SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3363 (Misses Pants & Shorts)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1677 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/07 8:27 PM
Last Updated:4/28/06 8:01 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marilyn N. said...
You have learned so much! I am glad to see from the comments that you are wearing them. I hope that your second pair turns out just the way you want them.
9/17/07 1:55 PM
OP Gal said...
I agree. They look good enough to wear in public. Think of the RTW pants you own. I'm sure these look much better. I think you did a good job and should be proud of them. I can't wait to see your next attempt.
9/17/07 1:33 PM
Learn To Sew said...
When I edited this earlier today, I marked the box so it would not be posted again! Oh well... I have it traced out in an XL with 5/8 added to the side and inseams. I deepened the crotch 1/2 an inch and changed the curve a bit. I extended the front/rear crotch points so they would match up with the new extended 5/8 marks. I am ready to cut it out now and make another muslin. I did not add any to the waist, as it will be plenty high as it is. I added the extra 5/8 to the sides/inseams as I need a bit more room than the XL offered me and I have been told to do this for "just in case" sewing. Better to be too big and fit as I go than to be too small and be a wadder. I shortened the legs 2 inches this time.
9/17/07 0:56 AM
Learn To Sew said...
I wore the pants yesterday. I had no trouble sitting in them at church. I wore them to my inlaws as well. I can even squat in them when I clean up after our old dog. However, when I bent over to pick up a piece of kleenex my husband threw at me, I heard a Pop! Yep, I busted a couple of stitches in the rear. They did not show, but I will be fixing the area today and making sure this does not happen again. This could be very embarrassing if it happens again and I don't fix this!
5/1/06 1:56 PM
Sharon Smith said...
Carol, your sewing technique looks terrific. The zipper looks pretty darned good from here. I think you can wear these pants with pride, too. The comment about wearing your top out rather than tucked in is a great idea. Also, I think you could take about 1 1/2" off the hem length and they would hang straight down, giving them a sharper appearance. (Yes, I know what people say about where the slacks should break, but sometimes the weight of the fabric doesn't work that way.) I think you've done a fine job here. Sharon
5/1/06 11:51 AM
AnneM said...
I think you made a lot of progess on these. Yes, it might need some tweaking for the next pair but I think you are being way too hard on yourself. Congratulations. I think this is a great inspiration for all of us working on pants.
4/30/06 9:32 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Congratulations Carol! Now you can count yourself amongst the many of us who now are on the endless road of pant "tweakdom"! Great job!
4/29/06 8:36 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Thank you, all of you. I feel so much better about wearing the pants now. I need to wash them before I wear them. I plan to wash/dry them when the washer is empty. If they are dry, I will get to wear them tomorrow. I am a bit concerned in that I trimmed the CB too close near the J hook area, and I should have left myslef a little extra room there. I am hoping they will not be too tight when I sit down. Or worse, rip the seam out! I don't think this will happen, but when I took them in, I should have basted them first and sat down for a while. Never thought about sitting. I will remember to sit when making pants from now on. I will need to wash them, as I used Wonder Tape in the waistband area and to hold the snaps in place before I sewed them. I am wearing 1.5 inch heels with these pants.
4/29/06 11:40 AM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above comments. You did a great job and you should be proud. I especially agree with Sewliz and the hypercritical sewing voice. She can be very annoying at times!!
4/29/06 6:22 AM
Vivienne said...
These are beautiful pants! That fabric has a great drape. I would not shorten them - you'll be wearing shoes with a bit of a heel, right?
4/28/06 11:46 PM
ladylola said...
I agree with the aboves. Pants always need a little something more all the time anyway. Definately wear them, you did a good job.
4/28/06 10:04 PM
Mufffet said...
Carol, GOOD JOB! Now, I think the thing with these is probably that you take a smaller size. You would be surprised! You should be able to get a pattern that has a better starting point. BUT, these look pretty good, and you will find that with some dressy higher heel and another top, they will look and feel good!
4/28/06 9:39 PM
Vonnevo said...
Carol, you have done well with your pants and given your perseverence with this project, give yourself a big hug and wear them :) As Debbie mentioned, a shirt over the top will change the look completely. I am not sure if these are slant pockets or in seam pockets, but if you decide to remedy the "pouching", you can always remove the pockets if inseam and resew the side seam OR if a slant pocket, stitching them down, will flatten the pouching and give the effect of having the pocket feature. A great learning experience and the next pair will be much easier :)
4/28/06 8:54 PM
Sherril Miller said...
A great first effort. Congratulations on getting the review up. Pants take time to get the fit perfect but these are completely wearable. You can wear a top to cover those pockets and the zipper if that makes you feel better, but certainly you can wear these for all the world to see. You should proud of yourself.
4/28/06 8:24 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Ok, I edited the pattern number and changed my opinion of the skill level of the pattern. I changed it from "Did not work for me" to "Recommeded with mods". Really, the only thing I did not like about the pattern was the zipper insert. If I had done it the Sandra Betzina way, I would like this pattern. Thanks for the imput. I will wear the pants to church. Should I shorten them or toss in the washer/dryer? The fabric takes a low heat dry pretty well. They turned out longer than I expected. I agree with leaving the shirt out. I think that is why my hips look so funny. Either that, or I have a high hip and I did not know it.
4/28/06 8:22 PM
PattyU said...
I agree with the others, who say that the pants look fine. Photos don't always really show what something looks like. i agree with Debbie. Untuck the shirt, and they will look better.
4/28/06 5:41 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Carol I agree with everyone else -- these are totally acceptable for your first pair of tailored pants. You should see how my first ones came out. Only my 2nd or 3rd were actually keepers! Good job and you should be so relieved.
4/28/06 11:50 AM
Debbie Cook said...
You're being much too hard on yourself. Untuck your shirt and wear them in public with pride! Photos always show every little wrinkle, but in real life you'll be moving -- not standing still -- and no one will see what you're seeing here.

BTW, the pattern number for this review is coming up wrong.
4/28/06 11:04 AM

Cinsie said...
Carol following your thread on the boards I think you need to pat yourself on the back for a job well done. Considering that your instructor fit the pattern to you over a pair of jeans and you had to redo the fitting on your own they look great. As to the pockets RTW pants can have that same problem. Make them again and tweek the parts you see as a problem. I think your a lot closer to a good fit than you think.
4/28/06 10:06 AM
BeckyC said...
Your pants look great Carol! You did a great job on them and should be proud of them. Like Liane says they just need a little fine tuning and you've got yourself a great pants pattern. Each time you make them, they will get easier.
4/28/06 8:27 AM
Sewliz said...
You can too wear them in public! They look pretty darn good. They fit well, certainly better than most of the RTW pants I see on women, and they look well made in the pictures. Tell your hypercritical sewing voice (we all have them!) to go take a nap and have fun test driving your pants. Congrats on good pants!
4/28/06 8:27 AM
Liane M said...
Carol, these pants look fine. I can see a few tweeks in the fitting, but those are minor adjustments. I think you should wear your pants and be proud of them. When I wear something I have made, I learn more about what to do with the next pair as far as adjustments for fit and comfort. I think you did a FABULOUS job!!!
4/28/06 7:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-115

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

More Info