SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4790 (Retro '52 Wrap Dress)

66 more reviews
Viewed 3994 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/14/06 1:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Wow, such a cute dress, and I hadn't even seen this pattern! Does the skirt fall apart at the sides when you sit down? and do you need a tulle petticoat with this?
5/14/06 2:38 AM
Carina said...
Gorgeous little dress! A definite must have for me. I second the question about the tulle petticoat - if it needs one?
5/14/06 3:36 AM
carolynD43 said...
Love it!
5/14/06 5:24 AM
blue mooney said...
Your dress is so cute! Good idea to use the contrast fabric.
5/14/06 7:07 AM
Tini said...
what a fun dress! looks very nice!
5/14/06 7:17 AM
Lisette said...
That is such a fun dress!Thanks for the review.
5/14/06 8:12 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Sooo 50's and sooo cute...great job, Melissa!
5/14/06 8:14 AM
meanjean said...
This is so cute! It looks great on you. I love the color.
5/14/06 8:55 AM
Linda E. said...
Love your dress the colors are great..
5/14/06 9:03 AM
mamakooz said...
It is sooo cute!!
5/14/06 9:20 AM
Nickle said...
Gorgeous dress, Love the colors your choose. Looks fantastic on you.
5/14/06 9:41 AM
Debbie Cook said...
How cute! Love the retro styling on your cute shape. You're speedy -- we were just talking about this pattern on the message boards and here it is!
5/14/06 10:04 AM
jemgirlca said...
Cute dress!
5/14/06 10:21 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thanks ladies for your sweet words (and sorry the picture isn't very crisp). I do think a petticoat under it would be good to add fullness to it and show the contrasting fabric front panel, however I don't have one and don't intend on making one (at least not at this time). The skirt didn't seem to fall to the sides when I was sitting here typing the review and I found there to be no "peek-a-boo" problems at all which I was a little concerned about since the front and the back are two seperate pieces. I did notice thd dress wants to pull down in the back (tho it really can't much because of how it wraps around my waist) ~ this surely stems the huge amount of fabric in the skirt.
5/14/06 10:34 AM
yarnivore said...
Great review, and it's an adorable dress!
5/14/06 10:36 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very cute dress, looks FAB on you!! So glad you did review, I bought it too, was wondering re fit/gapping.I may go down a size in bust. Enjoy !! Love the retro look.
5/14/06 11:35 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So cute! Love the pink and black combo.
5/14/06 12:09 PM
carolynw said...
This is too cute for words and must say your fabric choice was excellent - a piece of real ingenuity using a sheet - hmmm - gives me a whole other source to check out. Looks fab on you!!
5/14/06 3:00 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress turned out great!! Thanks for sharing your review.
5/14/06 10:20 PM
Celeste said...
Sweet dress. I like just the way it is. Looks fine. I saw this on dressaday.com and all of you need to check out this web site. I was so absorbed--covers vintage patterns, all dresses, etc. etc...
5/14/06 11:32 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for the great review. Your version looks great! Must try this one. I think this would make a great dancing dress!
5/15/06 0:06 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute with the contrasting colors. Good to know that it stays modest, as well. I will have to consider getting this just for the fun of it.
5/15/06 8:07 AM
hnjmom said...
Very cute!
5/15/06 9:33 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Love the color combination you chose. You did a great job with this. :)
5/15/06 9:40 AM
Sew it seams said...
What an adorable dress. I love the color combo and the pink buttons.
5/15/06 9:57 AM
martinanne said...
What a fun dress! It looks great on you!
5/15/06 10:13 AM
Speech girl said...
Thank you, Melissa for reviewing this pattern! The dress is lovely and the color combo is excellent. I just bought this pattern and it will be the next project I make for myself so I was so excited to see your review.
5/15/06 10:19 AM
JDpenelope said...
Couldn't be any cuter on you. As to the fit... it looks perfect, but perhaps the "retro" patterns have less ease than we are accustomed to...?
5/15/06 1:12 PM
Julia Graham said...
How funny! I've had this pattern for years, am sewing it right now (just letting the bias hang out at the moment), and had never seen it reviewed! Yours looks great. I was sad that mine didn't separate more in the front, showing the underskirt, but yours doesn't either so that's probably just how the pattern works in real life compared to drawings. Looks great on you!
5/15/06 4:11 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Julia, I think the reason the under part doesn't show much is because I don't have a petticoat on. I think those were worn lots in the 50's (tho I might be wrong) and surely the drawings show the fullness because you're supposed to think the model is wearing a petticoat for fullness. Can't wait to read more reviews on this dress!
5/16/06 3:49 PM
Julia Graham said...
Melissa, thanks for this reply. That makes lots of sense. I have two wonderful full petticoats, one too short and one too long for this dress... hmmm. Will have to think about this. Mine won't get hemmed for a couple weeks because DM (my hem consultant) is out of town, but then I'll post!
5/17/06 8:33 AM
Muria said...
Really cute dress! How much overlap is there on the bodice? I'm wondering if this is a dress on which I can avoid a FBA. Even if not, it looks like it would be an easier modification than it normally is. Will definitely have to check this one out. Thanks!
5/17/06 10:26 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Muria, the bodice fully wraps around the to the backside where it buttons at the back wasit. You are a bit exposed back there because the skirt doesn't quit wrap around, however the back skirt wraps around and covers you (the black part on my dress). I hope this makes sense. If you got caught in a huge wind storm wearing this dress, you may flash some people, but on a regular day you'd be just fine.
5/18/06 9:23 AM
Julia Graham said...
Melissa... I just tried on my dress (working on the button loops and thinking about neckline width, shoulder height, etc.) and was thinking about the petticoat issue. When you mentioned it, I thought "Aha! That's the solution." But now that I try it on, that underskirt is really quite narrow. Have you tried wearing the dress with any kind of petticoat? I'm thinking it might not fit under the inner layer well.
6/3/06 11:53 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Julia, I don't own a petticoat and don't plan on buying one simply because I have no idea when I'd wear it. You're totally right tho with how narrow the front is, it might not give you much coverage with a petticoat under it (tho the coverage is fine for me without one). It appears by the pattern envelope that the dress is intended to be worn with one tho. It probably isn't the best dress to wear in a windstorm, huh? I really don't know what to suggest since I haven't actually worn mine out of the house yet (and I have no idea if I ever will since it might just be too retro for me - I'm still deciding!). Sorry I'm not of more help.
6/4/06 10:50 AM
PVA said...
Yes, girls in the 50's we definitely did wear petticoats with full skirts. I love this one & will "absolutely have to have it"! Thanks so much for this review, Melissa. Brought back some truly wonderful memories!
6/5/06 10:32 PM
patsijean said...
MelissaB, I too love this dress on you. The color choice is great, using the sheet is quite creative. I, too, have to get this pattern. Even if you don't wear when going out, you have a nice "housedress", a topic of discussion on A Dress A Day. We wore petticoats in the 50's, lots of them. My sister used to wear two or three sometimes. I used to make gathered skirts (two panels of fabric, a zipper and a waistband, the hem just below the knee) all the time. The line drawing of the dress shows less fabric in the front and that could look awkward with a petticoat; so, why not copy the back piece by spliting the pattern at the waist and add more fabric? Or, if you want the lovely gap in front but do not want to go the petticoat route, taper the front edges from the hem to the waist? Perhaps about 4inches in on each side. Considering the discussion about the fit of the bodice, I would definitely use a sloper (or a well fitting top pattern with a definite waist marking) to check the pattern prior to cutting.
6/25/06 12:01 PM
dressaday said...
I love the color combination!
6/25/06 12:36 PM
VintageRose said...
Your dress came out so well. I referred to your pic when I made my own. I made this dress too but was worried about showing too much so, I just made an actual sheath underneath and then put the circle portion over it. That way, I get the look of the dress without worry. Also, I was thinking of making a half petticoat for the back so that it poofs out.
10/21/06 11:42 PM
MelC said...
Melissa, I have never noticed this pattern before. Actually, I don't think I would have given it a 2nd look but seeing your review - WOW! This pattern is now on my list to get. Thanks!
11/4/06 7:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, you gorgeous diva you, Melissa!
3/17/07 11:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now