SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 419 (Ruffle Top and Swirl Skirt)

16 more reviews
Viewed 2716 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 225 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/06 0:10 AM
Last Updated:5/22/06 0:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mspainter said...
I am inspired to sew this based on the comments in the review.
9/30/06 8:38 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Sherril, with a two-way stretch fabric, yes the top would be short in the front. However, with a four-way stretch and the fact I'm a 34D I can get away with not adding length as the fabric stretches over my girls. If the top was too short I could add length to the hem by making it curved. This is something done in Eurpoean pattern drafting when drafting what they call an "elastic" top. HTH, Belinda
5/24/06 5:35 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Beautiful top. I love this pattern, but would also need a FBA. You didn't add any length for the FBA? Doesn't the hemline get shorter going over the hills?
5/23/06 7:04 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Hi Belinda, It was great meeting you at the Cloth Shop on Saturday! The top(s) are great! I am a knit top person as well, so I think I will just have to get some of her patterns as well. Vicki
5/22/06 6:48 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Love these tops!
5/22/06 1:37 PM
Patti B said...
Love the new one too! Your FBA is what Loes Hinse does on her patterns instead of darts; seems to work well.
5/22/06 10:04 AM
JDpenelope said...
Looks like just the right amount of flare in this pretty version! The sleeves should remain gravy-free.
5/22/06 9:41 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
The new version is fabulous. Don't know how I missed the first one but these fit you so beautifully and look lovely.
5/22/06 8:45 AM
Mbarkle said...
Really pretty tops, Belinda. I've never tried these patterns, off to browse. . .
5/22/06 7:11 AM
Lilibet said...
Love the new version too, so pretty and feminine.
5/22/06 1:20 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Love the new version too, and I'm ordering this (and probably another one or two) pattern ASAP!!
5/22/06 0:48 AM
Diane E said...
Pretty pretty pretty new top!
5/22/06 0:43 AM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful top! I love this pattern too, and you've just opened my mind to the idea of leaving off the ruffle. Wow! What a terrific idea!!! Thanks for the great pictures, too, especially the one of the inside, which is very helpful for we copycats.
5/21/06 10:34 PM
Lilibet said...
Beautiful fit and lovely style on you. I'd love to see the next version you make. I've just become a fan of CJ patterns too and this is another one to go on my wishlist.
5/21/06 7:07 PM
xela said...
Beautiful top, looks fabulous, love your fabric. Thanks for the great review
5/21/06 11:21 AM
Ann Rowley said...
Lovely top, but think carefully about the sleeve flare. I have a couple of tops with a pronounced flare which look great but if you are actually going to DO something - cook, eat, do dishes etc while wearing it the sleeve edges will trail unless you remember to roll them up. Think "gravy stains" ..!
5/21/06 7:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I am glad you are finding such a great fit for this pattern. Looks very good. Love your fabric.
5/21/06 7:17 AM
PixieCat said...
Your top is beautiful! The lining pictures are very helpful.
5/21/06 5:11 AM
dvazz said...
Beautiful!
5/21/06 4:56 AM
lornakismet said...
Very alluring look! I like it. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/21/06 1:50 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- your top is just smashing! Beautiful fabric, perfect fit & the lettuce edge really sets it off! Absolutely gorgeous!
5/20/06 11:12 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top Belinda!
5/20/06 11:00 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love your top and a wonderful review. Your adjustment instead of the usual FBA is interesting and I must give it a try. Looking forward to seeing the next top.
5/20/06 3:26 PM
wvsher said...
Love it -- the style, the fit, the fabric -- everything. Looks great on you.
5/20/06 11:48 AM
jlongo said...
First of all, you look great in the top! I love the way sleeves are see throughish. Thanks for the great review! Love the comment about the flare on the sleeves, I think you are right about that, I will keep it in mind when I make it up. You are about the same measurements as me, so I know to make a medium..I love pattern review for being able to see others stuff....good job.
5/20/06 10:26 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great. Love the color and the style and appreciate your tips on lining, etc.
5/20/06 10:09 AM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Looks great! I made this pattern, too, with an onionskin, and I love it. I also tried the Christine Jonson wrap top, but this one -- the ruffle top -- worked better for me on my plus size figure. I'm interested in how you round out through the bust on knits. Do you have to redraw the sleeves to do that?
5/20/06 10:06 AM
Patti B said...
This looks wonderful on you and I love the fabric too. Thanks for a very helpful review; your details will make it easier for the rest of us. CJ patterns are well drafted and suit me as well.
5/20/06 9:26 AM
jemgirlca said...
Love your top! I need to try this pattern.
5/20/06 9:25 AM
carolynw said...
Really like the changes you made and think your fabric choice really adds a lot to the finished top. Looks great on you.
5/20/06 9:14 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Belinda, beautiful, just beautiful. Great fabrics and the fit is perfect. Can't wait to see the next version too!
5/20/06 8:55 AM
Stacy Sews said...
This is a great looking top! I love the fabric choice too - now I can't wait to see the top with the ruffle!
5/20/06 8:49 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Beautiful top--looks great on you. Thanks for the informative and educational review! I was interested in the techniques you used to adapt to the less stretchy knit.
5/20/06 8:36 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your fabric is lovely made up with your adjustments. The fit is perfect -- You have made this pattern a winner, even with the wimpy flare in the sleeves.
5/20/06 7:54 AM
LauraM62 said...
Looks wonderful on you, very slimming too! The colors of the top look really good on you, plus the fit is fab! What a winner!
5/20/06 7:38 AM
Elisabetha said...
What a great looking top. I agree about the flare; thank you for such a comprehensive review
5/20/06 7:03 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great result. It's such a good feeling to find a pattern that works so well you want to make it 1000 times.
5/20/06 6:50 AM
Ingiepops said...
This is very pretty! I have this pattern too but have been holding off as I find it hard to find fabric with the recommended stretch, so I'm glad to read what you did with less stretchy fabric. Thanks for the review.
5/20/06 3:03 AM
Lori V said...
Great looking top. Thanks for the review and all the wonderful pictures. I agree a bit more flare on the sleeve. Are you going to make one with the ruffle?
5/20/06 0:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Simplicity 2812

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info