SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2776 (mens pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1493 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/06 3:57 PM
Last Updated:4/26/06 3:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Your husband is a lucky recipient of your sewing!
4/26/06 4:07 PM
jnamcd said...
Wow! I think these do look a lot better than the pattern picture! The fabric choice looks awesome, too. Excellent job and great review!
4/26/06 5:09 PM
MaryBeth said...
Slick! Your RTW hints are good info for the first time men's pants maker. These are very good looking and so is the model. Thanks for your thoughts on this pattern, Irene!
4/26/06 6:00 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Nice pants! I love how your DH is always such a cheerful (and handsome) model. It's very obvious that he likes what you make for him. I've been contemplating some shorts for DH since his current supply has ... er ... shrunk. ;-) This looks right up his alley!
4/26/06 6:25 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think my DH with his expand-o-matic waist measurement would love these. Excellent review, as usual, Irene. Does your DH know how lucky he is that you make him all these great things, or do we need to let him know? Never mind - he looks happy; he knows.
4/26/06 6:48 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...good for you. I haven't ever sewed pants for my husband. Shirts yes. Excellent job. They look very comfy yet they look neat!
4/26/06 10:20 PM
Celeste said...
Do the men's pants in this Kwik Sew pattern come out about a size too large like some of the shirts?
4/27/06 0:10 AM
martinanne said...
Those look very nice on your dh, and he looks pleased! Thanks for the great review, and for detailing all your changes.
4/27/06 7:14 AM
Irene Q said...
Thanks, everyone! DH loves this style because of the expanding elastic waist; plus, he doesn't have to wear a belt! Celeste, I'm not sure how these pants compare to RTW sizing, but if you go by the hip measurement you should be OK.
4/27/06 8:52 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice looking pants, Irene! I have this pattern I think and I just need to convince DH that elastic in the waist is *good* thing :D Thanks for all the great tips!
4/27/06 11:44 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Very spiffy! Your husband is a lucky lad.
4/28/06 0:18 AM
AnneM said...
Don't you hate it when they change a style on you? !!! Congrats on these; I'm certain your DH is much appreciative.
4/28/06 11:23 AM
betta1 said...
I made these into cargo shorts out of olive drab denim for DH and he loves them...I thought the fly instructions were the best I've ever followed..I did a full backside alteration (higher at the center back seam tapering to side seams) and dropped the center front a bit for tummy. Your review makes me want to try pants next! Gail
4/28/06 8:14 PM
Deedette said...
Thank you so much for taking the time to share, this is very helpful.
3/15/07 12:13 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Oh, my gosh. That is not the same man. Maybe his brother. All kidding aside, tell him, he looks great. The shirt fits him perfect. Great job.
4/21/07 9:48 PM
quirkygal said...
These are great. Thanks for pointing this review out to me. I'm going to order the pattern for Dad and give it a try.
12/29/07 7:49 PM
ccmurphy said...
Irene, I am on the last step of this pattern (making them for myself), right where it shows how to tac down the elastic, fold the fabric over and stitch it shut. Well, I had the exact same thoughts you did: that seems combersome b/c you have to manage to encase the elastic band and keep the waistband's gathering even at the same time. I'll try your method and see. Thanks for sharing!
6/18/09 7:28 PM
appleton78 said...
Great Job. Your husband looks snazzy! I agree with some other commenters -- your garment looks way better than the pattern pic does. Super job and super review!
5/17/13 12:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6843

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review

Pattern