Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4653 (bias skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1183 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:AnneM
photo
Friend of PR
About AnneMstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/06 9:17 PM
Last Updated:4/23/06 9:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
Very, very pretty outfit. Sometimes the fabrics are right to sneak in as they do. The skirt is lovely.
4/23/06 9:18 PM
MaryBeth said...
I love the drape of this skirt! It's so pretty on you. Perfect!
4/23/06 9:55 PM
Lynngray said...
Nice skirt looks great on you. Also great review.
4/23/06 10:43 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful. I have yet to tackle bias with any great confidence - your outfit makes me thing I can - I should!!
4/23/06 11:00 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your skirt is very, very pretty Anne. It looks great on you!
4/23/06 11:23 PM
AngieC said...
I love your skirt and the fabric! It came out better than the pattern envelope! Great review-thanks for sharing.
4/23/06 11:48 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Anne, this is darling on you. Love your fabric! Thanks for the bias tip!
4/24/06 1:19 AM
Sherril Miller said...
A very flatering skirt, Anne. No reason you couldn't sew it onto a waistband and add a zipper.
4/24/06 1:42 AM
FeyFaerie said...
I bought this same pattern last summer! I have not been very enthusiastic about making it, though - due to the "elastic waist", as you mentioned in your GREAT review. The skirt looks fantastic on you. However, after reading you review, and considering how petite and short waisted I am, I think I will pass on this pattern. Don't get me wrong - your skirt looks very cute, and your lining solution is ingenious! But... I've been thinking about that "elastic waist" - and I highly agree with your summation about those! Thank you so much for the great review!
4/24/06 1:57 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Anne :)
4/24/06 4:12 AM
CarolynGM said...
The bias cut hangs beautifully, and it is a perfect length on you. I know what you mean about elastic waists though. Still, this one doesn't appear to bunch at all so your elastic sandwich must have helped.
4/24/06 6:52 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful skirt and it drapes wonderfully! Fabulous fit on you. Love the fabric you chose. Thanks for detailed review and pictures. :)
4/24/06 8:14 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty skirt on you, Anne! The cut is very flattering. You've been sewing up a storm lately.
4/24/06 8:22 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks, everyone. There are "drag lines" that don't show up very well in the picture - or in real life, for that matter, with the dark fabric. Plus being worn below the waist helps. I really like the style, so if I get adventurous I might convert it to a zippered waist by tapering & darting the top. But there are so many patterns, so little time!
4/24/06 10:15 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
That's so pretty Anne!
4/24/06 11:35 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty skirt that looks great on you!
4/24/06 2:43 PM
LiZ said...
Lovely skirt and the fabric print is gorgeous.
4/24/06 4:17 PM
PhyllisC said...
Anne, this is really beautiful - a perfect marriag of pattern and fabric! I *love* the way it drapes.
4/24/06 5:05 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is such a pretty skirt. Even with the elastic waist it looks fantastic on you! -Ann
4/24/06 5:34 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Anne, it looks great with the top out! No hint of an elastic waist.
4/24/06 7:18 PM
Em's Summer said...
I totally understand your comment about elastic waists, but it is a very pretty skirt. It drapes so beautifully!
4/25/06 2:52 PM
*Jessica* said...
lovely. all your creations are so well made :)
10/20/06 8:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-131 Knit Coat
photo
Review by ElsaD on 2/2/09
Read Review

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2750 Lauren Sara
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 3/24/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5899 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5899 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us