SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4653 (bias skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1185 times 
Reviewed by:AnneM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AnneMstarstar
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/06 9:17 PM
Last Updated:4/23/06 9:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
*Jessica* said...
lovely. all your creations are so well made :)
10/20/06 8:43 PM
Em's Summer said...
I totally understand your comment about elastic waists, but it is a very pretty skirt. It drapes so beautifully!
4/25/06 2:52 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Anne, it looks great with the top out! No hint of an elastic waist.
4/24/06 7:18 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is such a pretty skirt. Even with the elastic waist it looks fantastic on you! -Ann
4/24/06 5:34 PM
PhyllisC said...
Anne, this is really beautiful - a perfect marriag of pattern and fabric! I *love* the way it drapes.
4/24/06 5:05 PM
LiZ said...
Lovely skirt and the fabric print is gorgeous.
4/24/06 4:17 PM
wvsher said...
Very pretty skirt that looks great on you!
4/24/06 2:43 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
That's so pretty Anne!
4/24/06 11:35 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks, everyone. There are "drag lines" that don't show up very well in the picture - or in real life, for that matter, with the dark fabric. Plus being worn below the waist helps. I really like the style, so if I get adventurous I might convert it to a zippered waist by tapering & darting the top. But there are so many patterns, so little time!
4/24/06 10:15 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty skirt on you, Anne! The cut is very flattering. You've been sewing up a storm lately.
4/24/06 8:22 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful skirt and it drapes wonderfully! Fabulous fit on you. Love the fabric you chose. Thanks for detailed review and pictures. :)
4/24/06 8:14 AM
CarolynGM said...
The bias cut hangs beautifully, and it is a perfect length on you. I know what you mean about elastic waists though. Still, this one doesn't appear to bunch at all so your elastic sandwich must have helped.
4/24/06 6:52 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Anne :)
4/24/06 4:12 AM
FeyFaerie said...
I bought this same pattern last summer! I have not been very enthusiastic about making it, though - due to the "elastic waist", as you mentioned in your GREAT review. The skirt looks fantastic on you. However, after reading you review, and considering how petite and short waisted I am, I think I will pass on this pattern. Don't get me wrong - your skirt looks very cute, and your lining solution is ingenious! But... I've been thinking about that "elastic waist" - and I highly agree with your summation about those! Thank you so much for the great review!
4/24/06 1:57 AM
Sherril Miller said...
A very flatering skirt, Anne. No reason you couldn't sew it onto a waistband and add a zipper.
4/24/06 1:42 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Anne, this is darling on you. Love your fabric! Thanks for the bias tip!
4/24/06 1:19 AM
AngieC said...
I love your skirt and the fabric! It came out better than the pattern envelope! Great review-thanks for sharing.
4/23/06 11:48 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your skirt is very, very pretty Anne. It looks great on you!
4/23/06 11:23 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful. I have yet to tackle bias with any great confidence - your outfit makes me thing I can - I should!!
4/23/06 11:00 PM
Lynngray said...
Nice skirt looks great on you. Also great review.
4/23/06 10:43 PM
MaryBeth said...
I love the drape of this skirt! It's so pretty on you. Perfect!
4/23/06 9:55 PM
touran said...
Very, very pretty outfit. Sometimes the fabrics are right to sneak in as they do. The skirt is lovely.
4/23/06 9:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8669

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
New Look 6933

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

More Info
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

More Info