SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1103 (Artful Dodger Prudence Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1456 times 
Reviewed by:Gail M
photo

 
 
About Gail M
CA USA
Member since: 2/28/03
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/06 11:50 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
This pattern looks and sounds like it needs an extremely soft, maybe even sheer fabric to not look too poufty and maternity. I don't suppose you will be posting a photo of this one, but perhaps the next one? I just saw a version of this at Urban Outfitters in cotton knit w/ 3 really big covered buttons. Your review made me realize where it came from - must be the Stella McCartney influence.
4/25/06 3:36 AM
AnneM said...
Interesting. No, these patterns are not for the novice. It would be nice to see a picture of yours.
4/25/06 6:00 AM
LeeAnne said...
I just tried HP Denim Diva Sexy Skirt and also found instructions terrible and a lack of reference points on pattern pieces caused confusion. Fit was weird as well - slinky girl size 8's waistband was 38" long as was the finished waist measurement on skirt. This size is meant to fit below waist but hip measurement for this size is 36". As well, the pattern is described as having a shaped waistband but the waistband was straight - no shape at all. In short, I was very dissappointed because the illustrations look so stylish and attractive.
4/25/06 7:57 AM
amariea said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern! I have it cut out, but like you, am confused about the sleeve front/back. I looked at the front yoke for a long time before I figured it out! I was getting frustrated, mostly with HP, for not putting reference points on the patterns--how hard would that be? Thanks for the tips on the pleats as well--I wondered about them puffing out. Good luck if you try this again!
4/25/06 8:42 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Gail, I agree with your assessment of this pattern. I made a muslin first with some $2 a yard sheer poly I bought at Wal-Mart. I had just made the Maharajhi (sp?) jacket and it fit well so I used the same size. First it is way too big, the pleats make it look somewhat like a maternity blouse. I debated on using a natural fiber, maybe a rayon or silk with lots of drape but the fitting problems are just too off to waste my time. So many patterns, not enough time. I did like the fitting on the sleeve and shoulder. I read the other comments, I could see it possibly in a really thin knit. If you have any bust I don't think this is a pattern for you.
4/25/06 2:29 PM
oracle said...
So glad to see this review. My HP Prudence pattern is on the way, and I'd been hoping someone would review it before I got to doing mine! Thanks for the heads up on choosing fabric to ensure there's less or no puffiness. I'll also, now, be sure to try to figure out which pattern pieces fit together with which, and how, before I cut. Good luck with your next one!
4/25/06 2:30 PM
Jane Warren said...
Gail, I have this blouse almost completed in a soft rayon. I was surprised to find that the pleats are MUCH fuller than the drawing suggests - in the "curvy girl" size range, there is a full 3" in each pleat. The blouse would have been 84" at the hem - on my size 22, I would have looked like a balloon. Before I even pin-fit this, I took 1 1/2" out of each pleat, reducing the fullness by half. I'm really pleased with the result. If I was a size 8 and had silk chiffon or similar, those deep pleats would be fine. I don't find the lack of instructions a problem - I learnt to sew in the 60's on Burda WOF magazine - back then, the instructions were as brief as they are now, and in German. I just used a good sewing book to work thru any techniques which were new to me. I'm thinking of adding lots of length to another Prudence blouse, and turning it into a nightgown for the coming Southern Hemisphere winter.
4/25/06 10:17 PM
Debra H said...
I would love to know just how low-cut the blouse is at the vee in front. Does cleavage show?
4/27/06 10:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now