SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 116 (Asian Wrap)

Viewed 1351 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/06 7:04 PM
Last Updated:4/22/06 7:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ronda Rae said...
It looks wonderful on you.
4/22/06 7:32 PM
nancyc said...
I was just looking at this pattern this morning. What a nice surprise to see it reviewed today. Very nicely done! I really like the changes you made. Thanks for the review.
4/22/06 7:45 PM
bunz said...
Beautiful, MB. And you look great in it!
4/22/06 7:53 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice top! It looks so good in a plaid, I would not have imagined it in plaid. I eyed this pattern and wondered about the separating zipper thing, how in the world would one get dressed? The queen can call her maid but what about the rest of us?
4/22/06 8:26 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love love love your top MaryBeth ! You matched the plaids well and the added trim highlights the stylish design...a perfect combo with your red skirt. Magnificent fit too. Do make it in lace and please add to this review.
4/22/06 8:29 PM
CSM--Carla said...
OOOOOH what a wonderful plaid and a beautiful design on you!! Congratulations on this success.
4/22/06 9:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an interesting idea: an Asian top in a plaid. You made it work quite well.
4/22/06 9:24 PM
Georgene said...
You got a great fit on this, MB. How about just adding that skirt on to the bottom of the pattern and making a killer hoochie mama asian styled sheath? In say, a stretch brocade, hmmmm?
4/22/06 9:26 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wow! Between the superb fit and the amazing plaid matching, this top is just wonderful I second Georgene's idea of a stretch brocade sheath! -Ann
4/22/06 9:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Nice top! I never even thought of putting sleeves in this - it looks great. Great call on the zipper - I can't imagine trying to do a separating zipper behind me!
4/22/06 9:58 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Looks great on you - and you were so fast at whipping this up!
4/22/06 10:33 PM
koo104 said...
Your top fits so well. Nothing makes be happier that see a great fitting sleeve. Follow Georgene's suggestion. My all time favorite dress was a long sleeve 50's version in a Black Nylon Plisse. Complete with a long drap that snapped into the Wrap front closure. So elegant.
4/22/06 10:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very regal indeed!
4/22/06 11:08 PM
Sherril Miller said...
It's darling. The fit, just like it was made for you. It makes a darling outfit with that skirt.
4/22/06 11:13 PM
Meretta said...
I've been planning to make this one up, thanks for the review. For the person who suggested turning into a dress, there was a dress pattern with the same upper details, it was ankle length but could be made up shorter easily. I hadn't noticed the separating zipper, will need to look at it some more, it was already on my make after breastfeeding list because seems like it would be hard access.
4/23/06 0:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting top. I like the binding idea, the purchased red binding with the fabric one is great idea. Adds something to the entire look. Can't wait for you to perfect the skirt pattern. I thought about buying the pattern, but will wait for a review.
4/23/06 7:33 AM
carolynw said...
Very, very nice. Looks real good on you.
4/23/06 8:49 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great fit, MB! I'm with Ann and Georgene - let's see it as a dress!
4/23/06 9:52 AM
PhyllisC said...
I agree with you on the faux Asian styling - you get all of the advantages with none of the disadvatages (gapping, ties, etc etc)...thanks for the heads up on the separating zipper - I agree that's a weird thing to recommend.
4/23/06 9:53 AM
Nancy K said...
When I looked at this pattern I wondered how you get into it without someone tozip it up! Good change. I like this top with the addition of sleeves. You have convinced me to make it. Thanks for a good review
4/23/06 11:01 AM
countrybug said...
Love the top. I would never choose plaid, but it looks FANTASTIC, all hail the Queen. Loved the trim idea too. Great job.
4/23/06 11:31 AM
countrybug said...
Love the top. I would never choose plaid, but it looks FANTASTIC
4/23/06 11:32 AM
mClones said...
Looks great, MaryBeth. Fantastic fit, like that trim you designed.
4/23/06 11:39 AM
els said...
Great fit and the bright colors look wonderful on you.
4/23/06 11:58 AM
jlg said...
This top looks great on you, Mary Beth. I like the red plaid.
4/23/06 3:36 PM
lmg said...
Beautifully fitted top. Lots of class. One of the picks for BWOF for March 06
4/23/06 6:34 PM
Mufffet said...
This is lovely and so well fitted! Becomes you nicely.
4/24/06 11:03 AM
BettyMike said...
This is on my list of things to sew this month. I was concerned about the zipper, but not now! I'm off to get an invisible zipper. Thanks for the review, the top looks great!
5/9/06 1:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
Burda 7224

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now