SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2006-03 (Tunic Top, Burday Easy Fashion)

100 more reviews
Viewed 1613 times 
Reviewed by:casken
photo

 
 
About caskenstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/6/04
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/06 9:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kbcs682 said...
Could you add an inset of 3-4 inches in the V using the same material? I like the material & the style.
4/30/06 2:15 AM
Nickle said...
Your did a nice job and the fabric is pretty, so I agree with maybe adding a fabric insert in the V area.
4/30/06 6:18 AM
Lori V said...
Pretty fabric, I think you can save it with an inset or a cami, perhaps. Thanks for the information on the low neck, I am going to make this top soon.
4/30/06 7:43 AM
Sewliz said...
I like the fabric, it reminds me of ocean, or air. It is a pretty top! I hope you try the inset idea especially if the top fits everywhere else.
4/30/06 7:57 AM
blue mooney said...
That really is lovely fabric. I hope you can save this top! Burda is getting just as famous for its plunging necklines as for its crotch curve!
4/30/06 8:29 AM
Stacy Sews said...
I had the same issue with this pattern! How did they get those models to look so good in theirs and we looked so bad in ours?
4/30/06 8:56 AM
casken said...
I don't think an inset will help. The stop is just not flattering on me at all. My bust area looks very droopy.
4/30/06 11:26 AM
Lisette said...
I always have to go one size smaller in the shoulder, neckline and armhole area to get a good fit. I have a 35.5" bust and I use in Burda a 10 in that area and go up to the 12 at the chest (I am 5'7" and need the width there). It might be worth a try to do the same.
4/30/06 11:43 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a shame it didn't work, your fabric is so lovely. Ditto on how the models show off the tops just fine, but we mortals ?? Maybe they are 6 feet and need the deeper V. I always pinch out V necks but may have to really raise this one too. New Look has a very similar top 6573. if you like the general style. Thanks for reviewing anyway!
4/30/06 12:03 PM
Em's Summer said...
You picked lovely fabric in a great color! Sorry it didn't work out, but if the bodice isn't too saggy, maybe you can give it a classic 30s look with cut in shoulders and use it as sleepwear.
4/30/06 12:35 PM
said...
How about adding a band around the neck opening ending in a tie at center front? I hope you can find a way to make it work for you--it is a cute style and very pretty fabric.
4/30/06 2:14 PM
OP Gal said...
Too bad it didn't work for you because the fabric is TDF.
11/22/06 8:49 AM
Elaray said...
I made a BWOF dress for my daughter and the neckline was way too low -- especially for a church dress! (Cleavage in church? I don't think so!) I put in an inset as other members have suggested. I hope you're able to salvage this top. The fabric is really cute!
11/22/06 10:17 AM
mrspenguin said...
I always have issues with those dropped and curved styles, too. Too bad it didn't work for you. It looked promising. :-)
11/22/06 12:53 PM
camilaustral said...
hey! the top is so pretty you can still wear it, you can add a nice fabric triangle, like lace or something to cover up a little. or you can wear a thin top underneath. don be sad :)
6/15/08 5:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2694

photo
by: goosegreen

Review