Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 9233 (P/P Perfect Fit) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1650 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR
About Learn To Sewstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/06 11:41 PM
Last Updated:6/26/08 7:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Awsome Carol, you already know what changes to make. I think they could be better in a smaller size so I hope the dryer cooperates with you.
4/29/06 0:03 AM
carolynw said...
Carol - I made these and ended up with a terrific fit but only after a lot of fitting and so on. Did you fold out the tuck in the back? That may remove some of the extra fabric you feel you have inthe thighs. Their book "Pants for Real People" is so helpful - get it if you can.
4/29/06 5:13 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats! You are pulling ahead in the pants department. And I think you are right on with your comments on future changes.
4/30/06 9:54 AM
PVA said...
Congratulations, Carol! All your hard work is really paying off. Your understanding of what you need to do is far more important than having a perfect fit on the 2nd or even 3rd effort! Please keep giving us reviews as you work out the fine-tuning!
4/30/06 12:22 PM
Mufffet said...
Carol, very good review. Yes, a smaller pattern is what you need. You are certainly a hard worker and it won't be long until you sew some of us under the table!
5/1/06 10:08 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Thank you very much everyone. To answer a question, no, I did not fold out any extra tissue in the back. I agree I need to buy PFRP when I get to it. Probably on DVD. I would not have thought to buy and cut a smaller pattern if it had not been recommeded to me on PR. I would still be trimming as I go. Liz does not tissue fit as she says the fabric will not be the same, so this is how she teaches. Flat pattern measure and fit as you go. I do love the way she does zippers and waistbands. I wish I had made the KS 3363 band much longer and cut it in half and sewn it on. I need to take them in more in the CB, but I did not do the band this way, so I will leave them alone. When compairing the two patterns, I like some things better on one and some things better on the other. I guess it really is just the way I sewed things that I notice. Thanks for the encouragement. It is very much appreaciated.
5/1/06 1:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6489
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 7/29/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Olivia and Oliver Pea Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Olivia and Oliver Pea Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2798
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 5/31/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1393 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1393 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us