Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3174 (safari jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1539 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Mariko
photo
About Marikostar
OR USA
Member since: 1/26/03
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/06 12:57 PM
Last Updated:4/29/06 5:19 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BjP said...
Beautiful jacket and the details are fabulous. I really like that you added the belt and the additional buttons on the cuffs. Nice job!
4/19/06 1:00 PM
Riordan said...
Very nice jacket--looks beautifully detailed!!
4/19/06 1:15 PM
bunz said...
This really turned out nice! Did you use snaps under the buttons or are those little backing buttons?
4/19/06 1:19 PM
Mariko said...
Hello, bunz! Those are backing buttons. This fabric has coarse weave, so I did not want to ruin it by the stress from the pulling buttons. I just used small left over shirt buttons or something I had. Thanks for your comments.
4/19/06 1:27 PM
pterion said...
This looks like something one could buy in a store (only better)! You have really done a beautiful job on this jacket - lovely details and it looks so well crafted.
4/19/06 1:35 PM
Karla Kizer said...
It looks wonderful. Oh, great - another KS pattern to add to my list.... Thanks for including the details you added and changed, too.
4/19/06 1:37 PM
charb said...
What a great jacket! I have this pattern in my stash and haven't used it yet. Your changes really lift it to another level - beautiful work! Kwik-Sew patterns can sometimes look a little basic and blah in the pattern illustration. You really demonstrate how to give the finished garment individuality and quality.
4/19/06 1:49 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking jacket and so inspiring.
4/19/06 1:55 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful job of construction and fit. Your jakcet looks great!
4/19/06 2:27 PM
jlg said...
This turned out really well. You did a fabulous job. Without seeing your version, I wouldn't have considered this pattern.
4/19/06 3:20 PM
Mini said...
Your jacket looks so much better than the pattern cover. Yours is elegant, theirs is boring! Regarding the fit, Kwik Sew tends to draft overly low armholes; they are drafted for a 5'6" height, but even so they are awfully low for most people. Some times the front and back armholes on KS patterns are the same depth, which can cause the front to pull backward because more depth is needed in back. HTH
4/19/06 3:24 PM
Patzee said...
I would never have given this pattern a "second thought" were it not for your review and photos. Thanks!
4/19/06 3:56 PM
jnamcd said...
Everyone here is right, yours looks way better than the pattern picture! Great job!
4/19/06 4:21 PM
MaryBeth said...
ohhhh, sharp!
4/19/06 4:23 PM
Sewliz said...
Oh, yum! I like the design changes you made, they add a lot to the basic jacket.
4/19/06 4:53 PM
SarahWeb said...
I, also, love your addition of a belt and I do like the slightly drapey look due to the rayon. I have added this pattern to my list of patterns I need. Thanks for the review. You did a great job.
4/19/06 5:39 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a sporty jacket! And the Hong Kong finish on the inside gives it a very professional look! You did a really great job!
4/19/06 6:59 PM
Cambric Tea said...
It looks really great, Mariko. Very sporty and elegant. And you model it very well, also!
4/20/06 0:01 AM
twinmama said...
Wow, what a great job! You inspire me! Thanks!
4/20/06 1:04 AM
CarolynD said...
Very impressive workmanship and lovely choice of fabric. Inspiring!
4/20/06 1:23 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Wonderful!!! I wanted to copy that exact same jacket from Sundance instead of paying the RTW price. Great jacket!
4/20/06 2:13 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful - love your details.
4/20/06 5:45 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great RTW knockoff. Your jacket looks great. Very impressive.
4/20/06 7:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very stylish jacket. You did a beautiful job -- I especially like the pockets and the inside finishing details.
4/20/06 7:23 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute; love all the details.
4/20/06 7:48 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Wonderful detail work, and I like that drapey like a shirt-jacket; I bet you will wear it often!
4/20/06 7:51 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
That's a great look, and your workmanship is beautiful.
4/20/06 8:27 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice work. Great details!
4/20/06 11:03 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I'm sure you'll be able to wear it as a lightweight jacket over a T-shirt. for summer, that's nicer than a heavier jacket. I, too, love your Hong Kong seam finishes. Nobody will guess you made this yourself.
4/20/06 12:50 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Beautiful job on this jacket. Looks to me as if you're moving very close to bumping yourself up to the advanced sewing category. Good review, and great looking jacket.
4/20/06 3:25 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket turned out beautifully and I really like the extended cuffs, belt/loops and nicely finished seams. Well done! Thanks for the informative review.
4/21/06 11:36 AM
Linda F said...
Wow! The fabric can make or break a jacket. I love them both! You are right though, the newer jacket does look closer to the RTW. Now you can wear either one depending on your mood! Great work.
4/29/06 5:36 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Both jackets are lovely. I like your idea of adding a shaped CB seam to give this pattern more shape and the back belt. KS's low armhole depth is something which plagues many of us. Nice job!
4/29/06 6:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice attention to details. Looks really well made. Lining should be easy after that HK finish!
4/29/06 7:17 PM
Seaspur said...
Love the jacket and the detailed review!
4/29/06 9:58 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Great jacket, fashionable and perfect over warm weather clothes.
4/30/06 2:06 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful and stylish !! I have seen many expensive safari jackets and yours is up there with the best. Great review and look forward to seeing some more jackets :))
4/30/06 5:50 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
You've done a marvelous job, congrats, love that Hong Kong finish:-) Marita ps great pic's
4/30/06 9:06 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Very cute and stylish! I love all the details, too.
4/30/06 9:07 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...excellent jacket on you!
5/1/06 10:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used Skirt09 Skirt09
photo
Review by keelyb1 on 2/19/09
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Barcelona Dress
Barcelona Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6331
photo
Review by Alice Wang on 4/19/13
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us