Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 2974 (Jacket & Dress) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1236 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/06 10:22 AM
Last Updated:5/19/06 11:17 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wvsher said...
Really beautiful dress; great job!
5/19/06 10:34 AM
Irene Q said...
Love the lines on the jacket - great job on both! You're right - the envelope photo is much too blah for such a pretty design - your version is so much better.
5/19/06 10:38 AM
jewelea said...
Not only is it a great looking outfit, but the jacket has exactly what I've been looking for ever since I was seduced by a Dana Buchman jacket: double princess seams! You didn't mention how you liked working with these, although the jacket looks beautifully fitted in the photos. Thanks for the review.
5/19/06 10:42 AM
Moxie said...
I love your fabric choices. The construction looks very professional. Excellent job!
5/19/06 10:46 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I love the jacket too...I think it flatters those of us with tiny waists and a little more sand in the hourglass. I'm putting this one on my wish list. I love the dress too. Great for summer.
5/19/06 10:51 AM
redhead said...
Jewelea, I just pm'd you about the jacket, not realizing that you had posted a comment. I am so glad you found a pattern like this. I may get this one myself.
5/19/06 11:10 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful dress and jacket, love the fit. Great job!
5/19/06 11:11 AM
2BSewing said...
Absolutely beautiful! Love the fabrics you chose for the dress and the jacket. You did a wonderful job.
5/19/06 11:38 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I think you've hit on one of the key points about choosing patterns and fabrics: a boring fabric needs a pattern with interesting details, whereas a punchy fabric needs a simple pattern. Your dress is oh-so-lovely.
5/19/06 11:55 AM
yarnivore said...
Terrific work! These are both gorgeous.
5/19/06 12:21 PM
touran said...
This is a stunning outfit. I would never have guessed it from the photo. Beautiful colors and lovely work. Thanks for reviewing it.
5/19/06 12:25 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Wow - beautiful outfit! I will have to get this pattern!
5/19/06 12:31 PM
Physics Girl said...
Thaks for posting this... I wouldn't have given the pattern another thought... and especially thanks to jewlea for pointing out those double princess seams! maybe this one will go on my wishlist!
5/19/06 12:46 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a lovely ensemble. I've never seen anything like those triangular insets over the bust on the dress. Very interesting......
5/19/06 1:15 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a beutiful dress! It's much nicer than the pattern. -Ann
5/19/06 1:19 PM
Angela Webb said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I really admire your workmanship.
5/19/06 1:59 PM
Hilary said...
Beautiful!
5/19/06 2:07 PM
Peggy L said...
Beatufiful outfit. Love your fabric choices.
5/19/06 2:26 PM
Sew it seams said...
This is just a beautiful outfit! Wonderful work, as always. I couldn't see the inset abobe the bust, but I'm intrigued so I'm going to take another look. Thanks for this review.
5/19/06 2:47 PM
cindyann said...
I love the fabric combinations. I have long wondered what this pattern would look like made up. It's better than I could have imagined. Your fabric selections really makes all the difference.
5/19/06 2:52 PM
carolynw said...
Both dress and jacket are just lovely - the print is very eye catching and blends so well with the jacket. You have done a wonderful job - again!
5/19/06 3:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
I would have never guessed the envelope photo could become such a beautiful outfit! Good instincts on your part. And a beautiful patterned fabric.
5/19/06 4:31 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I'm tempted to print out your photos and paste them over the blah envelope. I have meant to make this up for a while. It was shown in a style show at my local Sew Amazing shop and is a wonderful pattern. Maybe I'll work on fitting it in the next muslin class!
5/19/06 4:36 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
They're both really lovely. I'm intrigued how the triangles above the bust helped with fitting. Is it somewhat the same as a dart only instead of "take up" it's "put in"?
5/19/06 4:56 PM
jlg said...
Ooh, so pretty. I am going to get this pattern immediately.
5/19/06 7:02 PM
Modiste Madness said...
This looks wonderful!
5/19/06 8:52 PM
Quesie said...
I've covetted this pattern for years, always thought the pictures were HOT, actually. But it is practically the smallest pattern in the Misses catalog... only goes to 16, and I have no idea how to redraft it to a 20. I thought about making it in STRETCH linen and wondered if one could get away with it. But why do they keep a pattern for years in their catalog without resizing it?
5/19/06 9:21 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking outfit.
5/19/06 9:40 PM
PixieCat said...
Your dress is gorgeous! Beautiful fabric.
5/20/06 5:02 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your rendition of this pattern is anything but underwhelming.
5/20/06 7:22 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I got this pattern a couple of years ago and actually was looking at it again last week. Thanks for all the good info in the review! Still dunno when I'll make it, but it's moving up on the list now. ;)
5/20/06 9:34 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Such a beautiful, beautiful dress and jacket!! Great job!
5/20/06 11:56 AM
xela said...
Bee u ti ful!!! I have this pattern in my stash and have been "gonna" make since last summer. Now that I've seen your dress and jacket I'm going to cut it out right now! Thanks for the great review and inspiration.
5/20/06 1:02 PM
MickeyFan said...
Thank you everyone for your compliments. Milwaukee Kelly, I like your description of the triangular insert better than mine. It is like a reverse dart. Maybe "gusset" is the right word. On a plain fabric, it may serve as an interesting seaming detail on an otherwise basic design.
5/20/06 4:54 PM
drsue said...
Such a lovely pattern, just wish it started in a smaller size than a 10 (sigh.) Beautiful job.
5/20/06 11:05 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Burda should hire you as a stylist :) Aren't we all looking for a close on top but full on bottom summer dress?
5/20/06 11:07 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
5/21/06 2:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your dress and jacket are lovely. Great combination of pattern and fabric.
5/21/06 7:43 AM
AnneM said...
That looks beautiful. Great outfit.
6/4/06 9:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Burda Burda Style Handbook Skirt
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 9/6/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Mo. Star Quilt Co.
photo
Review by Melinda In... on 8/21/13
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 201 Pattern
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2692 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 2692 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4014 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 4014 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us