Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 116 (Asian Wrap) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1350 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/06 7:04 PM
Last Updated:4/22/06 7:25 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ronda Rae said...
It looks wonderful on you.
4/22/06 7:32 PM
nancyc said...
I was just looking at this pattern this morning. What a nice surprise to see it reviewed today. Very nicely done! I really like the changes you made. Thanks for the review.
4/22/06 7:45 PM
bunz said...
Beautiful, MB. And you look great in it!
4/22/06 7:53 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice top! It looks so good in a plaid, I would not have imagined it in plaid. I eyed this pattern and wondered about the separating zipper thing, how in the world would one get dressed? The queen can call her maid but what about the rest of us?
4/22/06 8:26 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love love love your top MaryBeth ! You matched the plaids well and the added trim highlights the stylish design...a perfect combo with your red skirt. Magnificent fit too. Do make it in lace and please add to this review.
4/22/06 8:29 PM
CSM--Carla said...
OOOOOH what a wonderful plaid and a beautiful design on you!! Congratulations on this success.
4/22/06 9:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an interesting idea: an Asian top in a plaid. You made it work quite well.
4/22/06 9:24 PM
Georgene said...
You got a great fit on this, MB. How about just adding that skirt on to the bottom of the pattern and making a killer hoochie mama asian styled sheath? In say, a stretch brocade, hmmmm?
4/22/06 9:26 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wow! Between the superb fit and the amazing plaid matching, this top is just wonderful I second Georgene's idea of a stretch brocade sheath! -Ann
4/22/06 9:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Nice top! I never even thought of putting sleeves in this - it looks great. Great call on the zipper - I can't imagine trying to do a separating zipper behind me!
4/22/06 9:58 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Looks great on you - and you were so fast at whipping this up!
4/22/06 10:33 PM
koo104 said...
Your top fits so well. Nothing makes be happier that see a great fitting sleeve. Follow Georgene's suggestion. My all time favorite dress was a long sleeve 50's version in a Black Nylon Plisse. Complete with a long drap that snapped into the Wrap front closure. So elegant.
4/22/06 10:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very regal indeed!
4/22/06 11:08 PM
Sherril Miller said...
It's darling. The fit, just like it was made for you. It makes a darling outfit with that skirt.
4/22/06 11:13 PM
Meretta said...
I've been planning to make this one up, thanks for the review. For the person who suggested turning into a dress, there was a dress pattern with the same upper details, it was ankle length but could be made up shorter easily. I hadn't noticed the separating zipper, will need to look at it some more, it was already on my make after breastfeeding list because seems like it would be hard access.
4/23/06 0:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting top. I like the binding idea, the purchased red binding with the fabric one is great idea. Adds something to the entire look. Can't wait for you to perfect the skirt pattern. I thought about buying the pattern, but will wait for a review.
4/23/06 7:33 AM
carolynw said...
Very, very nice. Looks real good on you.
4/23/06 8:49 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great fit, MB! I'm with Ann and Georgene - let's see it as a dress!
4/23/06 9:52 AM
PhyllisC said...
I agree with you on the faux Asian styling - you get all of the advantages with none of the disadvatages (gapping, ties, etc etc)...thanks for the heads up on the separating zipper - I agree that's a weird thing to recommend.
4/23/06 9:53 AM
Nancy K said...
When I looked at this pattern I wondered how you get into it without someone tozip it up! Good change. I like this top with the addition of sleeves. You have convinced me to make it. Thanks for a good review
4/23/06 11:01 AM
countrybug said...
Love the top. I would never choose plaid, but it looks FANTASTIC, all hail the Queen. Loved the trim idea too. Great job.
4/23/06 11:31 AM
countrybug said...
Love the top. I would never choose plaid, but it looks FANTASTIC
4/23/06 11:32 AM
mClones said...
Looks great, MaryBeth. Fantastic fit, like that trim you designed.
4/23/06 11:39 AM
els said...
Great fit and the bright colors look wonderful on you.
4/23/06 11:58 AM
jlg said...
This top looks great on you, Mary Beth. I like the red plaid.
4/23/06 3:36 PM
lmg said...
Beautifully fitted top. Lots of class. One of the picks for BWOF for March 06
4/23/06 6:34 PM
Mufffet said...
This is lovely and so well fitted! Becomes you nicely.
4/24/06 11:03 AM
BettyMike said...
This is on my list of things to sew this month. I was concerned about the zipper, but not now! I'm off to get an invisible zipper. Thanks for the review, the top looks great!
5/9/06 1:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used none body pillow
photo
Review by maria 6705 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3830
photo
Review by Happy go l... on 6/26/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )
Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us