SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7281 (Sandra Betzina Top)

29 more reviews
Viewed 2436 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/06 9:08 PM
Last Updated:5/3/06 7:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
The fabric you chose is perfect for the pattern. I like your version and am looking forward to your sleeveless summer tops from this pattern. Really pretty.
6/14/10 7:27 PM
marthamyers said...
Great job! Love, love the fabric especially with this pattern. I can see why you had to have it.
2/20/09 7:34 PM
denisedh said...
Thanks especially for the recs on the cut being a little large in the torso! I am getting ready to make a muslim of this pattern.
1/1/09 9:17 AM
BetsyRoss said...
Loved seeing the fabric up close and the different photos. A beautiful jacket.
8/1/07 4:23 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great top, PattiB! I agree with you to make a muslin for this top. I used the Size C for the full bust as Sandra advises and was swimming in fabric from the neck to upper bust. Next time I make this top I'm using size A for the neck to chest then using the C for the bust down.
5/4/06 9:02 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love this on you. The fabric is smashing, and the fit looks perfect. Wonderful top
5/3/06 6:53 PM
sewfan said...
Lovely fabric and top! Looks great on you! I need to dig this pattern out of my stash. Pam
5/3/06 3:15 PM
layla said...
Beautiful fabric on you ...the top is just differentt enough to make it interesting ...very nice !!
5/3/06 2:53 PM
layla said...
Beautiful fabric on you ...the top is just different enough to make it interesting ...very nice !!
5/3/06 2:52 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Yours looks great! My original shrunk more and is unwearable now, as it's too short and too tight in the arms. I really need to make this again. If I make the cap sleeve I'll PM you - but I think my dog destroyed it a while back.
5/3/06 12:46 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I just bought this pattern and really love your version. Hope you make it again in short sleeves and show us that one too.
5/3/06 12:10 PM
Steffie said...
Wow! Your top looks great! I never would have purchased this pattern based on the pattern envelope. Your top is far superior to the pattern envelope. I am adding this to my list of "To Buy" patterns.
5/3/06 10:13 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Lovely! Gorgeous color. I've never seen a crinkled jacquard. Can't wait to see this in the short sleeve version.
5/3/06 9:52 AM
countrybug said...
LOVE the fabric and the shirt. The color is absolutely beautiful. I really like the shirt. Thanks for a great review and when you do the skirt take a pic with both. Thanks
5/3/06 9:15 AM
VtMartha said...
Very pretty! I too had to have that fabric. And that pattern is in my stash. Since our paths are unlikely to cross, I can see the future for this fabric. Thank you so much for all your tips on sewing it.
5/3/06 7:28 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just beautiful. I love that fabric, and the fit looks perfect. Billie
5/3/06 6:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric and I really like the look of the top. I have decided to stay with smaller sizes with SB patterns. I usually have to take deeper seams in the upper part of her jacket patterns and let out at the waist hem area.
5/3/06 6:55 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very inspiring review. Your top is lovely.
5/3/06 6:46 AM
AnneM said...
Beautiful top, and a great use for your fabric. Also a great reminder to check stitching before diving into the garment; I've had issues like that before.
5/3/06 5:38 AM
jlg said...
This is fabulous. It looks very beautiful on you.
5/3/06 5:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful everything Patti :) Congratulations on conquering that fretful feeling of how to use a treasured piece of fabric.l
5/3/06 3:44 AM
Irene said...
Patti, your top looks great on you! I love the sleeveless/hint of a cap sleeve version. There's a seam (perhaps it's a dart . . . not looking at it right now) that gives an added vertical line, which I find flattering. With this pattern, I chose the size that fit my measurements, and it was the right one--I would not go up a size. I think most of the reviews have been trying to point out that "loose fitting" is not an accurate description, but if you choose according to your measurements, you'll get a top that fits nicely.
5/3/06 2:54 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely fabric and the colour really suits you.
5/3/06 0:44 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Jacket looks wonderful in you. I love the fabric. I have this pattern in my stash and was looking at it just the other day. It will have to wait now until fall because it is too hot already to make a jacket that should be worn buttoned up but I am definitely inspired to make it up after seeing yours.
5/3/06 0:18 AM
MaryBeth said...
You look so pretty! Your review makes me feel excited about this pattern, where I had been feeling very uninspired. Thanks!
5/2/06 11:22 PM
BjP said...
Very stylish and in a truly lovely color. You look great in this!
5/2/06 10:19 PM
Peggy L said...
Okay, time for me to make this one up. It really looks nice on you and the fabric is beautiful. By the way, great hair cut!
5/2/06 10:00 PM
bunz said...
Looks terrific on you!
5/2/06 9:51 PM
Rhoda K said...
Looks great on you. I've seen this pattern and debated but now, your review cinched it! It's beautiful.
5/2/06 9:23 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
This is gorgeous on you!!!! The fabric, the pattern and the color really are wonderful on you. Thanks for sharing your new and lovely top!
5/2/06 9:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Burda 8860

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Lekala Patterns 4042

photo
by: Mazzygirl

Review
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

More Info