Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4695 (Men's Renaissance Doublets) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 1029 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/06 2:46 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Portia Hirschman said...
Thank you so much, Karen, for reviewing this pattern. My husband joined a Chorale and I have to make him a madrigal costume for the Christmas production to wear year after year. I just purchased this pattern and wondered how it would fit. Good to know that the fit is "close". I too purchased the pattern up to 40 and it may be too small. sigh... Guess that 60+ year old belly is going to have to be accomodated! I was hoping to avoid side grommets with laced ties but with your review, I expect I'll have to bite the bullet! He has already purchased beautiful cotton velveteen for the pieces and has visions of splendor. He is also wanting the edges piped. We'll see! I used McCalls 4864 for the pants and had to go down a size because of the ease. Thank goodness for time and muslins. Live and learn.
5/4/06 9:13 AM
Tiner W said...
How fun is that? I'm thinking that lame would be a bear to sew this with! It's a good-looking costume!
5/4/06 9:16 AM
Karen6790 said...
When the costumer handed me the lame I almost turned and ran, but then she handed me a pack of needles for metallic fabric. I always remember special needles after I've messed something up, so this was enlightening - they really made a huge difference. No picking, no pulls in the fabric. But I'm very glad to be handing it over today.
5/4/06 9:59 AM
Annika said...
Great job on such a limited budget. Nice looking dressmaker's dummy, too! The doublet actually sews up much better than I thought it would - I have this pattern and was a little afraid to try it out. Thanks for the review!
5/4/06 12:31 PM
wvsher said...
Great theater shirt!
5/4/06 1:03 PM
Joey in Katy said...
Grateful for your experiences regarding the fit -- am getting ready to make this same pattern. Have some really neat fabric (but expensive!), but I'll probably do some muslins first just to make sure. Your comments make me think I'll cut it a little wide.
3/8/08 3:05 PM
Reluctant Pirate said...
My husband and I have made variations from this pattern for years. Even though we're careful with the sleeves will still end up with at least one sleeve donut during the turning process. I guess it's not a sewing project if I don't spend an hour pulling stitches. This last iteration was made extremely form fitting and I'm very happy with it. To make it a bit more period correct we drafted out the darts on the front and back pieces and hand bound eyelets for the sleeve shoulder ties and front closure. It's good to know that other people have had success with this pattern as well.
9/9/11 1:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1047
photo
Review by Debra H on 7/27/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 2718
photo
Review by lelliebunn... on 7/15/13
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us