Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1103 (Artful Dodger Prudence Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1450 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Gail M
photo
About Gail M
CA USA
Member since: 2/28/03
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/06 11:50 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
This pattern looks and sounds like it needs an extremely soft, maybe even sheer fabric to not look too poufty and maternity. I don't suppose you will be posting a photo of this one, but perhaps the next one? I just saw a version of this at Urban Outfitters in cotton knit w/ 3 really big covered buttons. Your review made me realize where it came from - must be the Stella McCartney influence.
4/25/06 3:36 AM
AnneM said...
Interesting. No, these patterns are not for the novice. It would be nice to see a picture of yours.
4/25/06 6:00 AM
LeeAnne said...
I just tried HP Denim Diva Sexy Skirt and also found instructions terrible and a lack of reference points on pattern pieces caused confusion. Fit was weird as well - slinky girl size 8's waistband was 38" long as was the finished waist measurement on skirt. This size is meant to fit below waist but hip measurement for this size is 36". As well, the pattern is described as having a shaped waistband but the waistband was straight - no shape at all. In short, I was very dissappointed because the illustrations look so stylish and attractive.
4/25/06 7:57 AM
amariea said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern! I have it cut out, but like you, am confused about the sleeve front/back. I looked at the front yoke for a long time before I figured it out! I was getting frustrated, mostly with HP, for not putting reference points on the patterns--how hard would that be? Thanks for the tips on the pleats as well--I wondered about them puffing out. Good luck if you try this again!
4/25/06 8:42 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Gail, I agree with your assessment of this pattern. I made a muslin first with some $2 a yard sheer poly I bought at Wal-Mart. I had just made the Maharajhi (sp?) jacket and it fit well so I used the same size. First it is way too big, the pleats make it look somewhat like a maternity blouse. I debated on using a natural fiber, maybe a rayon or silk with lots of drape but the fitting problems are just too off to waste my time. So many patterns, not enough time. I did like the fitting on the sleeve and shoulder. I read the other comments, I could see it possibly in a really thin knit. If you have any bust I don't think this is a pattern for you.
4/25/06 2:29 PM
oracle said...
So glad to see this review. My HP Prudence pattern is on the way, and I'd been hoping someone would review it before I got to doing mine! Thanks for the heads up on choosing fabric to ensure there's less or no puffiness. I'll also, now, be sure to try to figure out which pattern pieces fit together with which, and how, before I cut. Good luck with your next one!
4/25/06 2:30 PM
Jane Warren said...
Gail, I have this blouse almost completed in a soft rayon. I was surprised to find that the pleats are MUCH fuller than the drawing suggests - in the "curvy girl" size range, there is a full 3" in each pleat. The blouse would have been 84" at the hem - on my size 22, I would have looked like a balloon. Before I even pin-fit this, I took 1 1/2" out of each pleat, reducing the fullness by half. I'm really pleased with the result. If I was a size 8 and had silk chiffon or similar, those deep pleats would be fine. I don't find the lack of instructions a problem - I learnt to sew in the 60's on Burda WOF magazine - back then, the instructions were as brief as they are now, and in German. I just used a good sewing book to work thru any techniques which were new to me. I'm thinking of adding lots of length to another Prudence blouse, and turning it into a nightgown for the coming Southern Hemisphere winter.
4/25/06 10:17 PM
Debra H said...
I would love to know just how low-cut the blouse is at the vee in front. Does cleavage show?
4/27/06 10:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Burda 9691 Dress
photo
Review by inertia on 10/6/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3580 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3580 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6899
photo
Review by SueT on 7/28/12
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Pocket Purse
Lily Pocket Purse

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us