Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2006-105B (Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1117 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/06 0:54 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jemgirlca said...
Too bad, because it looks great in the picture!
5/6/06 1:43 AM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry to hear that it caused soo much undoing and redoing & then ended up being tossed because it didn't wear right. The style looks great and you picked fabric that's a wonderful color. That skirt looks very pretty in the pic.
5/6/06 2:32 AM
_Cat_ said...
Sorry it didn't workout. I made this last week and as a apple I thought it drew much too much attention to my big fat belly. Maybe we need to wait for a celery to make this :)
5/6/06 4:14 AM
redhead said...
A celery! That's a new one on me. Cat, you're hilarious. I was going to make the asymmetric view out of a border print, but I am always changing my mind when it comes to this particular piece of fabric.
5/6/06 7:54 AM
Peggy L said...
Bummer - but I enjoyed your review. You deserve aother margarita after all that.
5/6/06 9:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh Patti - I hate it when this happens. I think many of us have been there. Sorry it didn't work out for you. But, I do have to say - I love that color on you.
5/6/06 9:44 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Yeah - let's dunk the celery in the margarita. It was a valiant effort Patti B. I'll skip this one too since I'm more of a Bosc pear.
5/6/06 10:10 AM
Patti B said...
duplicate post removed
5/6/06 10:16 AM
Patti B said...
I love it! Perhaps we should start a poll: Which fruit or vegetable do you identify with? I'm on my way to find some celery to dunk! Thanks for the sympathy. Some things just don't work out.
5/6/06 10:19 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Bummer! Thx for the warning.
5/6/06 10:25 AM
Sewliz said...
I like how the skirt looks in the picture and the color is great. Too bad it ultimately didn't work for you. I have my eye on this pattern since I like bias skirts. I am a pear type which just means that I need more fabric at the hips for bias. If the fabric is drapey you need more than you might think. Also a lining really helps smooth things out. A georgette would have worked well as a lining for your fabric I'll bet. Good for you for sticking with it long enough to finish and wear!
5/6/06 1:19 PM
erikagut said...
Speaking for at least one celery, my version of this skirt drove me mad. -Had to take out the side seam and zipper about 4 times and finally (am soo horrified about this) actually gave up and took it to the tailor. Oh the shame! Well, it's now wearable - but even they were not completely successful. Yours looks great in the picture! It's a beautiful color.
5/6/06 9:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I hate wadders! They do happen. At least you can vent with all of us. I love the fabric and skirt looks good in photo. Really nice color.
5/7/06 7:39 AM
Diane E said...
Wow, Patti, between your review and the comments, I now feel really good about just looking at this pretty skirt in the magazine. It's so nice on you! What a pity that it didn't work out.
5/7/06 12:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 12/14/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Sofa slipcover Sofa Slipcover
photo
Review by ChristineB... on 12/24/07
Read Review

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5618 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 5618 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4321 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL )
McCalls 4321 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us