SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6838 (nightgowns)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1128 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 6:03 PM
Last Updated:5/14/06 6:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redsquid said...
My girlfriends and I have been discussing the idea that the assumption is: if you are blessed with bosoms - you must be blessed with square shoulders like a linebacker! It looks like this pattern came with a linebacker yoke... Your tuck-and-button solution looks great (and makes it MUCH cuter if that is any consolation!)
5/14/06 7:09 PM
BjP said...
I dunno, Mary....I don't think it looks bad at all! It certainly looks better than most of the things I sleep in! Nice creative save on the front.
5/14/06 10:05 PM
ReneeSews said...
I think this looks good on you also with your altered yoke.
5/15/06 5:27 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Mary, the first thing I noticed about your nightgown was the cute buttoned yoke. I would've never guessed it was a "fix". It turned out nice if you ask me :)
5/15/06 9:32 AM
JDpenelope said...
Mary, I think you should lay the gown aside and try it on in a week or so. My bet is you'll be pleasantly surprised at the project, and not so disgusted with the process of making it. The pattern may be from Hell, but the gown that you wrenched from it is a keeper.
5/15/06 1:04 PM
wvsher said...
It looks pretty nice, to me, too. But a poorly drafted pattern is a bummer and makes a lot more work than there really ought to be.
5/15/06 4:14 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Mary. I'm sorry the pattern gave you so much grief, but you certainly came up with a very nice nightgown! Like the others, I think you might want to just lay it aside for awhile & then, maybe in a month or so, take it back out in the light of day for another look -- let the painful memory fade a little! (LOL)
5/15/06 4:26 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great save of a poor pattern.
5/15/06 5:41 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Your skills and ingenuity turned bad into good. Mere mortals would have given up at the cut out! :)
5/15/06 5:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 5651

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now