Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3938 (Jacket) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 957 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/06 0:58 AM
Last Updated:5/4/06 1:00 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
What a cute fabric! I like the lowered V-neckline, and great fit...looks so cozy comfy.
5/4/06 6:37 AM
Linda F said...
Great review. I liked the idea of changing the neckline. That should be the perfect weight for chilly summer nights.
5/4/06 7:27 AM
sewnbysf said...
I like the alterations you made to the jacket.
5/4/06 9:01 AM
Tiner W said...
That's a good looking jacket!
5/4/06 9:20 AM
FloraNature said...
I also think it is so much easier to put this type of sleeve in "in the flat". I agree with you about putting the shoulder seam to the front, the shoulder dart naturally makes it want to lie that way, especially with thicker fabric. Your jacket looks so comfy - I'm sure you'll get lots of wear out of it this summer!
5/4/06 9:37 AM
Elemenopeo said...
What a cute summer jacket. It looks nice on you.
5/4/06 12:34 PM
wvsher said...
Great job on the cardigan, and it looks very nice on you.
5/4/06 1:04 PM
ReneeSews said...
I love your jacket you did a great job! That is probably a pattern I would have looked over and passed on due to the pictured styles. But with your "thinking outside the pattern" it inspires me that I need to think more along that line also when choosing patterns and be more creative.
5/4/06 1:06 PM
Runrover said...
Mary, the jacket looks lovely on you. I love your fabric and the fit is fantastic. I think the v-neckline is very attractive and was a smart design change. Cynthia
5/4/06 2:19 PM
BjP said...
Your jacket looks great on you. Nice job!
5/4/06 5:10 PM
ryan's mom said...
That's a great-looking jacket! And the fit looks awesome. Wonderful job!!
5/4/06 8:53 PM
mamakooz said...
Mary, your jacket looks great!!
5/4/06 9:19 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Mary, your jacket is just so perfect and it fits you beautifully!! That is a great idea to make the lowered V neckline.
5/4/06 10:51 PM
nina001ca said...
Wonderful jacket, and really like the V-shaped neckline. I appreciate the tips about dealing with the fleece.
5/5/06 11:28 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
Very Nice! ps I think I have a photo like that too - no makeup, hair amuck, - but hey you look great! No one would know the better... Where do you get your fabric..I like! I like the lowered V neck too for a jacket, you did a nice job!
5/7/06 12:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1047
photo
Review by Debra H on 7/27/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 2718
photo
Review by lelliebunn... on 7/15/13
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us