Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 9771 (top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2253 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 5:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julesberry said...
Just had a thought - could the sizing issue be caused by using a fabric which doesn't sag much on the bias? Something that did sag more would need to be cut bigger wouldn't it?
5/14/06 5:44 AM
mollyshark said...
Just a thought...most of the big 4 patterns should be purchased by high bust measurement, not by full bust. That takes you down at least one full size if not two in some cases. If you do it this way, the shoulders/bust should be fine and it is generally MUCH easier to narrow down the hip area in a dress than to do anything with the bust at all. Looks good though. Lovely fabric.
5/14/06 9:20 AM
Patti B said...
I agree with your husband -- quite nice axtually!
5/14/06 9:52 AM
kiddo said...
Beautiful job! The necline is a cowl. The facing is typically left free so that the drape is not hampered by a double thickness of fabric that is stitched down.
5/14/06 10:07 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Pretty top!. Probably a lot of problems were caused by the fabric. Duppioni is a really stiff fabric for this type of top, something cut like this needs some drape. Not sure what the fabric recommendation on the pattern says, but my guess is crepe, georgette, chiffon, etc.
5/14/06 10:27 AM
Elona said...
Wow, you got that duppioni to behave really well, all things considered! It's a pretty and unusual top, but the pattern illustration does seem to show intrinsically drapy materials like crepe de chine and so on. Kudos to you for your efforts, because they really did pay off. And your hair only got a bit grey from all the work, right?
5/14/06 11:43 AM
wvsher said...
The top turned out nice, and it looks very nice with your skirt. Good job!
5/14/06 3:38 PM
julesberry said...
Thanks for the comments, and education. Cowl sounds a bit scary - like growl - like a lion's mane perhaps. As for the facings, it was more the armholes and the back neckline that I felt had to be stitched down. I was a bit cautious before making this top in silk dupioni, but because another reviewr (CycleGal) had already done it I thought it would be OK! Taken from her review, " Reccomended fabrics: silk like crepe, charmeuse and silk like jacquard". Now if only I had a clue what any of those were like... perhaps I should order a load of swatches from somewhere! Anyone happen to have a suggestion for what other pattern I might try to go with my skirt?
5/15/06 0:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think it is the fabric. I made a top from silk duppioni and it was very tight when I got through with it. I had made the top before in another fabric and the fit was okay. You made a good save of the top and I think it looks good.
5/15/06 5:16 AM
AnneM said...
I love your description of the pattern. You ended up with a nice top, even if it was more work than expected. I have some duppioni waiting to be made into a top & skirt, so this is great information for me.
5/15/06 8:04 AM
LBJ said...
Lovely outfit!
5/15/06 5:09 PM
Parco said...
Nice review! I really like the colors of your outfit.
9/7/09 9:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 1723
photo
Review by Larisa on 1/26/13
Read Review

McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5649 View B
photo
Review by Nikkij on 8/2/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us