SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4653 (bias skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1185 times 
Reviewed by:AnneM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AnneMstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/06 9:17 PM
Last Updated:4/23/06 9:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
*Jessica* said...
lovely. all your creations are so well made :)
10/20/06 8:43 PM
Em's Summer said...
I totally understand your comment about elastic waists, but it is a very pretty skirt. It drapes so beautifully!
4/25/06 2:52 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Anne, it looks great with the top out! No hint of an elastic waist.
4/24/06 7:18 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is such a pretty skirt. Even with the elastic waist it looks fantastic on you! -Ann
4/24/06 5:34 PM
PhyllisC said...
Anne, this is really beautiful - a perfect marriag of pattern and fabric! I *love* the way it drapes.
4/24/06 5:05 PM
LiZ said...
Lovely skirt and the fabric print is gorgeous.
4/24/06 4:17 PM
wvsher said...
Very pretty skirt that looks great on you!
4/24/06 2:43 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
That's so pretty Anne!
4/24/06 11:35 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks, everyone. There are "drag lines" that don't show up very well in the picture - or in real life, for that matter, with the dark fabric. Plus being worn below the waist helps. I really like the style, so if I get adventurous I might convert it to a zippered waist by tapering & darting the top. But there are so many patterns, so little time!
4/24/06 10:15 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty skirt on you, Anne! The cut is very flattering. You've been sewing up a storm lately.
4/24/06 8:22 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful skirt and it drapes wonderfully! Fabulous fit on you. Love the fabric you chose. Thanks for detailed review and pictures. :)
4/24/06 8:14 AM
CarolynGM said...
The bias cut hangs beautifully, and it is a perfect length on you. I know what you mean about elastic waists though. Still, this one doesn't appear to bunch at all so your elastic sandwich must have helped.
4/24/06 6:52 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Anne :)
4/24/06 4:12 AM
FeyFaerie said...
I bought this same pattern last summer! I have not been very enthusiastic about making it, though - due to the "elastic waist", as you mentioned in your GREAT review. The skirt looks fantastic on you. However, after reading you review, and considering how petite and short waisted I am, I think I will pass on this pattern. Don't get me wrong - your skirt looks very cute, and your lining solution is ingenious! But... I've been thinking about that "elastic waist" - and I highly agree with your summation about those! Thank you so much for the great review!
4/24/06 1:57 AM
Sherril Miller said...
A very flatering skirt, Anne. No reason you couldn't sew it onto a waistband and add a zipper.
4/24/06 1:42 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Anne, this is darling on you. Love your fabric! Thanks for the bias tip!
4/24/06 1:19 AM
AngieC said...
I love your skirt and the fabric! It came out better than the pattern envelope! Great review-thanks for sharing.
4/23/06 11:48 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your skirt is very, very pretty Anne. It looks great on you!
4/23/06 11:23 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful. I have yet to tackle bias with any great confidence - your outfit makes me thing I can - I should!!
4/23/06 11:00 PM
Lynngray said...
Nice skirt looks great on you. Also great review.
4/23/06 10:43 PM
MaryBeth said...
I love the drape of this skirt! It's so pretty on you. Perfect!
4/23/06 9:55 PM
touran said...
Very, very pretty outfit. Sometimes the fabrics are right to sneak in as they do. The skirt is lovely.
4/23/06 9:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Simplicity 2603

photo
by: Byrdie

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

More Info
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

More Info
Deer&Doe Blouse Airelle

photo
by: bimbleandp...

Review