Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2899 (Guy Laroche Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2190 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Laurasews
photo
Friend of PR
About Laurasewsstar
CO USA
Member since: 12/27/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/06 11:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is stunning on you! Ooohh! Thanks for sharing the wonderful review.
5/5/06 0:10 AM
Judy Williment said...
Sounds like your DH is a keeper! Smart man to encourage this dress too - no wonder you felt 29, it looks fabulous.
5/5/06 0:24 AM
dmoonangel said...
Absolutely stunning work! Great review. Hope you had a lovely birthday!
5/5/06 0:52 AM
MichelleE said...
Yowza! That dress is hot and looks great on you! Don't you just love a little black dress?
5/5/06 1:18 AM
pharmercoon said...
Great dress! and Happy Birthday! (I recently turned the big 40 too). You look wonderful! Kay
5/5/06 2:33 AM
MaryBeth said...
What a great story; perfect match to a great dress. Fabulous!
5/5/06 4:56 AM
Nickle said...
Gorgeous dress, looks fantastic on you. Happy 40th.
5/5/06 4:58 AM
Em's Summer said...
Beautiful dress & happy birthday, too!
5/5/06 5:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. I've looked at this pattern a lot but my figure does not work for this dress. This dress was made for you! I am sure you enjoyed your surprise and I am sure you and your dress got rave reviews.
5/5/06 5:25 AM
Jane S said...
Terrific dress, great review and fun story. Happy, happy birthday to you!
5/5/06 6:35 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress, it looks wonderful on you. Thanks for the review and BTW - Happy Birthday.
5/5/06 7:09 AM
LauraM62 said...
Really beautiful dress, looks wonderful on you. Happy Birthday too!
5/5/06 7:26 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great dress, great story! This dress is lovely on your perfect little hourglass figure.
5/5/06 7:30 AM
BeckyC said...
The dress is gorgeous on you! What a great husband you have encouraging you to buy a pattern! and gave you a surprise party - WOW He's a keeper! Happy Birthday!
5/5/06 7:39 AM
AnneM said...
Wow. What a great story on your dress. It looks stunning on you; it really shows off your figure in an elegant way. Your DH must have been so proud to have you at the party in such a wonderful outfit that you made yourself.
5/5/06 8:22 AM
KathleenS said...
You got this done quickly! It looks just like the pattern illustration, which is a very positive recommendation for the pattern. I hope your husband likes the finished article too.
5/5/06 8:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It fits you like a dream! Very nice!
5/5/06 9:19 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Awh! Happy Birthday! Lovely story, and smashing dress.
5/5/06 9:33 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful dress. I love the open back.
5/5/06 9:51 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
You look great!!! Thank you for the good review.:-) Marita
5/5/06 9:53 AM
cindyann said...
Happy birthday! You look fabulous in that awsome dress.
5/5/06 10:16 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Great story, gorgeous dress, gorgeous woman! Thanks for sharing.
5/5/06 10:18 AM
Tiner W said...
Drop-dead gorgeous!
5/5/06 11:28 AM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous, sexy sexy dress! Congratulations on turning 40 and for having such a wonderful husband!
5/5/06 3:54 PM
Laurasews said...
Wow! Thanks for reading my review and for all the great comments and birthday wishes. DH loved the dress too! And I love him - he is definately a keeper. Thanks again!
5/5/06 4:00 PM
007educo said...
Oh wow!! I just bought this pattern too! This dress is on my list of my summer projects. I was also thinking of cutting it off to hip level and making it a top for the summer too.
5/18/06 0:15 AM
AuntieShel said...
I know I'm way late, but I was looking at patterns for an upcoming wedding and, of course, wanted to see if any of my choices were reviewed on pattern review--Please add my congrats on this fabulous dress. If only I knew it would look as good on me as it does on you. Fabulous.
9/29/06 9:39 AM
JaneH said...
Beautifully made!!
1/16/07 4:29 PM
Angien said...
Gorgeous dress! And gorgeous on you! Happy Birthday girlfriend!
3/4/08 0:11 AM
Cassy said...
The dress looks great on you. I have this pattern but hadn't decided to sew it yet, I think I'll need to move it up on my "to sew" list.
10/22/08 12:54 PM
SicilianChick said...
I also love the design but have yet to sew it- I bought the pattern for my daughter, and one for me. However, she is short waisted and doesn't care for the ruching on the lower front side seam. Is there any way I can sew it without ruching it? I am cutting it out now, Please advice ASAP! Thank you for the great review too.
1/31/09 12:26 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thank you for the review. I think you look marvelous in your dress and you encourage me to drop a few pounds to make mine.
1/31/09 1:26 PM
Berry B said...
I love this dress but was scared it would be too difficult. Thanks to your review I might give it a try. It's lovely and fits you great!!!
2/9/09 3:59 AM
Sewnforever said...
Have just ordered this pattern and am now really looking forward to making it. Am planning to use a silk jersey - will this work?!
3/30/09 1:18 PM
cassfox said...
How sweet is this whole story!! :-) And the dress! It's FABULOUS my dahhhling! :-) Thank you for this, I'm going to sew this for a wedding this weekend!
8/25/09 5:03 PM
Gold said...
Beautiful! I have this pattern and now you have inspire to want to make it ! Thanks for the review.
12/28/09 12:41 PM
jonesyb said...
Wow! What a stunning dress!!
1/29/10 2:51 PM
louisianamom said...
I am having this dress made (afraid to tackle it myself). I am considering a matte jersey fabric. What do you think? I was also afraid of the ruching at the hip and was going to leave it off. I would appreciate any advice.
4/5/10 11:41 PM
ak21 said...
wow, just gorgeous - especially in black. a great 'go-to' dress for any formal occasion. i think i might give this a go. thx for the review.
6/15/10 3:27 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Great Job!
11/14/11 11:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Neue Mode 23215 coat
photo
Review by Tini on 2/1/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stretch & Sew 375
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 1/31/11
Read Review

Fusible Interfacing DVD
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6656 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6656 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us