SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6470 (Misses' Skirt and Knit Tops)

68 more reviews
Viewed 1439 times 
Reviewed by:SarahWeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SarahWebstar
MT USA
Member since: 11/24/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/06 10:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jnamcd said...
Excellent comments from your children! It looks great! I've looked at this pattern before--I think I might give it a try!
4/16/06 10:44 PM
Laurasews said...
You Beast you! The comments from the kids are the most unabashedly honest...you should be proud. Did you find the pattern runs true to size, or did you cut it in a smaller size? I love the trim fit.
4/16/06 10:46 PM
BjP said...
Great looking outfit and it looks wonderful on you.
4/16/06 10:56 PM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks for the kind comments. Laura, I wish I could give you a good answer on the sizing. It has been over a year since I sewed with a "Big 4" pattern, and since then have lost quite a bit of weight. I really didn't know what size I would be in these patterns now. I cut the 12 based on my body measurements, and I was very satisfied with the fit. Looking at the picture now (somehow, the camera tells me things the mirror doesn't) I think the trim fit is accentuated by the drape of the fabric.
4/16/06 11:22 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Hey, I wanna be a beast too!! I have this pattern and have been toying with making it and have hesitated due to the reviews here. I think I'll go for it!! It looks fabulous on you!!!
4/16/06 11:24 PM
Lhan said...
This is a lovely outfit. And against such a backdrop ..... Unfair, really. This type of skirt design is both very easy and very stylish I find - difficult to get a better combination! Does it cling much? Would the total look work on those of us with lumpier bits do you think?
4/16/06 11:25 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great outfit and great backdrop!
4/16/06 11:30 PM
jemgirlca said...
Great outfit!
4/16/06 11:45 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the outfiit! Love the kids comments too :)
4/16/06 11:51 PM
LBJ said...
Very pretty!
4/17/06 0:09 AM
Cecile Owens said...
I have to second (or third) the motion. The outfit and you are definitely beastly. (that's a new expression for me! I love it)
4/17/06 0:13 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great outfit. Don't tell me you had this picture taken after a day of cooking for a huge family gathering! You look so calm and lovely.
4/17/06 1:22 AM
jlg said...
Very lovely outfit.
4/17/06 3:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty outfit. Great view from your balcony as well!
4/17/06 5:31 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful outfit. I've made this skirt twice and just love it too. I've made view A top without the tie and just love it. I tried view C top, but it was too deep for me. Billie
4/17/06 6:06 AM
AnneM said...
Very pretty outfit. You are a beast at sewing! (What a cute comment.)
4/17/06 7:53 AM
slanden99 said...
Very pretty!
4/17/06 9:19 AM
carolynw said...
Well your son said it and I agree "you are a beast at sewing" and that's a real compliment. You look fabulous!! This is one more pattern I must - have to - add to my expanding stash!!
4/17/06 9:41 AM
wvsher said...
Love the outfit -- just beautiful. Great job.
4/17/06 9:53 AM
pterion said...
I just finished making up this skirt too! Yours look beautiful! This pattern really is a keeper.
4/17/06 10:15 AM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks again, to all. Lhan, in response to your question, yes I think the top does cling a bit. Even though I am thin I would prefer that my every contour not be shown in detail, so I did notice this. Oh well. I think the busy print definitely distracts the eye from elastic lines and such.
4/17/06 12:00 PM
Elemenopeo said...
A beautiful garment - cute kids.
4/17/06 1:43 PM
pamici said...
I wanna be a beast, too!!!
4/17/06 1:51 PM
Modiste Madness said...
This looks wonderful on you which means you also did an excellen job at construction!
4/17/06 4:18 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your long slim body looks luscious in this color and this style. Beautiful job.
4/17/06 5:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a gorgeous outfit!
4/17/06 8:52 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful dress, and the scenery behind you. WOW.
4/18/06 10:21 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
So this is where all the sparkle buttermilk went LOL! Went to good use, I think! Lovely ...
4/18/06 10:29 AM
Hilary said...
Your outfit looks *wonderful* on you-and gotta love the comments from your kids, rofl!! Thanks for the review!
4/18/06 5:00 PM
Frosty772 said...
Your outfit looks wonderful !! You did a fantastic job. When I looked at your photo I thought (after admiring your outfit first of course) "That looks like MT. Then I clicked back and saw that you are from there!! Im in the Western part of that state !! Hello to you !!
4/18/06 6:57 PM
SarahWeb said...
Hello to you, Frosty772. I am also in western MT. I quilt, too, but I don't meet many fashion-sewing ladies around these parts. It's fun to see the terrain in people's pictures and recognize familiar ground!
4/18/06 8:33 PM
patsijean said...
This outfit is quite lovely on you. Regarding the cowl neckline, Claire B. Shaeffer offers some help in her book "High-Fashion Sewing Secrets." Pages 134 & 135 provide instructions for making a Cowl stay. She says that she had trouble with the drape too, until she started sewing in a stay that keeps the neckline where it should be. I just checked Amazon.com and the book is still available. Lots of information in the book. By the way, if you go to Amazon.com by way of the Elephant Sanctuary website (elephants.com) Elecam page, Amazon.com donates 5% to the sanctuary. I am not affiliated with them, but Tennessee does have an excellent sanctuary for elephants recovering from neglect and abuse. The elephants are delightful to watch. Quite relaxing as they are not inclined to rush everywhere.
6/4/06 10:59 AM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks, Patsijean, I'll check this out. I think I've seen that book before.
6/6/06 10:23 PM
CarolynGM said...
I don't know how I missed this review. What a treat to have your teenagers endorse your sewing so enthusiastically. This pattern is perfect for you.
6/24/06 6:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Becky Yoga Pant

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review