SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8145 (Misses' dress)

Viewed 1593 times 
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/06 11:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress, your fabric is wonderful.
5/14/06 11:11 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Great dress. I tend to agree with you that the tie, while it looks good, overwhelms the whole thing a bit though. I like your idea of grey chiffon, although chiffon might not be heavy enough to drape well? You could always compensate a fly-away tendency with a few corner beads, and grey woul definitely work well. You could also just make another one with a more matching tie, this one looks like something I'd wear without a qualm :-).
5/15/06 5:29 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful :)))
5/15/06 6:02 AM
AnneM said...
Nice, although very distinctive with the contrast tie. I like the idea of the matching tie, to get more use out of the pattern.
5/15/06 7:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is gorgeous. This is certainly better than anything that I have seen in an high end store. Great style
5/15/06 9:14 AM
countrybug said...
Fabulous dress and fit. I have to agree too that the ties are a bit overwhelming and I also like the idea of matching ties. But, beautiful nonetheless.
5/15/06 10:49 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I like the contrast ties. Give more waist definition. I'd keep them. It's such a nice dress.
5/15/06 5:51 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Very nice dress. I love it. Grey chiffon would like nice.
5/15/06 8:19 PM
KathleenS said...
I'm considering this pattern. Do you think it would be possible to leave out the zip and still get the dress on?
5/16/06 8:52 AM
lmg said...
I finally figured out how to wear this dress!! You need to twist the ties first, not just cross them before you wrap to the back. In the ribbon version, the pattern picture shows a simple crossover. I am much happier with the black ties worn this way.
5/16/06 11:00 PM
KrystalL said...
I love your choice of fabric. It really makes the dress.
5/17/06 11:16 AM
Monica G said...
Your dress is beautiful. I am currently looking for a pattern for an outdoor wedding in July. Thank you for your review. I need to think about the mitered corners, having never done that before
5/27/06 10:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now