulder area. That clear elastic had me cursing up a storm! Also, thrilled to hear that the Voyager holds up well. I was worried about it since it's 50/50 poly-cotton. Didn't want it to turn into a pilly mess after a couple of washings.
10/10/02 12:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your fabric and pattern choices are both excellent for beginners. This pattern is so classic, and the Voyager interlock is probably the easiest knit to sew. It wears well too. I think that using the fusible interfacing to stabilize the shoulder is easier than clear elastic and more comfortable than twill tape.
10/10/02 12:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This was a helpful review. I've also had trouble sewing over clear elastic. One of my favorite RTW t-shirts uses twill tape to stabilize the shoulder seams. I was going to try that on my next t-shirt but now that fusible interfacing sounds like a good idea too!
10/10/02 1:05 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Andrea, I think that KS patterns are a great way to get started sewing for yourself. Most of us love the results we get from them. And yes, they are generously sized, but well proportioned; a lot of us drop down a size or two when we use them, and get the kind of fit that we like in RTW. Glad your experience with KS is so encouraging, and I'll look forward to seeing the pictures.
10/9/02 10:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Can't wait to see the pictures. Great review. Thanks!
10/9/02 10:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Happy Homemade Vol 2

photo
by: vanessamak...

Review
Simplicity 2874

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

Buy Now