Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6838 (nightgowns) thumbsup - Type:Sleepwear    printable version
Viewed 1124 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 6:03 PM
Last Updated:5/14/06 6:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redsquid said...
My girlfriends and I have been discussing the idea that the assumption is: if you are blessed with bosoms - you must be blessed with square shoulders like a linebacker! It looks like this pattern came with a linebacker yoke... Your tuck-and-button solution looks great (and makes it MUCH cuter if that is any consolation!)
5/14/06 7:09 PM
BjP said...
I dunno, Mary....I don't think it looks bad at all! It certainly looks better than most of the things I sleep in! Nice creative save on the front.
5/14/06 10:05 PM
ReneeSews said...
I think this looks good on you also with your altered yoke.
5/15/06 5:27 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Mary, the first thing I noticed about your nightgown was the cute buttoned yoke. I would've never guessed it was a "fix". It turned out nice if you ask me :)
5/15/06 9:32 AM
JDpenelope said...
Mary, I think you should lay the gown aside and try it on in a week or so. My bet is you'll be pleasantly surprised at the project, and not so disgusted with the process of making it. The pattern may be from Hell, but the gown that you wrenched from it is a keeper.
5/15/06 1:04 PM
wvsher said...
It looks pretty nice, to me, too. But a poorly drafted pattern is a bummer and makes a lot more work than there really ought to be.
5/15/06 4:14 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Mary. I'm sorry the pattern gave you so much grief, but you certainly came up with a very nice nightgown! Like the others, I think you might want to just lay it aside for awhile & then, maybe in a month or so, take it back out in the light of day for another look -- let the painful memory fade a little! (LOL)
5/15/06 4:26 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great save of a poor pattern.
5/15/06 5:41 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Your skills and ingenuity turned bad into good. Mere mortals would have given up at the cut out! :)
5/15/06 5:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 4412 jacket
photo
Review by snowflake ... on 5/16/07
Read Review

Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6872 Pattern
New Look 6872 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1275 Misses Top
photo
Review by NancyZL on 10/23/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us