SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7799 (stretch knit top)

43 more reviews
Viewed 1491 times 
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/06 8:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said...
Okay, now I'm inspired to take the plastic off my serger (I did get it out of the box!). Thanks for a good review and keep up the good work.
9/19/06 3:37 PM
Jane S said...
Isn't it great to learn new sewing techniques and skills! Your top looks lovely and your review was so much fun to read. Serge on...
4/19/06 9:54 AM
slanden99 said...
Congradulations on your nice top!
4/19/06 9:19 AM
AnneM said...
Great top; I really like it. And for it to be your first knit top - fantastic. It takes a few garments for the euphoria to wear off. :)
4/19/06 8:50 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely delightful story. I just love your "gloat" and congratulations on using your serger. I was just thinking the other day that if I don't learn all the things my sewing machine and serger can do and use them, I might as well be using the first machine I ever owned, which was a straight stitch Singer that could also go in reverse, and that was it. Billie
4/19/06 7:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job. You should gloat when you jump over a hurdle!!
4/19/06 5:22 AM
SharonB said...
Congratulations on your new serger. Using one to finish seams on ravelly fabric is so wonderful. Enjoy!
4/18/06 8:43 PM
Lhan said...
Thanks everyone for your positive comments. I have now read more of the other reviews of this pattern, and I notice the comments from some that the shoulder seam is too long with set-in sleeves. When I look at my photo, I can see this is true of mine as well. It would have looked better in about an inch on each side, at least at the top. I have trouble with armholes feeling too tight, so I would have to check the effect on the general shape of the armhole. It's time I did some fitting lessons! Muffet, I found the first curve I sewed didn't work very well (uneven - sergers do not like going around corners) so the next one I straightened out - sewed it as though it was a straight seam - and to my surprise it looked fine! I don't know if that is how you are supposed to do it, but it worked. I notice there is an online lesson series about to start which includes exactly that - I think I had better sign up. Fuzzygalore, thanks for the tip about sewing the sleeves in flat - I had actually thought of that, and then forgotten it again. And I will get that book. My overlocker is a Singer, so all the more reason! Cheers everyone!
4/18/06 8:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very impressive result for your first knit and first serger project. We'll expect a ton of knit top reviews from you for a good while.
4/18/06 7:06 PM
mamacita said...
You will find all kinds off sewing chores you can do on the serger. I just finished making two dressy (rayon crepe) shell tops on my serger. I put the bias binding on at the neckedge with the regular sewing machine and hand stitched it down on the inside and also hand rolled the cap sleeve hems. Maybe I did not save time because I choose to do the hand stitching but I sure zipped along to that point. I made each one in a few hours...including altering the pattern and cutting out! Viva the serger!!
4/18/06 3:05 PM
valerie sews said...
Lhan, congratulations on your first knit top - it looks great. I remember similar excitement over my first knit top. There will be no turning back now for knits or for serging. You'll wonder how you ever did without one. Thank you for your review.
4/18/06 1:33 PM
Hilary said...
Great job!! Congrats on your first serger project! Soon you will be wondering how you sewed without it :o) I love mine too! Your new shirt looks wonderful, and I kinda like the shadows, its a nice graphic looking affect :oP (loved the bathtub ring joke, lol)
4/18/06 12:42 PM
Diane E said...
Great top and fun review! Isn't the overlocker a terrific tool? As a knit top addict myself, I can say that you may never want to stop making overlocked knit garments!
4/18/06 12:26 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Love your enthusiasm and your first results with the overlocker. Congrats!
4/18/06 12:11 PM
frame said...
Wow, you've done a terrific job on your top. I never would have guessed it was your first serged knit top. Congratulations on conquering this new skill. There's no going back now!
4/18/06 11:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Yeah! Congratulations :-). Sounds like you need to learn to put sleeves in flat - ie you sew the sleeve cap first, then you sew the side and sleeve seams in one zip. It's not only easier, it's faster too, and you sound like a woman in love with speed :-).

Seriously, I recommend the Singer series book on serging - it has invaluable pictures of what goes wrong when which thread is deranged. Best I ever found...
4/18/06 11:09 AM

pterion said...
Congrats on a great looking top and overcoming a hurdle! I'm hoping to take the same leap myself soon!
4/18/06 11:00 AM
CatherineN said...
Great looking shirt!
4/18/06 10:59 AM
Mufffet said...
This top looks great! I love the style and it looks so well done. I am still trying to tame my serger. HA. I have used it for several longer seams but am still afraid of the curves - yesterday I managed to get it to chew a small hole in the side seam I was sewing on the underarm curve. I fixed that on the regular sewing machine. Sigh. But isn't the serger FUN!! You SHOULD gloat! Great work.
4/18/06 10:38 AM
Peggy L said...
Congratulations!!! It looks great and you will love your serger.
4/18/06 10:15 AM
Em's Summer said...
Deleted duplicate comment. :-)
4/18/06 10:09 AM
Em's Summer said...
Congratulations on conquering your Everest in overlocking! That's a great top!
4/18/06 10:05 AM
double_psyche said...
Great job! I felt the same way when I sewed my first knit item on my serger. I don't remember what it was, but it was like a whole new half of the fabric store opened up to me!
4/18/06 10:04 AM
jnamcd said...
Thanks for the fun review! I don't have a serger, and have always seemed to be able to do everything fine with my regular machine--even stitch on knits. But after being on this site, I'm considering getting one, as I figure everyone out here must know a secret I don't!!! Your review is making me think I need one even more!
4/18/06 9:58 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Way to go!! I'm a little intimidated by knits, too. I'm going to sew my first today on a regular sewing machine. I really want a serger, but that'll have to wait.
4/18/06 9:56 AM
Kay Y said...
It never wears off! You will never look back. Congrats on a great shirt.
4/18/06 8:49 AM
Linda E. said...
Excellent top you did well. After reading you review or Gloat I want to get my serger out and make me some more tops I have this pattern but it is hot here in the 90's so it might be a bit hot.
4/18/06 8:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now