Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Hollywood 606 (Vintage Dress from 1941) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2141 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 11:21 AM
Last Updated:5/14/06 12:06 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Romo said...
What a wonderful spirit of giving!
5/14/06 11:37 AM
Patti B said...
Leslie, what a wonderful story and a great sewing adventure! You are a generous spirit.
5/14/06 11:49 AM
casken said...
What a great review!
5/14/06 12:38 PM
Linda E. said...
Great review.. lovely dress you are a wonderful person..
5/14/06 1:06 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a gorgeous pattern in a stunning color that looks just perfect for the prom girl's coloring. What a tale of adventure though in getting it all completed. Love that Hong Kong underlining tip -- I want to try it.
5/14/06 1:35 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking dress and the color compliments her coloring. What a nice lady to do this much work for your dear niece.
5/14/06 1:37 PM
Stitchology said...
What a review! Will you be submitting it as a dissertation?
5/14/06 1:39 PM
meanjean said...
Beautiful! The dress is very flattering to the young lady. I just love the detail in the design of the dress. I've never made up a vintage pattern, but it sounds like it was a fun experience.
5/14/06 1:50 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Leslie, that turned out fantastic!!!! I love the color. I have some of the same color Douppioni in my stash, and the buttons are to die for. I think I'm turning into my mother, when I first saw the picture of DN's friend, I wanted to say, "Stand up straight!" :D -Ann (PS - I think this would look totally FAB on you, with your hair pinned up a la 1940s, you'd be all set to go swing dancing!)
5/14/06 2:05 PM
StitchQueen101 said...
Hi Leslie, Great review! I know exactly what you mean about fondling and admiring it before giving it up. I've been in that position before. Wow - it's great though! You did an awesome job. I'm currently working on a vintage fashion for vogue. If I post it you'll know I got it done before Friday -- my deadline for DD. I'm sure I'll be in the 1 hour prayer before the event too. Seems to work that way often for me. PS I love that fabric.
5/14/06 3:09 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh yes - this is pure 40's all the way: the flared skirt, sweetheart neckline. Pretty without being gooey - wonderful!
5/14/06 3:37 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress and what a wonderful thing to do for your dn's friend.
5/14/06 4:48 PM
jemgirlca said...
Leslie, it turned out beautiful! You are a really good aunt, too!!
5/14/06 5:39 PM
PegL said...
The dress is gorgeous and the review is excellent! You have to be the most generous and giving person I've heard of in a long time! That young lady is very lucky!! I can't resist adding...while you're lecturing her on posture, could you teach her how to stand in heels? LOL
5/14/06 6:16 PM
BeckyC said...
Leslie, This dress is beautiful! This is one Lucky prom girl! A couture dress for prom night - Wow! I hope she appreciates it. BTW the sweetheart neckline, bodice and sleeves remind me very much of my Mom's wedding dress from the 40's. Thank you for the great review and adventure.
5/14/06 6:41 PM
MaryBeth said...
It's sad you had to let this one go unperfected, but Leslie, It's darling and fits so well. Congratulations on a job well done
5/14/06 6:48 PM
Kris O said...
What a great job, Leslie. Thanks for the review and the posture lecture. I sat up straighter just reading your review!
5/14/06 7:00 PM
ClaireC said...
Leslie, the dress came out stunning. Your review was fantastic. You definitely share the extra points with DH for making this dress. In fact you get a crown. Kudos!!!
5/14/06 7:13 PM
Debbie Cook said...
You are definitely Auntie of The Year!! Great job on the dress and making a girl's prom a perfect day!
5/14/06 7:35 PM
Elona said...
Leslie, this is just too cute! Really adorable, and beautifully done! You are a saint.
5/14/06 8:46 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Fantastic job on the lovely couture prom dress, Leslie!! I hope that she has a wonderful time at her prom in her gorgeous new frock!! Thanks for the wonderful review.
5/14/06 8:49 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a gorgeous dress! Well done Auntie Leslie!
5/14/06 10:35 PM
Sharon Smith said...
Didn't care for the dress as it appeared in the artists sketch on pattern, but you made it look like ultimate haute couture. And how wonderfully refreshing that a young girl would choose to go to a prom in a modest dress, beautiful though it may be in that gorgeous dupioni, rather than barely covered and hanging out all over. Reading your review is like a meaty tutorial - so much to learn from it. Thanks for being marvelous you.
5/14/06 10:38 PM
Peggy L said...
Wow!! Leslie, this turned out absolutely fabulous. The color and fit is beautiful. What a sewing adventure. You are definitely "Auntie of the Year".
5/15/06 4:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You did a fantastic job! Great review!
5/15/06 5:24 AM
2BSewing said...
Leslie, you did a wonderful job with this dress. It's beautiful. I always enjoy reading your reviews. Keep up the awesome work you're doing. :)
5/15/06 6:58 AM
mClones said...
What a whirlwind! I'm out of breath reading about it. Great job, Leslie..and thanks for reminding me about that Hong Kong finish.
5/15/06 7:05 AM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous result. The dress is beautiful and your spirit of creativity and generosity is an inspiration.
5/15/06 7:33 AM
AnneM said...
Great to hear that the dress came out well. The color is great on her, as you suspected. Look forward to the spiffed-up picture (make certain she gets one to you! ).
5/15/06 8:00 AM
Georgene said...
Zowie! - it came out great. Hard not to be attached to something you put that much effort into - ask me how I know!
5/15/06 9:06 AM
Sew it seams said...
Wow Leslie, you did a beautiful job and it was fun following your progress. I just love the vintage patterns. Great review!
5/15/06 10:04 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Leslie, take a bow, please! All I could think when reading this was... how hard to let it go. Good thing you can bring it back "home" for a while to admire. It's spectacular.
5/15/06 10:15 AM
xela said...
Fabulous review! Thanks for all the tips.
5/15/06 10:29 AM
JDpenelope said...
It's all been said. I can only wonder and ask how you will top this -- both the review and the project. Leslie, you deserve a good rest, now.
5/15/06 11:03 AM
PVA said...
It's all been said, so I'll just say Wow-Wow-Whee! This is one beautiful dress & you are one wonderful person! Thanks so much for the review.
5/15/06 11:17 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous! What a lucky girl she is to get the benefit of your talent and hard work.
5/15/06 11:27 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful dress, Leslie - and lucky, lucky prom girl! She looks fabulous in that color. Thanks for the detailed review, too!
5/15/06 1:51 PM
kwpanthermom said...
The color is perfect for her, and the shoes are a fun accessory. Don't you just love "building" a dress using nearly-forgotten details and techniques that our foresewers did as a matter of course? Your project is a beautiful testatment to time, patience, and attention to that detail creating a work of art.
5/16/06 9:06 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Needle & thread benefactress, what a lovely gown. The color is perfect too.
5/22/06 7:42 AM
Leora said...
She looks so good in that color. Beautiful dress!
5/25/06 2:57 PM
Marji said...
Fabulous dress and wonderful review. Thanks for the heads up on the master class article too. Did you ever get the dress back to fondle? or get Prom night pics?
5/30/07 9:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Liberty Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 3/24/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains PL000001
photo
Review by sfshaza on 1/26/11
Read Review

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3842 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3842 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8962 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8962 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us