SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Hollywood 606 (Vintage Dress from 1941)

Viewed 2141 times 
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 11:21 AM
Last Updated:5/14/06 12:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marji said...
Fabulous dress and wonderful review. Thanks for the heads up on the master class article too. Did you ever get the dress back to fondle? or get Prom night pics?
5/30/07 9:43 AM
Leora said...
She looks so good in that color. Beautiful dress!
5/25/06 2:57 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Needle & thread benefactress, what a lovely gown. The color is perfect too.
5/22/06 7:42 AM
kwpanthermom said...
The color is perfect for her, and the shoes are a fun accessory. Don't you just love "building" a dress using nearly-forgotten details and techniques that our foresewers did as a matter of course? Your project is a beautiful testatment to time, patience, and attention to that detail creating a work of art.
5/16/06 9:06 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful dress, Leslie - and lucky, lucky prom girl! She looks fabulous in that color. Thanks for the detailed review, too!
5/15/06 1:51 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous! What a lucky girl she is to get the benefit of your talent and hard work.
5/15/06 11:27 AM
PVA said...
It's all been said, so I'll just say Wow-Wow-Whee! This is one beautiful dress & you are one wonderful person! Thanks so much for the review.
5/15/06 11:17 AM
JDpenelope said...
It's all been said. I can only wonder and ask how you will top this -- both the review and the project. Leslie, you deserve a good rest, now.
5/15/06 11:03 AM
xela said...
Fabulous review! Thanks for all the tips.
5/15/06 10:29 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Leslie, take a bow, please! All I could think when reading this was... how hard to let it go. Good thing you can bring it back "home" for a while to admire. It's spectacular.
5/15/06 10:15 AM
Sew it seams said...
Wow Leslie, you did a beautiful job and it was fun following your progress. I just love the vintage patterns. Great review!
5/15/06 10:04 AM
Georgene said...
Zowie! - it came out great. Hard not to be attached to something you put that much effort into - ask me how I know!
5/15/06 9:06 AM
AnneM said...
Great to hear that the dress came out well. The color is great on her, as you suspected. Look forward to the spiffed-up picture (make certain she gets one to you! ).
5/15/06 8:00 AM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous result. The dress is beautiful and your spirit of creativity and generosity is an inspiration.
5/15/06 7:33 AM
mClones said...
What a whirlwind! I'm out of breath reading about it. Great job, Leslie..and thanks for reminding me about that Hong Kong finish.
5/15/06 7:05 AM
2BSewing said...
Leslie, you did a wonderful job with this dress. It's beautiful. I always enjoy reading your reviews. Keep up the awesome work you're doing. :)
5/15/06 6:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You did a fantastic job! Great review!
5/15/06 5:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Wow!! Leslie, this turned out absolutely fabulous. The color and fit is beautiful. What a sewing adventure. You are definitely "Auntie of the Year".
5/15/06 4:57 AM
Sharon Smith said...
Didn't care for the dress as it appeared in the artists sketch on pattern, but you made it look like ultimate haute couture. And how wonderfully refreshing that a young girl would choose to go to a prom in a modest dress, beautiful though it may be in that gorgeous dupioni, rather than barely covered and hanging out all over. Reading your review is like a meaty tutorial - so much to learn from it. Thanks for being marvelous you.
5/14/06 10:38 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a gorgeous dress! Well done Auntie Leslie!
5/14/06 10:35 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Fantastic job on the lovely couture prom dress, Leslie!! I hope that she has a wonderful time at her prom in her gorgeous new frock!! Thanks for the wonderful review.
5/14/06 8:49 PM
Elona said...
Leslie, this is just too cute! Really adorable, and beautifully done! You are a saint.
5/14/06 8:46 PM
Debbie Cook said...
You are definitely Auntie of The Year!! Great job on the dress and making a girl's prom a perfect day!
5/14/06 7:35 PM
ClaireC said...
Leslie, the dress came out stunning. Your review was fantastic. You definitely share the extra points with DH for making this dress. In fact you get a crown. Kudos!!!
5/14/06 7:13 PM
Kris O said...
What a great job, Leslie. Thanks for the review and the posture lecture. I sat up straighter just reading your review!
5/14/06 7:00 PM
MaryBeth said...
It's sad you had to let this one go unperfected, but Leslie, It's darling and fits so well. Congratulations on a job well done
5/14/06 6:48 PM
BeckyC said...
Leslie, This dress is beautiful! This is one Lucky prom girl! A couture dress for prom night - Wow! I hope she appreciates it. BTW the sweetheart neckline, bodice and sleeves remind me very much of my Mom's wedding dress from the 40's. Thank you for the great review and adventure.
5/14/06 6:41 PM
PegL said...
The dress is gorgeous and the review is excellent! You have to be the most generous and giving person I've heard of in a long time! That young lady is very lucky!! I can't resist adding...while you're lecturing her on posture, could you teach her how to stand in heels? LOL
5/14/06 6:16 PM
jemgirlca said...
Leslie, it turned out beautiful! You are a really good aunt, too!!
5/14/06 5:39 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress and what a wonderful thing to do for your dn's friend.
5/14/06 4:48 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh yes - this is pure 40's all the way: the flared skirt, sweetheart neckline. Pretty without being gooey - wonderful!
5/14/06 3:37 PM
StitchQueen101 said...
Hi Leslie, Great review! I know exactly what you mean about fondling and admiring it before giving it up. I've been in that position before. Wow - it's great though! You did an awesome job. I'm currently working on a vintage fashion for vogue. If I post it you'll know I got it done before Friday -- my deadline for DD. I'm sure I'll be in the 1 hour prayer before the event too. Seems to work that way often for me. PS I love that fabric.
5/14/06 3:09 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Leslie, that turned out fantastic!!!! I love the color. I have some of the same color Douppioni in my stash, and the buttons are to die for. I think I'm turning into my mother, when I first saw the picture of DN's friend, I wanted to say, "Stand up straight!" :D -Ann (PS - I think this would look totally FAB on you, with your hair pinned up a la 1940s, you'd be all set to go swing dancing!)
5/14/06 2:05 PM
meanjean said...
Beautiful! The dress is very flattering to the young lady. I just love the detail in the design of the dress. I've never made up a vintage pattern, but it sounds like it was a fun experience.
5/14/06 1:50 PM
Stitchology said...
What a review! Will you be submitting it as a dissertation?
5/14/06 1:39 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking dress and the color compliments her coloring. What a nice lady to do this much work for your dear niece.
5/14/06 1:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a gorgeous pattern in a stunning color that looks just perfect for the prom girl's coloring. What a tale of adventure though in getting it all completed. Love that Hong Kong underlining tip -- I want to try it.
5/14/06 1:35 PM
Linda E. said...
Great review.. lovely dress you are a wonderful person..
5/14/06 1:06 PM
casken said...
What a great review!
5/14/06 12:38 PM
Patti B said...
Leslie, what a wonderful story and a great sewing adventure! You are a generous spirit.
5/14/06 11:49 AM
Kay Romo said...
What a wonderful spirit of giving!
5/14/06 11:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6476

photo
by: norsk

Review