Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7281 (Sandra Betzina Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2428 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/06 9:08 PM
Last Updated:5/3/06 7:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
This is gorgeous on you!!!! The fabric, the pattern and the color really are wonderful on you. Thanks for sharing your new and lovely top!
5/2/06 9:14 PM
Rhoda K said...
Looks great on you. I've seen this pattern and debated but now, your review cinched it! It's beautiful.
5/2/06 9:23 PM
bunz said...
Looks terrific on you!
5/2/06 9:51 PM
Peggy L said...
Okay, time for me to make this one up. It really looks nice on you and the fabric is beautiful. By the way, great hair cut!
5/2/06 10:00 PM
BjP said...
Very stylish and in a truly lovely color. You look great in this!
5/2/06 10:19 PM
MaryBeth said...
You look so pretty! Your review makes me feel excited about this pattern, where I had been feeling very uninspired. Thanks!
5/2/06 11:22 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Jacket looks wonderful in you. I love the fabric. I have this pattern in my stash and was looking at it just the other day. It will have to wait now until fall because it is too hot already to make a jacket that should be worn buttoned up but I am definitely inspired to make it up after seeing yours.
5/3/06 0:18 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely fabric and the colour really suits you.
5/3/06 0:44 AM
Irene said...
Patti, your top looks great on you! I love the sleeveless/hint of a cap sleeve version. There's a seam (perhaps it's a dart . . . not looking at it right now) that gives an added vertical line, which I find flattering. With this pattern, I chose the size that fit my measurements, and it was the right one--I would not go up a size. I think most of the reviews have been trying to point out that "loose fitting" is not an accurate description, but if you choose according to your measurements, you'll get a top that fits nicely.
5/3/06 2:54 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful everything Patti :) Congratulations on conquering that fretful feeling of how to use a treasured piece of fabric.l
5/3/06 3:44 AM
jlg said...
This is fabulous. It looks very beautiful on you.
5/3/06 5:36 AM
AnneM said...
Beautiful top, and a great use for your fabric. Also a great reminder to check stitching before diving into the garment; I've had issues like that before.
5/3/06 5:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very inspiring review. Your top is lovely.
5/3/06 6:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric and I really like the look of the top. I have decided to stay with smaller sizes with SB patterns. I usually have to take deeper seams in the upper part of her jacket patterns and let out at the waist hem area.
5/3/06 6:55 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just beautiful. I love that fabric, and the fit looks perfect. Billie
5/3/06 6:59 AM
VtMartha said...
Very pretty! I too had to have that fabric. And that pattern is in my stash. Since our paths are unlikely to cross, I can see the future for this fabric. Thank you so much for all your tips on sewing it.
5/3/06 7:28 AM
countrybug said...
LOVE the fabric and the shirt. The color is absolutely beautiful. I really like the shirt. Thanks for a great review and when you do the skirt take a pic with both. Thanks
5/3/06 9:15 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Lovely! Gorgeous color. I've never seen a crinkled jacquard. Can't wait to see this in the short sleeve version.
5/3/06 9:52 AM
Steffie said...
Wow! Your top looks great! I never would have purchased this pattern based on the pattern envelope. Your top is far superior to the pattern envelope. I am adding this to my list of "To Buy" patterns.
5/3/06 10:13 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I just bought this pattern and really love your version. Hope you make it again in short sleeves and show us that one too.
5/3/06 12:10 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Yours looks great! My original shrunk more and is unwearable now, as it's too short and too tight in the arms. I really need to make this again. If I make the cap sleeve I'll PM you - but I think my dog destroyed it a while back.
5/3/06 12:46 PM
layla said...
Beautiful fabric on you ...the top is just different enough to make it interesting ...very nice !!
5/3/06 2:52 PM
layla said...
Beautiful fabric on you ...the top is just differentt enough to make it interesting ...very nice !!
5/3/06 2:53 PM
sewfan said...
Lovely fabric and top! Looks great on you! I need to dig this pattern out of my stash. Pam
5/3/06 3:15 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love this on you. The fabric is smashing, and the fit looks perfect. Wonderful top
5/3/06 6:53 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great top, PattiB! I agree with you to make a muslin for this top. I used the Size C for the full bust as Sandra advises and was swimming in fabric from the neck to upper bust. Next time I make this top I'm using size A for the neck to chest then using the C for the bust down.
5/4/06 9:02 PM
BetsyRoss said...
Loved seeing the fabric up close and the different photos. A beautiful jacket.
8/1/07 4:23 PM
denisedh said...
Thanks especially for the recs on the cut being a little large in the torso! I am getting ready to make a muslim of this pattern.
1/1/09 9:17 AM
marthamyers said...
Great job! Love, love the fabric especially with this pattern. I can see why you had to have it.
2/20/09 7:34 PM
marec said...
The fabric you chose is perfect for the pattern. I like your version and am looking forward to your sleeveless summer tops from this pattern. Really pretty.
6/14/10 7:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Vogue Patterns 2674 5 easy pieces
photo
Review by JoleneF on 7/22/04
Read Review

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Star Wars Bedding
photo
Review by SheBear032... on 12/22/08
Read Review

Vogue 1197 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 1197 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6508 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6508 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us