Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2776 (mens pants) - Type:Mens - Pants    printable version
Viewed 1492 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/06 3:57 PM
Last Updated:4/26/06 3:56 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Your husband is a lucky recipient of your sewing!
4/26/06 4:07 PM
jnamcd said...
Wow! I think these do look a lot better than the pattern picture! The fabric choice looks awesome, too. Excellent job and great review!
4/26/06 5:09 PM
MaryBeth said...
Slick! Your RTW hints are good info for the first time men's pants maker. These are very good looking and so is the model. Thanks for your thoughts on this pattern, Irene!
4/26/06 6:00 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Nice pants! I love how your DH is always such a cheerful (and handsome) model. It's very obvious that he likes what you make for him. I've been contemplating some shorts for DH since his current supply has ... er ... shrunk. ;-) This looks right up his alley!
4/26/06 6:25 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think my DH with his expand-o-matic waist measurement would love these. Excellent review, as usual, Irene. Does your DH know how lucky he is that you make him all these great things, or do we need to let him know? Never mind - he looks happy; he knows.
4/26/06 6:48 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...good for you. I haven't ever sewed pants for my husband. Shirts yes. Excellent job. They look very comfy yet they look neat!
4/26/06 10:20 PM
Celeste said...
Do the men's pants in this Kwik Sew pattern come out about a size too large like some of the shirts?
4/27/06 0:10 AM
martinanne said...
Those look very nice on your dh, and he looks pleased! Thanks for the great review, and for detailing all your changes.
4/27/06 7:14 AM
Irene Q said...
Thanks, everyone! DH loves this style because of the expanding elastic waist; plus, he doesn't have to wear a belt! Celeste, I'm not sure how these pants compare to RTW sizing, but if you go by the hip measurement you should be OK.
4/27/06 8:52 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice looking pants, Irene! I have this pattern I think and I just need to convince DH that elastic in the waist is *good* thing :D Thanks for all the great tips!
4/27/06 11:44 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Very spiffy! Your husband is a lucky lad.
4/28/06 0:18 AM
AnneM said...
Don't you hate it when they change a style on you? !!! Congrats on these; I'm certain your DH is much appreciative.
4/28/06 11:23 AM
betta1 said...
I made these into cargo shorts out of olive drab denim for DH and he loves them...I thought the fly instructions were the best I've ever followed..I did a full backside alteration (higher at the center back seam tapering to side seams) and dropped the center front a bit for tummy. Your review makes me want to try pants next! Gail
4/28/06 8:14 PM
Deedette said...
Thank you so much for taking the time to share, this is very helpful.
3/15/07 12:13 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Oh, my gosh. That is not the same man. Maybe his brother. All kidding aside, tell him, he looks great. The shirt fits him perfect. Great job.
4/21/07 9:48 PM
quirkygal said...
These are great. Thanks for pointing this review out to me. I'm going to order the pattern for Dad and give it a try.
12/29/07 7:49 PM
ccmurphy said...
Irene, I am on the last step of this pattern (making them for myself), right where it shows how to tac down the elastic, fold the fabric over and stitch it shut. Well, I had the exact same thoughts you did: that seems combersome b/c you have to manage to encase the elastic band and keep the waistband's gathering even at the same time. I'll try your method and see. Thanks for sharing!
6/18/09 7:28 PM
appleton78 said...
Great Job. Your husband looks snazzy! I agree with some other commenters -- your garment looks way better than the pattern pic does. Super job and super review!
5/17/13 12:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 5196
photo
Review by marvelous on 5/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2594
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 3/3/13
Read Review

Burda 6904 Pattern
Burda 6904 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8930 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8930 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us