Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Shanghai Tunic (Shanghai Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1546 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:milwaukee_kelly
photo
About milwaukee_kellystar
WI USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/06 2:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tarawebster said...
Nice review Kelly, and especially for a beginner you are being WAY too hard on yourself. I think you have natural talent (unlike me, who has drive but no intuitive talent lol). I admire that you finished the muslin to get the practice at the skills. Your tunic looks really nice on you, and is totally wearable. Thanks for the great description.
5/21/06 3:19 PM
Leora said...
I love every version of this tunic. Great job! Looks fab on you.
5/21/06 4:10 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I think you did an excellent job! How is the fit through the shoulders and upper arms? From the picture, I suspect this pattern has the same armscye issues that Debfxvt talked about in her tip. -Ann
5/21/06 5:00 PM
FeyFaerie said...
Kelley, Great Review! I think your Tunic turned out fantastic!!! I've looked over A LOT of tunic - type patterns over the past couple of years; either the construction is unbelievably complicated, or the pattern looks like a floaty-bag w/sleeves. Great job - I am struggling to learn garment construction on my own (there aren't any classes or 'known' instructors where I live)- regardless I am extremely impressed w/ your top - and you should rate your skills as at least an 'advanced beginner'! Your, obvious patience (2 MUSLINS!!) and attention to detail turned out a very lovely, beautifully constructed garment. Bravo!! p.s. I hate tops, dresses, etc. that have the "tie" thing in the back, too. I'm super short waisted - so the 'correct tie back placement' always ends up down around my hips!!! However, although it may be 'uncomfortable', the tie-back is very flattering on you! Thank you for the great review!!! -Victoria
5/21/06 5:07 PM
jemgirlca said...
I think yours turned out great! It looks very RTW (I mean that as a compliment). Too bad the tie is uncomfortable, it looks fantastic!
5/21/06 5:24 PM
candyo said...
I love it! You're progressing very quickly!
5/21/06 9:27 PM
beangirl said...
very nice work, it looks great! One thing that might (might) make the tie more comfortable is to tie it looser so the knot hangs lower... it will alter your look though. Great review, thanks!
5/22/06 8:28 AM
countrybug said...
Great job. Dont give up, we learn forever, we never "know it all". The shirt is lovely and looks very nice on. You did a really nice job.
5/22/06 8:43 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty tunic; great job on it. Thanks for the detailed review.
5/22/06 10:21 AM
Karen6790 said...
Great review, Kelly. I'm in the midst of sewing this top myself, and I keep overthinking the directions and getting bogged down. You did a great job on this and given me the kick that I need to get back to working on it. Thanks for the review.
5/22/06 10:35 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Ann, I don't think the fit in the shoulder is perfect. It's wrinkly cause I was wearing this all day before I could get DB to take the photo. After reading the armsceye tip I tried it back on. I don't think I would lower it 2", but I think I like higher armholes. But I do feel like I could have some more room at the top part of the shoulder (more room in the shoulder cap?). I do have square shoulders though. Sorry... I'm a beginner, so I don't have a full handle on fitting.
5/22/06 11:53 AM
AnneM said...
It looks very good on you. I agree that the tie in the back looks nice, even if you can't sit down with it. :o
6/7/06 11:23 AM
Nancy K said...
I think that you did a great job on this top. it is flattering and certainly a great job . I love the front of this top but the back would bother me too. One reason I haven't gotten this pattern. Anybody have any design changes that would work here?
7/30/06 10:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969
photo
Review by julliams on 3/25/10
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Make-Up Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Make-Up Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2009-111
photo
Review by MichelleE on 11/22/10
Read Review

Burda 2509 Pattern
Burda 2509 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7047 Pattern
Burda 7047 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us