SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 00P 8219 

Viewed 1068 times 
Reviewed by:Anne Frances
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Anne Francesstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/12/04
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 5:17 PM
Last Updated:5/14/06 5:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Anne Frances said...
Thank you all for your kind comments. I'm delighted to find I am not alone in liking these garments! Responder, Claire Schaeffer in "Sew any Fabric" says silk is warm in winter and cool in summer and this has very much been my experience: when it's woven into a charmeuse it is soft, breathable and very comfortable. Silk has always been a favourite fabric for people who could afford it in really hot climates - think Southern China or the Indian sub-continent - I think for good reasons! Anne
5/15/06 4:23 AM
BjP said...
Such a helpful and informative review! Your slips are gorgeous and I enjoyed reading your review.
5/14/06 10:47 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your slips are so lovely and beautiful! Being a fellow slip lover, I always like to wear slips under skirts and dresses, too! Thank you for your hints on the "slippy" fabrics and a wonderful review!
5/14/06 10:33 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Just today, my mother and I were lamenting the demise of the slip. I suspect they've gone the way of the dinosaur because they don't sell ones as pretty as these that you have made. Loved the story of the their long journey into being! Congrats on a lovely job well done.
5/14/06 8:42 PM
AndSewOn said...
It's so nice to hear about another slip lover. I wear slips most every day. And my 20 something daughters like to wear slips too. Just because they're not so popular right now doesn't mean they aren't a good idea. I can't imagine going without one, although I know a lot of people do. Thanks for your hints on slithering fabrics and a great review.
5/14/06 8:11 PM
CarolynD said...
Very lovely slips. Nice choice of lace, too.
5/14/06 7:10 PM
mastdenman said...
These slips are simply beautiful. I don't have very much use for a slip since I mostly wear pants, but it's nice to know that I could have such a beautiful undergarment without breaking the bank. Pant liners are nice. I have a couple pair that I have made and use them under cheap pants that are unlined.
5/14/06 6:24 PM
Responder said...
Very nice. Someone told me silk is warm in summer. It's really hot here. Would silk work for a very hot climate?
5/14/06 6:06 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
How beautiful! I used to have that pattern, but I think it has gone to the great pattern haven in the sky! -Ann
5/14/06 5:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info
Burda 7429

photo
by: arianamani...

Review