SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2820 (Convertible Pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2484 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/06 11:16 PM
Last Updated:5/19/06 11:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rustybobn said...
Thank you for a very good review of this pattern. I have a Burda pattern that is similar, but I've never made it. My DH likes this style of pants, too.
5/20/06 7:09 AM
Patti B said...
What a helpful review. They look great on your DH. I have this pattern to make hemp pants for my adult son and have put off getting them started. The hemp is the weight of a heavy linen -- do you think that would work for these?
5/20/06 11:09 AM
Michelle T said...
Thank you for the review. I have been dithering between getting that pattern or the Jalie one. http://www.justmakeit.com/patterns/storm_mountain/activewear.html has nice active outerwear patterns, but the do not seem to have zip off pants.
5/20/06 11:52 AM
wvsher said...
Great job! Like you said, the busy pattern does hide the convertible feature of the pants. And what could be more appropriate than dragonflies for outdoor activities ?
5/20/06 11:53 AM
martinanne said...
Thanks for the helpful review! Nice pants.
5/20/06 3:15 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Love these pants -- look great on the handsome model! Nice fabric. Thanks for this excellent review.
5/20/06 3:16 PM
julesberry said...
I am not sure what hemp is like, but the problem with using a thick fabric would be when sewing together all the layers round the zippers. I think you would end up with something very bulky round the thighs. There are also quite a few layers in the outside seams by the front pockets. If the fabric is hard and not very pliable then the problems would come when trying to gather the fabric into the back. In that case redrafting the back (as the previous reviewer did) would be a good idea. Hope this helps you decide.
5/20/06 5:32 PM
AnneM said...
These are really nice looking pants. Great pattern.
6/4/06 9:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Somehow I missed this earlier. Great job on these pants. I just bought a pair from REI (sporting goods store) and they were pretty pricey. Love the idea about the two colors of zips.
6/14/06 10:35 AM
dyno said...
thanks so much for this review. it was perfect for me. I'd like to make a women's design with zip legs at some point and I appreciate you mentioning that while the trouser cut may not be what I'd want, this pattern is very helpful as reference for zip-off legs. :)
2/9/07 0:57 AM
LiZ said...
Nice looking pants.
2/9/07 3:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 5396

photo
by: Renren

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Other E3137

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review