SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 9771 (top)

27 more reviews
Viewed 2261 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 5:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julesberry said...
Just had a thought - could the sizing issue be caused by using a fabric which doesn't sag much on the bias? Something that did sag more would need to be cut bigger wouldn't it?
5/14/06 5:44 AM
mollyshark said...
Just a thought...most of the big 4 patterns should be purchased by high bust measurement, not by full bust. That takes you down at least one full size if not two in some cases. If you do it this way, the shoulders/bust should be fine and it is generally MUCH easier to narrow down the hip area in a dress than to do anything with the bust at all. Looks good though. Lovely fabric.
5/14/06 9:20 AM
Patti B said...
I agree with your husband -- quite nice axtually!
5/14/06 9:52 AM
kiddo said...
Beautiful job! The necline is a cowl. The facing is typically left free so that the drape is not hampered by a double thickness of fabric that is stitched down.
5/14/06 10:07 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Pretty top!. Probably a lot of problems were caused by the fabric. Duppioni is a really stiff fabric for this type of top, something cut like this needs some drape. Not sure what the fabric recommendation on the pattern says, but my guess is crepe, georgette, chiffon, etc.
5/14/06 10:27 AM
Elona said...
Wow, you got that duppioni to behave really well, all things considered! It's a pretty and unusual top, but the pattern illustration does seem to show intrinsically drapy materials like crepe de chine and so on. Kudos to you for your efforts, because they really did pay off. And your hair only got a bit grey from all the work, right?
5/14/06 11:43 AM
wvsher said...
The top turned out nice, and it looks very nice with your skirt. Good job!
5/14/06 3:38 PM
julesberry said...
Thanks for the comments, and education. Cowl sounds a bit scary - like growl - like a lion's mane perhaps. As for the facings, it was more the armholes and the back neckline that I felt had to be stitched down. I was a bit cautious before making this top in silk dupioni, but because another reviewr (CycleGal) had already done it I thought it would be OK! Taken from her review, " Reccomended fabrics: silk like crepe, charmeuse and silk like jacquard". Now if only I had a clue what any of those were like... perhaps I should order a load of swatches from somewhere! Anyone happen to have a suggestion for what other pattern I might try to go with my skirt?
5/15/06 0:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think it is the fabric. I made a top from silk duppioni and it was very tight when I got through with it. I had made the top before in another fabric and the fit was okay. You made a good save of the top and I think it looks good.
5/15/06 5:16 AM
AnneM said...
I love your description of the pattern. You ended up with a nice top, even if it was more work than expected. I have some duppioni waiting to be made into a top & skirt, so this is great information for me.
5/15/06 8:04 AM
LBJ said...
Lovely outfit!
5/15/06 5:09 PM
Parco said...
Nice review! I really like the colors of your outfit.
9/7/09 9:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 6400

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now