SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3174 (safari jacket)

Viewed 1542 times 
Reviewed by:Mariko
photo

 
 
About Marikostar
OR USA
Member since: 1/26/03
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/06 12:57 PM
Last Updated:4/29/06 5:19 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
WOW...excellent jacket on you!
5/1/06 10:13 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Very cute and stylish! I love all the details, too.
4/30/06 9:07 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
You've done a marvelous job, congrats, love that Hong Kong finish:-) Marita ps great pic's
4/30/06 9:06 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful and stylish !! I have seen many expensive safari jackets and yours is up there with the best. Great review and look forward to seeing some more jackets :))
4/30/06 5:50 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Great jacket, fashionable and perfect over warm weather clothes.
4/30/06 2:06 AM
Seaspur said...
Love the jacket and the detailed review!
4/29/06 9:58 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice attention to details. Looks really well made. Lining should be easy after that HK finish!
4/29/06 7:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Both jackets are lovely. I like your idea of adding a shaped CB seam to give this pattern more shape and the back belt. KS's low armhole depth is something which plagues many of us. Nice job!
4/29/06 6:51 PM
Linda F said...
Wow! The fabric can make or break a jacket. I love them both! You are right though, the newer jacket does look closer to the RTW. Now you can wear either one depending on your mood! Great work.
4/29/06 5:36 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket turned out beautifully and I really like the extended cuffs, belt/loops and nicely finished seams. Well done! Thanks for the informative review.
4/21/06 11:36 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Beautiful job on this jacket. Looks to me as if you're moving very close to bumping yourself up to the advanced sewing category. Good review, and great looking jacket.
4/20/06 3:25 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I'm sure you'll be able to wear it as a lightweight jacket over a T-shirt. for summer, that's nicer than a heavier jacket. I, too, love your Hong Kong seam finishes. Nobody will guess you made this yourself.
4/20/06 12:50 PM
cindyann said...
Very nice work. Great details!
4/20/06 11:03 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
That's a great look, and your workmanship is beautiful.
4/20/06 8:27 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Wonderful detail work, and I like that drapey like a shirt-jacket; I bet you will wear it often!
4/20/06 7:51 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute; love all the details.
4/20/06 7:48 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very stylish jacket. You did a beautiful job -- I especially like the pockets and the inside finishing details.
4/20/06 7:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great RTW knockoff. Your jacket looks great. Very impressive.
4/20/06 7:00 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful - love your details.
4/20/06 5:45 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Wonderful!!! I wanted to copy that exact same jacket from Sundance instead of paying the RTW price. Great jacket!
4/20/06 2:13 AM
CarolynD said...
Very impressive workmanship and lovely choice of fabric. Inspiring!
4/20/06 1:23 AM
twinmama said...
Wow, what a great job! You inspire me! Thanks!
4/20/06 1:04 AM
Cambric Tea said...
It looks really great, Mariko. Very sporty and elegant. And you model it very well, also!
4/20/06 0:01 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a sporty jacket! And the Hong Kong finish on the inside gives it a very professional look! You did a really great job!
4/19/06 6:59 PM
SarahWeb said...
I, also, love your addition of a belt and I do like the slightly drapey look due to the rayon. I have added this pattern to my list of patterns I need. Thanks for the review. You did a great job.
4/19/06 5:39 PM
Sewliz said...
Oh, yum! I like the design changes you made, they add a lot to the basic jacket.
4/19/06 4:53 PM
MaryBeth said...
ohhhh, sharp!
4/19/06 4:23 PM
jnamcd said...
Everyone here is right, yours looks way better than the pattern picture! Great job!
4/19/06 4:21 PM
Patzee said...
I would never have given this pattern a "second thought" were it not for your review and photos. Thanks!
4/19/06 3:56 PM
Mini said...
Your jacket looks so much better than the pattern cover. Yours is elegant, theirs is boring! Regarding the fit, Kwik Sew tends to draft overly low armholes; they are drafted for a 5'6" height, but even so they are awfully low for most people. Some times the front and back armholes on KS patterns are the same depth, which can cause the front to pull backward because more depth is needed in back. HTH
4/19/06 3:24 PM
jlg said...
This turned out really well. You did a fabulous job. Without seeing your version, I wouldn't have considered this pattern.
4/19/06 3:20 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful job of construction and fit. Your jakcet looks great!
4/19/06 2:27 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking jacket and so inspiring.
4/19/06 1:55 PM
charb said...
What a great jacket! I have this pattern in my stash and haven't used it yet. Your changes really lift it to another level - beautiful work! Kwik-Sew patterns can sometimes look a little basic and blah in the pattern illustration. You really demonstrate how to give the finished garment individuality and quality.
4/19/06 1:49 PM
Karla Kizer said...
It looks wonderful. Oh, great - another KS pattern to add to my list.... Thanks for including the details you added and changed, too.
4/19/06 1:37 PM
pterion said...
This looks like something one could buy in a store (only better)! You have really done a beautiful job on this jacket - lovely details and it looks so well crafted.
4/19/06 1:35 PM
Mariko said...
Hello, bunz! Those are backing buttons. This fabric has coarse weave, so I did not want to ruin it by the stress from the pulling buttons. I just used small left over shirt buttons or something I had. Thanks for your comments.
4/19/06 1:27 PM
bunz said...
This really turned out nice! Did you use snaps under the buttons or are those little backing buttons?
4/19/06 1:19 PM
Riordan said...
Very nice jacket--looks beautifully detailed!!
4/19/06 1:15 PM
BjP said...
Beautiful jacket and the details are fabulous. I really like that you added the belt and the additional buttons on the cuffs. Nice job!
4/19/06 1:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Megan Nielsen MN2102

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Japanese Pattern Books Akiko Mano: Pattern D

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now