Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5781 (Palmer/Pletch 3-hour Shirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 1306 times
Reviewed by:Tina Rathbone
photo
Friend of PR
About Tina Rathbonestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/02 7:40 PM
Last Updated:10/11/02 7:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Wow, Tina! I love each and every one of those. I'm looking longingly at your collars as I'm currently suffering through a P&P blouse with a difficult collar application (although warned about here on PR). Your work looks so professional, yet it sounds like you are still learning/experimenting with your tip on buttonholes. Good job!
10/11/02 8:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
WOW!!!! Those shirts are great! I use a similar Kwik Sew pattern to make men's campshirts, but I may try this one too. I have used P&P's 3-Hour patterns for women's blouses. Nice patterns, but there's no way I could do one in 3 hours:).
10/11/02 8:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Awesome shirts! They're beautifully made, and can I say ... I love a guy who can wear lobsters and kangaroos with pride. :) I have this pattern in my stash, and now I'm really motivated to try it out, though I will have to make it in a boring pinstripe for DH. ;)
10/11/02 8:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Carrie, Mini and Diana! LOL, Diana! You should see the bizarre "orchids and olives" fabric he's got waiting in the wings. Lucky we live in So. Cal! :)
10/11/02 9:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Tina, great shirts! My husband got into those kinds of cool prints when we lived in SoCal--now we live in CT, so his large collection of aloha shirts is less well appreciated. I particularly like the aboriginal print. Very striking.
10/11/02 9:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nice shirts, Tina! Thanks for sharing those wonderful pictures. I have this pattern and another old one with the same title. That makes 3 Palmer/Pletch 3-hour Shirt patterns! Good pattern, thanks for the review.
10/11/02 10:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great looking shirts, Tina! I swear by Margaret Islander's shirt techniques (on her video); esp for a banded collar. Just another source for good techniques, though you obviously have it licked Tina. Nan
10/11/02 11:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your project photos are so lively and creative. And your husband is lucky to have such an interesting collection of shirts so carefully made.
10/12/02 1:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
It's obvious that your husband loves his shirts! I'm sure he appreciates your efforts.
10/12/02 9:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Tina, Wow! What great shirts. The kangaroos are my favorite.
10/12/02 5:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for all the great feedback! Nan, I'd love to see the Islander video on collars. I might be able to view one at my local Continuing Ed. sewing class. Coffin's book is good, but he overly complicates some steps IMHO. Islander's legendary! Isn't it fun sewing for guys? No major weight fluctuations to deal with (compared to sewing for oneself). :)
10/14/02 3:44 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I liked seeing the results and details in the photos. Especially enjoyed the tips and references.
10/30/02 11:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
mrs quickly said...
Love the shirts! I sew funky shirts for my husband too. He loves that they're one of a kind and never hesitates to brag that his wife made it! He's been bugging me for more so I thought I'd seek out a new pattern, one with a narrow facing more like ready to wear. I have this pattern but haven't used it. I'll check it out along with KS 2935. I can't resist fun fabrics so I have quite the stash. I could sew an entire summer wardrobe for DH if I only had the time...
4/13/03 5:25 PM
Hells Bells said...
I feel inspired!
7/9/03 7:58 AM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Great review, thanks Tina. I just tried one of the newer '3-hour shirts' and found it took me more like six hours, but I was happy with the result. I'll get on top of all those patterns I've got just waiting to be reviewed soon! (Sigh)
7/27/03 9:09 PM
Stitching Mouse said...
I am working on this one right now... hopefully I'll get my sleeve under control...
7/3/11 9:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Sew Liberated growing up sew liberated cape
photo
Review by karrieperr... on 2/23/14
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 24644-1003 A-Line Skirt
photo
Review by cimmanon on 7/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4762 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 4762 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us