Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 419 (Ruffle Top and Swirl Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2709 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/06 0:10 AM
Last Updated:5/22/06 0:40 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Great looking top. Thanks for the review and all the wonderful pictures. I agree a bit more flare on the sleeve. Are you going to make one with the ruffle?
5/20/06 0:35 AM
Ingiepops said...
This is very pretty! I have this pattern too but have been holding off as I find it hard to find fabric with the recommended stretch, so I'm glad to read what you did with less stretchy fabric. Thanks for the review.
5/20/06 3:03 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great result. It's such a good feeling to find a pattern that works so well you want to make it 1000 times.
5/20/06 6:50 AM
Elisabetha said...
What a great looking top. I agree about the flare; thank you for such a comprehensive review
5/20/06 7:03 AM
LauraM62 said...
Looks wonderful on you, very slimming too! The colors of the top look really good on you, plus the fit is fab! What a winner!
5/20/06 7:38 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your fabric is lovely made up with your adjustments. The fit is perfect -- You have made this pattern a winner, even with the wimpy flare in the sleeves.
5/20/06 7:54 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Beautiful top--looks great on you. Thanks for the informative and educational review! I was interested in the techniques you used to adapt to the less stretchy knit.
5/20/06 8:36 AM
Stacy Sews said...
This is a great looking top! I love the fabric choice too - now I can't wait to see the top with the ruffle!
5/20/06 8:49 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Belinda, beautiful, just beautiful. Great fabrics and the fit is perfect. Can't wait to see the next version too!
5/20/06 8:55 AM
carolynw said...
Really like the changes you made and think your fabric choice really adds a lot to the finished top. Looks great on you.
5/20/06 9:14 AM
jemgirlca said...
Love your top! I need to try this pattern.
5/20/06 9:25 AM
Patti B said...
This looks wonderful on you and I love the fabric too. Thanks for a very helpful review; your details will make it easier for the rest of us. CJ patterns are well drafted and suit me as well.
5/20/06 9:26 AM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Looks great! I made this pattern, too, with an onionskin, and I love it. I also tried the Christine Jonson wrap top, but this one -- the ruffle top -- worked better for me on my plus size figure. I'm interested in how you round out through the bust on knits. Do you have to redraw the sleeves to do that?
5/20/06 10:06 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great. Love the color and the style and appreciate your tips on lining, etc.
5/20/06 10:09 AM
jlongo said...
First of all, you look great in the top! I love the way sleeves are see throughish. Thanks for the great review! Love the comment about the flare on the sleeves, I think you are right about that, I will keep it in mind when I make it up. You are about the same measurements as me, so I know to make a medium..I love pattern review for being able to see others stuff....good job.
5/20/06 10:26 AM
wvsher said...
Love it -- the style, the fit, the fabric -- everything. Looks great on you.
5/20/06 11:48 AM
Rhoda K said...
I love your top and a wonderful review. Your adjustment instead of the usual FBA is interesting and I must give it a try. Looking forward to seeing the next top.
5/20/06 3:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top Belinda!
5/20/06 11:00 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- your top is just smashing! Beautiful fabric, perfect fit & the lettuce edge really sets it off! Absolutely gorgeous!
5/20/06 11:12 PM
lornakismet said...
Very alluring look! I like it. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/21/06 1:50 AM
dvazz said...
Beautiful!
5/21/06 4:56 AM
PixieCat said...
Your top is beautiful! The lining pictures are very helpful.
5/21/06 5:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I am glad you are finding such a great fit for this pattern. Looks very good. Love your fabric.
5/21/06 7:17 AM
Ann Rowley said...
Lovely top, but think carefully about the sleeve flare. I have a couple of tops with a pronounced flare which look great but if you are actually going to DO something - cook, eat, do dishes etc while wearing it the sleeve edges will trail unless you remember to roll them up. Think "gravy stains" ..!
5/21/06 7:23 AM
xela said...
Beautiful top, looks fabulous, love your fabric. Thanks for the great review
5/21/06 11:21 AM
Lilibet said...
Beautiful fit and lovely style on you. I'd love to see the next version you make. I've just become a fan of CJ patterns too and this is another one to go on my wishlist.
5/21/06 7:07 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful top! I love this pattern too, and you've just opened my mind to the idea of leaving off the ruffle. Wow! What a terrific idea!!! Thanks for the great pictures, too, especially the one of the inside, which is very helpful for we copycats.
5/21/06 10:34 PM
Diane E said...
Pretty pretty pretty new top!
5/22/06 0:43 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Love the new version too, and I'm ordering this (and probably another one or two) pattern ASAP!!
5/22/06 0:48 AM
Lilibet said...
Love the new version too, so pretty and feminine.
5/22/06 1:20 AM
Mbarkle said...
Really pretty tops, Belinda. I've never tried these patterns, off to browse. . .
5/22/06 7:11 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
The new version is fabulous. Don't know how I missed the first one but these fit you so beautifully and look lovely.
5/22/06 8:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Looks like just the right amount of flare in this pretty version! The sleeves should remain gravy-free.
5/22/06 9:41 AM
Patti B said...
Love the new one too! Your FBA is what Loes Hinse does on her patterns instead of darts; seems to work well.
5/22/06 10:04 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Love these tops!
5/22/06 1:37 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Hi Belinda, It was great meeting you at the Cloth Shop on Saturday! The top(s) are great! I am a knit top person as well, so I think I will just have to get some of her patterns as well. Vicki
5/22/06 6:48 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Beautiful top. I love this pattern, but would also need a FBA. You didn't add any length for the FBA? Doesn't the hemline get shorter going over the hills?
5/23/06 7:04 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Sherril, with a two-way stretch fabric, yes the top would be short in the front. However, with a four-way stretch and the fact I'm a 34D I can get away with not adding length as the fabric stretches over my girls. If the top was too short I could add length to the hem by making it curved. This is something done in Eurpoean pattern drafting when drafting what they call an "elastic" top. HTH, Belinda
5/24/06 5:35 AM
mspainter said...
I am inspired to sew this based on the comments in the review.
9/30/06 8:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3698
photo
Review by Saint Nolt... on 1/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2007-102 Dress
photo
Review by samiroquai on 6/3/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1547 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1547 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6203 Pattern
New Look 6203 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us