SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6838 (nightgowns)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1130 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 6:03 PM
Last Updated:5/14/06 6:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Your skills and ingenuity turned bad into good. Mere mortals would have given up at the cut out! :)
5/15/06 5:53 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great save of a poor pattern.
5/15/06 5:41 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Mary. I'm sorry the pattern gave you so much grief, but you certainly came up with a very nice nightgown! Like the others, I think you might want to just lay it aside for awhile & then, maybe in a month or so, take it back out in the light of day for another look -- let the painful memory fade a little! (LOL)
5/15/06 4:26 PM
wvsher said...
It looks pretty nice, to me, too. But a poorly drafted pattern is a bummer and makes a lot more work than there really ought to be.
5/15/06 4:14 PM
JDpenelope said...
Mary, I think you should lay the gown aside and try it on in a week or so. My bet is you'll be pleasantly surprised at the project, and not so disgusted with the process of making it. The pattern may be from Hell, but the gown that you wrenched from it is a keeper.
5/15/06 1:04 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Mary, the first thing I noticed about your nightgown was the cute buttoned yoke. I would've never guessed it was a "fix". It turned out nice if you ask me :)
5/15/06 9:32 AM
ReneeSews said...
I think this looks good on you also with your altered yoke.
5/15/06 5:27 AM
BjP said...
I dunno, Mary....I don't think it looks bad at all! It certainly looks better than most of the things I sleep in! Nice creative save on the front.
5/14/06 10:05 PM
redsquid said...
My girlfriends and I have been discussing the idea that the assumption is: if you are blessed with bosoms - you must be blessed with square shoulders like a linebacker! It looks like this pattern came with a linebacker yoke... Your tuck-and-button solution looks great (and makes it MUCH cuter if that is any consolation!)
5/14/06 7:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

McCall's M5241

photo
by: ak21

Review
Vogue Patterns 1283

photo
by: petro

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info