Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: n/a (JoAnn Fabric skirt panel) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 974 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Linda F
photo
About Linda Fstar
Member since: 8/7/05
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 13
 
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/6/06 9:40 AM
Last Updated:5/6/06 11:21 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosephreak said...
What a really cute skirt. It looks lovely. Thank you for the tips you provided and about adding the lining. I wouldn't have thought of that. Very pretty.
5/6/06 9:55 AM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks for your detailed review. I've seen patterns using this type fabric, but as you found out, unless the fabric is of decent quality, sometimes it doesn't work well. Especially a print that bleeds! The skirt is beautiful and your DD will look smashing!
5/6/06 10:00 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks fabulous. I love the fabric.
5/6/06 10:01 AM
Stitchology said...
Thanks for figuring out how to boost the quality of this project. You did a great job and it looks beautiful.
5/6/06 10:07 AM
Elemenopeo said...
You really elevated the panel into a very wearable skirt. Thanks for all the tips.
5/6/06 10:32 AM
hungryzombiecouture said...
The skirt is adorable. Congratualtions to your daughter, from one chemistry nerd to another!!
5/6/06 11:11 AM
Muria said...
Cute skirt! Thanks for mentioning that it bleeds. The McCalls pattern that uses this kind of panel utilizes multiple panels to give it a fuller look, but I think yours looks great with just one!
5/6/06 11:21 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I have seen those panels and thought the fabric didn't look like they would hold up. What a great idea to line it. Problem solved and a cute skirt is the product.
5/6/06 11:39 AM
Physics Girl said...
Yeah! You're making sure your daughter is a fashionable scientist already! (I also like her shoes.) Great job getting the skirt to work well.. and any chance of getting HER in the sewing room for one of the next ones, now that you've done such a great job getting it fixed?
5/6/06 12:46 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh I just love that skirt! Thanks for all the tips you shared. And I too think that it's a great idea to have her help you with the next two skirts. Great job on your first review too!!!~Melissa
5/6/06 1:04 PM
Em's Summer said...
A circle skirt with a border! That's definitely a rarity! You were very lucky to find that fabric, and you did a great job. It looks lovely!
5/6/06 1:20 PM
Tiner W said...
It looks adorable on her!
5/6/06 6:43 PM
Mary Reed said...
Very, very cute. My daughter wants one!
5/7/06 1:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Really lovely skirt. I love the border look. I am sure she will be a knockout at the dinner.
5/7/06 7:44 AM
pjrsews said...
Very cute skirt! I am in the process of making something similar for my daughter except I added a sundress type bodice to it. Lots of figuring. Unfortunately now she says she doesn't like it because the skirt isn't poofy enough. Lining is not an option at this point so I am trying to think of something to put around the hem to give it body. Any ideas? (AMEN to what we won't do for our children!!!)
5/7/06 12:22 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute skirt. Sometimes you just need an instant gratification project. Well done!
5/7/06 12:34 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful skirt
5/7/06 6:04 PM
layla said...
Thank you for this review ... I have been looking at these panels at Joann's ... Does not sound as easy as it looks, however I love the pattern once it is made up ... looks great on you and you did a great job of making lemonade out of lemons !!
5/8/06 1:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's 3830
photo
Review by atymonw on 1/21/14
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3938 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3938 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1429 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1429 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2634
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 9/11/05
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us