SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2829 (Misses Jackets)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1448 times 
Reviewed by:Mufffet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mufffetstarstarstarstar
VT USA
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 59 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/06 8:09 PM
Last Updated:2/9/07 9:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
nice looking jacket! i agree that there is a little too much fabric under the arms, but i still like the look on you.
5/1/06 9:10 PM
AnneM said...
I hadn't thought about the size of the pattern pieces for dolman sleeve tops. Good point. I like this style of casual jacket.
5/2/06 8:20 AM
countrybug said...
Beautiful jacket and love the fabric, makes me want to run to the store and get some. Nice job.
5/2/06 8:48 AM
Sharon Smith said...
Very nice! Yours looks ever so much nicer than the pattern shows. Corduroy was a great choice. This jacket can go everywhere.
5/2/06 10:37 AM
wvsher said...
Nice jacket!
5/3/06 9:14 AM
JenSews2 said...
Thanks for the tips on the fleece! I really like the decorative edge with the turquoise. Nice touch.
2/9/07 10:06 PM
Lhan said...
Nice varied uses of a fairly basic pattern. It shows what you can do with innovative thinking. These are both really useful garments, and good examples for the rest of us.
2/9/07 10:42 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't see any way around that extra fabric under the arms, but since it does serve a purpose, you wouldn't want to get rid of it. I have this pattern, but haven't found the right fabric for it. I think the fleece, being more drapey, is a better fabric to hide that extra fabric.
2/10/07 9:52 AM
BeckyC said...
Very pretty jacket on you. The turquioise colored thread you used for the edge finished is such a nice complement to the color of your jacket. You're adding a bit of spring to your wardrobe in this dreadfully cold weather!
2/10/07 10:05 AM
cecelia said...
Muffet--2 nice looking jackets. I really like the decorative stitching! Were these the usual 1/4" seam allowances of KS?
2/10/07 5:00 PM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you for showing us your latest version. I love the edgestitching contrast; it's such a simple, elegant addition. What a great basic pattern. Here's to many more!
2/11/07 7:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great jacket! I love the luster of Designer 6 thread and it really complements the jacket.
2/11/07 8:16 AM
Mufffet said...
cecelia, I didn't pay attention to the seam allowance as such - I just serged the seams with the four thread overlock at the default setting. Then I widened the stitch and did the 3 thread for the edging. :) With the ample material in this jacket you don't have to be worrying about the seam allowance. I usually use a 3/8" seam allowance on everything when using the sewing machine. I like a seam that has room to play with if need be.
2/11/07 1:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Keyka Lou Zip Clutches

photo
by: pajamapart...

Review
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
Other Gertie\'s Book:

photo
by: KAHooke

Review