Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2006-03 (Tunic Top, Burday Easy Fashion) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1613 times 100 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:casken
photo
About caskenstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/6/04
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/06 9:49 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kbcs682 said...
Could you add an inset of 3-4 inches in the V using the same material? I like the material & the style.
4/30/06 2:15 AM
Nickle said...
Your did a nice job and the fabric is pretty, so I agree with maybe adding a fabric insert in the V area.
4/30/06 6:18 AM
Lori V said...
Pretty fabric, I think you can save it with an inset or a cami, perhaps. Thanks for the information on the low neck, I am going to make this top soon.
4/30/06 7:43 AM
Sewliz said...
I like the fabric, it reminds me of ocean, or air. It is a pretty top! I hope you try the inset idea especially if the top fits everywhere else.
4/30/06 7:57 AM
blue mooney said...
That really is lovely fabric. I hope you can save this top! Burda is getting just as famous for its plunging necklines as for its crotch curve!
4/30/06 8:29 AM
Stacy Sews said...
I had the same issue with this pattern! How did they get those models to look so good in theirs and we looked so bad in ours?
4/30/06 8:56 AM
casken said...
I don't think an inset will help. The stop is just not flattering on me at all. My bust area looks very droopy.
4/30/06 11:26 AM
Lisette said...
I always have to go one size smaller in the shoulder, neckline and armhole area to get a good fit. I have a 35.5" bust and I use in Burda a 10 in that area and go up to the 12 at the chest (I am 5'7" and need the width there). It might be worth a try to do the same.
4/30/06 11:43 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a shame it didn't work, your fabric is so lovely. Ditto on how the models show off the tops just fine, but we mortals ?? Maybe they are 6 feet and need the deeper V. I always pinch out V necks but may have to really raise this one too. New Look has a very similar top 6573. if you like the general style. Thanks for reviewing anyway!
4/30/06 12:03 PM
Em's Summer said...
You picked lovely fabric in a great color! Sorry it didn't work out, but if the bodice isn't too saggy, maybe you can give it a classic 30s look with cut in shoulders and use it as sleepwear.
4/30/06 12:35 PM
cw said...
How about adding a band around the neck opening ending in a tie at center front? I hope you can find a way to make it work for you--it is a cute style and very pretty fabric.
4/30/06 2:14 PM
OP Gal said...
Too bad it didn't work for you because the fabric is TDF.
11/22/06 8:49 AM
Elaray said...
I made a BWOF dress for my daughter and the neckline was way too low -- especially for a church dress! (Cleavage in church? I don't think so!) I put in an inset as other members have suggested. I hope you're able to salvage this top. The fabric is really cute!
11/22/06 10:17 AM
mrspenguin said...
I always have issues with those dropped and curved styles, too. Too bad it didn't work for you. It looked promising. :-)
11/22/06 12:53 PM
camilaustral said...
hey! the top is so pretty you can still wear it, you can add a nice fabric triangle, like lace or something to cover up a little. or you can wear a thin top underneath. don be sad :)
6/15/08 5:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 3027 Misses' Shirts
photo
Review by tigger on 3/5/05
Read Review

Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6791 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6791 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1804 Misses Dress
photo
Review by typeezy on 5/30/12
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Winter Street Dress Digital Pattern
PatternReview Winter Street Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us