SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> n/a (JoAnn Fabric skirt panel)

37 more reviews
Viewed 974 times 
Reviewed by:Linda F
photo

 
 
About Linda Fstar
Member since: 8/7/05
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 13
 
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/6/06 9:40 AM
Last Updated:5/6/06 11:21 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
layla said...
Thank you for this review ... I have been looking at these panels at Joann's ... Does not sound as easy as it looks, however I love the pattern once it is made up ... looks great on you and you did a great job of making lemonade out of lemons !!
5/8/06 1:17 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful skirt
5/7/06 6:04 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute skirt. Sometimes you just need an instant gratification project. Well done!
5/7/06 12:34 PM
pjrsews said...
Very cute skirt! I am in the process of making something similar for my daughter except I added a sundress type bodice to it. Lots of figuring. Unfortunately now she says she doesn't like it because the skirt isn't poofy enough. Lining is not an option at this point so I am trying to think of something to put around the hem to give it body. Any ideas? (AMEN to what we won't do for our children!!!)
5/7/06 12:22 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Really lovely skirt. I love the border look. I am sure she will be a knockout at the dinner.
5/7/06 7:44 AM
Mary Reed said...
Very, very cute. My daughter wants one!
5/7/06 1:52 AM
Tiner W said...
It looks adorable on her!
5/6/06 6:43 PM
Em's Summer said...
A circle skirt with a border! That's definitely a rarity! You were very lucky to find that fabric, and you did a great job. It looks lovely!
5/6/06 1:20 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh I just love that skirt! Thanks for all the tips you shared. And I too think that it's a great idea to have her help you with the next two skirts. Great job on your first review too!!!~Melissa
5/6/06 1:04 PM
Physics Girl said...
Yeah! You're making sure your daughter is a fashionable scientist already! (I also like her shoes.) Great job getting the skirt to work well.. and any chance of getting HER in the sewing room for one of the next ones, now that you've done such a great job getting it fixed?
5/6/06 12:46 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I have seen those panels and thought the fabric didn't look like they would hold up. What a great idea to line it. Problem solved and a cute skirt is the product.
5/6/06 11:39 AM
Muria said...
Cute skirt! Thanks for mentioning that it bleeds. The McCalls pattern that uses this kind of panel utilizes multiple panels to give it a fuller look, but I think yours looks great with just one!
5/6/06 11:21 AM
hungryzombiecouture said...
The skirt is adorable. Congratualtions to your daughter, from one chemistry nerd to another!!
5/6/06 11:11 AM
Elemenopeo said...
You really elevated the panel into a very wearable skirt. Thanks for all the tips.
5/6/06 10:32 AM
Stitchology said...
Thanks for figuring out how to boost the quality of this project. You did a great job and it looks beautiful.
5/6/06 10:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks fabulous. I love the fabric.
5/6/06 10:01 AM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks for your detailed review. I've seen patterns using this type fabric, but as you found out, unless the fabric is of decent quality, sometimes it doesn't work well. Especially a print that bleeds! The skirt is beautiful and your DD will look smashing!
5/6/06 10:00 AM
rosephreak said...
What a really cute skirt. It looks lovely. Thank you for the tips you provided and about adding the lining. I wouldn't have thought of that. Very pretty.
5/6/06 9:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Make Bra DL01

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now