SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 00P 8219 

Viewed 1067 times 
Reviewed by:Anne Frances
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Anne Francesstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/12/04
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 5:17 PM
Last Updated:5/14/06 5:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
How beautiful! I used to have that pattern, but I think it has gone to the great pattern haven in the sky! -Ann
5/14/06 5:20 PM
Responder said...
Very nice. Someone told me silk is warm in summer. It's really hot here. Would silk work for a very hot climate?
5/14/06 6:06 PM
mastdenman said...
These slips are simply beautiful. I don't have very much use for a slip since I mostly wear pants, but it's nice to know that I could have such a beautiful undergarment without breaking the bank. Pant liners are nice. I have a couple pair that I have made and use them under cheap pants that are unlined.
5/14/06 6:24 PM
CarolynD said...
Very lovely slips. Nice choice of lace, too.
5/14/06 7:10 PM
AndSewOn said...
It's so nice to hear about another slip lover. I wear slips most every day. And my 20 something daughters like to wear slips too. Just because they're not so popular right now doesn't mean they aren't a good idea. I can't imagine going without one, although I know a lot of people do. Thanks for your hints on slithering fabrics and a great review.
5/14/06 8:11 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Just today, my mother and I were lamenting the demise of the slip. I suspect they've gone the way of the dinosaur because they don't sell ones as pretty as these that you have made. Loved the story of the their long journey into being! Congrats on a lovely job well done.
5/14/06 8:42 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your slips are so lovely and beautiful! Being a fellow slip lover, I always like to wear slips under skirts and dresses, too! Thank you for your hints on the "slippy" fabrics and a wonderful review!
5/14/06 10:33 PM
BjP said...
Such a helpful and informative review! Your slips are gorgeous and I enjoyed reading your review.
5/14/06 10:47 PM
Anne Frances said...
Thank you all for your kind comments. I'm delighted to find I am not alone in liking these garments! Responder, Claire Schaeffer in "Sew any Fabric" says silk is warm in winter and cool in summer and this has very much been my experience: when it's woven into a charmeuse it is soft, breathable and very comfortable. Silk has always been a favourite fabric for people who could afford it in really hot climates - think Southern China or the Indian sub-continent - I think for good reasons! Anne
5/15/06 4:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Stitch Magazine 12-2011-dahliapurse

photo
by: the thread...

Review
Other Postcard

photo
by: Renren

Review
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now