Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2820 (Convertible Pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2494 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews: 60 (patterns: 56)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/06 11:16 PM
Last Updated:5/19/06 11:21 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said... (2/9/07 3:45 PM) Reply
Nice looking pants.
dyno said... (2/9/07 0:57 AM) Reply
thanks so much for this review. it was perfect for me. I'd like to make a women's design with zip legs at some point and I appreciate you mentioning that while the trouser cut may not be what I'd want, this pattern is very helpful as reference for zip-off legs. :)
Peggy L said... (6/14/06 10:35 AM) Reply
Somehow I missed this earlier. Great job on these pants. I just bought a pair from REI (sporting goods store) and they were pretty pricey. Love the idea about the two colors of zips.
AnneM said... (6/4/06 9:24 AM) Reply
These are really nice looking pants. Great pattern.
julesberry said... (5/20/06 5:32 PM) Reply
I am not sure what hemp is like, but the problem with using a thick fabric would be when sewing together all the layers round the zippers. I think you would end up with something very bulky round the thighs. There are also quite a few layers in the outside seams by the front pockets. If the fabric is hard and not very pliable then the problems would come when trying to gather the fabric into the back. In that case redrafting the back (as the previous reviewer did) would be a good idea. Hope this helps you decide.
CSM--Carla said... (5/20/06 3:16 PM) Reply
Love these pants -- look great on the handsome model! Nice fabric. Thanks for this excellent review.
martinanne said... (5/20/06 3:15 PM) Reply
Thanks for the helpful review! Nice pants.
wvsher said... (5/20/06 11:53 AM) Reply
Great job! Like you said, the busy pattern does hide the convertible feature of the pants. And what could be more appropriate than dragonflies for outdoor activities ?
Michelle T said... (5/20/06 11:52 AM) Reply
Thank you for the review. I have been dithering between getting that pattern or the Jalie one. http://www.justmakeit.com/patterns/storm_mountain/activewear.html has nice active outerwear patterns, but the do not seem to have zip off pants.
Patti B said... (5/20/06 11:09 AM) Reply
What a helpful review. They look great on your DH. I have this pattern to make hemp pants for my adult son and have put off getting them started. The hemp is the weight of a heavy linen -- do you think that would work for these?
Rustybobn said... (5/20/06 7:09 AM) Reply
Thank you for a very good review of this pattern. I have a Burda pattern that is similar, but I've never made it. My DH likes this style of pants, too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

McCall's 6163

photo
by: kim*brown

Review
Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: crisford

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Curve Runner 12 inch

Curve Runner 12 inch

Pattern Details