Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6483 (pull-over blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1414 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:AnneM
photo
Friend of PR
About AnneMstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/06 8:24 PM
Last Updated:4/17/06 8:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Anne - excellent review! I ordered this book after your review but haven't tried anything yet. I think your top looks good and you've done a great job with your alterations. I think more of us are goiing to be doing that "forward head" one from spending too much time on PR!
4/17/06 9:00 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great review Anne, thanks. I call your "forward head" adjustment a "forward neck". It's a pretty standard adjustment. If you have SB's Fast Fit, there's a great explanation on it. -Ann
4/17/06 9:30 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very interesting, thorough, and helpful review. I love reading about other people's fitting adventures, especially other small-busted people. Please let us know what you decide to do about choosing your size.
4/17/06 9:44 PM
Mini said...
Interesting review. I love the SewFit book, but some things have changed since the book was first written, more than thirty years ago. Back then single-size patterns were the norm, and you had to pick one size and make all the adjustments from scratch because that was the only option. But now that multi-size patterns are available, it is possible to shorten the process by combining sizes. This might help the width problem, although the other adjustments would still be needed. A hybrid approach, using multi-sizes where appropriate, and then using SewFit adjustments to further personalize the fit can make life easier:).
4/17/06 10:36 PM
Laurasews said...
Actually, I think you might be too critical. I think you have achieved a beautiful fit. Don't move the shoulder points out too much more, or you won't have the support you will need for sleeves (I have already made this mistake). Maybe you could move the neck point forward a little more, but I think this is a subtle change at best. Beautiful job!
4/17/06 11:09 PM
martinanne said...
Great review! I learned some things. Thanks.
4/18/06 2:41 AM
RuthieSews said...
A forward head/neck (a problem I have worse than you) does mean that necklines seem too high. I tend to avoid round necklines for this reason, but also because I also have a short neck (which you don't) and round necks are not visually flattering either. So if you like round necks you can do one of the alterations to make them be in the right place. I also have a back length which is longer than my front length and I haven't found the alteration for that one yet! Thanks for a detailed review.
4/18/06 3:35 AM
Em's Summer said...
That looks like such a comfy top! And you picked great fabric! Thanks for this great review!
4/18/06 10:19 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Anne, I think the top looks great. The little fitting "issues" will really only be noticed by you, and only when you're standing still in front of a mirror!! The shoulder seam adj you have pictured ... I agree that it should end at your neck where you have it, but I think it shouldn't be a parallel adjustment. IOW, angle from that new neck point toward the old shoulder end of the seam. And maybe a slight round back adj since you feel like the neck is still strangling a bit, which could also explain the facing problem. I hope you don't mind these suggestions. Love the fabric, BTW, and the placement of the big print on front is great! Oh, forgot to mention (as if this wasn't long enough, but since you wondered) that the FFRP FBA moves the hemline down parallel to the grain so the angle doesn't change as you're describing it does for this method.
4/18/06 11:46 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks, everyone. Actually, the shoulder fitting issues (specifically, those puffs) are more obvious in person but it is still wearable. I don't hve SB's "fast fit" but have heard good things about it, so I probably need to get it! Mini - I don't know that it is really much easier or harder using the sizing lines vs. the changes in measurements, although sometimes it is (for instance, I just went to a size 12 for the hip). Debbie - mind? I'm always looking for input! I really appreciate everyone taking the time to comment.
4/18/06 1:48 PM
patsijean said...
I love the fabric you used for your blouse. The Sew/Fit Manual is a wonderful fitting system.
6/11/06 0:24 AM
Heatherrique said...
Like the print, fit, and the model!
2/1/07 3:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 12/27/07
Read Review

McCalls 6731 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6731 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Patterns 1002 Ava
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 1/8/12
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us