Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8145 (Misses' dress) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 1592 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 11:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress, your fabric is wonderful.
5/14/06 11:11 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Great dress. I tend to agree with you that the tie, while it looks good, overwhelms the whole thing a bit though. I like your idea of grey chiffon, although chiffon might not be heavy enough to drape well? You could always compensate a fly-away tendency with a few corner beads, and grey woul definitely work well. You could also just make another one with a more matching tie, this one looks like something I'd wear without a qualm :-).
5/15/06 5:29 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful :)))
5/15/06 6:02 AM
AnneM said...
Nice, although very distinctive with the contrast tie. I like the idea of the matching tie, to get more use out of the pattern.
5/15/06 7:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is gorgeous. This is certainly better than anything that I have seen in an high end store. Great style
5/15/06 9:14 AM
countrybug said...
Fabulous dress and fit. I have to agree too that the ties are a bit overwhelming and I also like the idea of matching ties. But, beautiful nonetheless.
5/15/06 10:49 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I like the contrast ties. Give more waist definition. I'd keep them. It's such a nice dress.
5/15/06 5:51 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Very nice dress. I love it. Grey chiffon would like nice.
5/15/06 8:19 PM
KathleenS said...
I'm considering this pattern. Do you think it would be possible to leave out the zip and still get the dress on?
5/16/06 8:52 AM
lmg said...
I finally figured out how to wear this dress!! You need to twist the ties first, not just cross them before you wrap to the back. In the ribbon version, the pattern picture shows a simple crossover. I am much happier with the black ties worn this way.
5/16/06 11:00 PM
KrystalL said...
I love your choice of fabric. It really makes the dress.
5/17/06 11:16 AM
Monica G said...
Your dress is beautiful. I am currently looking for a pattern for an outdoor wedding in July. Thank you for your review. I need to think about the mitered corners, having never done that before
5/27/06 10:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2561 Women's Pants
photo
Review by SewRusty on 3/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1078 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by AnnQ on 2/19/09
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us