SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 53001 (Points and Pleats)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1225 times 
Reviewed by:Mair from CA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mair from CA
Member since: 11/1/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/06 9:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nzkiwi said...
Thank you for this detailed review. I had the same difficulty with the facings, I thought I had not followed instructions but realised in the end that it was a pattern error. Like you I adjusted the buttons etc to fit the way I wanted. The piece about the neck hmm perhaps there needs to be more accurate presentation.
2/6/07 2:23 AM
Mini said...
That top looks very elegant. It's not a style I could wear, but it looks perfect on you-much better than the pattern cover art too! for a more visible topstitch, I agree aabout using a coordinating rather than matching thread. Sometimes I use silk thread in a shade just a bit darker or lighter than the fabric. It seems to "pop" a bit more than when the thread is an exact match, but it's still subtle. I think making test swatches with different threads and colors may help you get just the right effect for the next blouse.
5/8/06 10:56 PM
Sewing Chick said...
Your shirt turned out great! I have made this up once and love the shirt. Some day, I plan to make more. I find it to be very comfortable. I kept mine longer in the back and find that this is very slimming.
5/8/06 11:01 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty color! Too bad about the "problem" but it doesn't look like a problem at all on the finished top.
5/8/06 10:44 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty top!
5/8/06 10:28 AM
AnneM said...
Great review. Not my style of top, but I always appreciate seeing an informative review even if it isn't a style that fits me.
5/8/06 8:47 AM
Irene Q said...
Great shirt! Now that summer's here, this is on my short list and I'll be sure to watch out for that placket - thanks! If you're brave, a stripe or plaid could really show off the design details, but personally I'm too chicken to do that much matching. :-) Louise uses that same collar on all her shirts, by the way.
5/8/06 8:39 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very good looking, thanks for the review. I have this pattern, with the thought that it'd be ideal to show off a single great button.

To show topstitching better, how about using quilting-weight thread? Or maybe it'd be a good place to practice hand-stitching, like in those wonderful 40s shirts..
5/8/06 6:06 AM

Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great. I love the color.
5/7/06 10:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2245

photo
by: thi3

Review