SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6587 (vintage inspired dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2823 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/06 7:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
I just had to come back and read your review since I just made this dress. I love what you did with it. Now I'm inspired to make this view!
10/1/08 9:50 AM
amanda77 said...
Way cuter than the pattern envelope. I've passed up on that pattern several times, but this makes me rethink it. Absolutely adorable!
3/15/07 5:23 PM
mad4sewing said...
I love this dress. I will definately buy this pattern.
10/29/06 7:34 PM
Laurie Lou said...
That is the cutest dress I have ever seen! I also got this pattern and have not had a chance to make it but in the meantime I happen to come across a readymade sleevless; very retro, but with a slight capped sleeve and a sweetheart neckline. It is a pretty fusia...not exactly career wear but what the heck I wore it to work and felt so femmine. When you reach 50 the nice thing is you don't have to cower to fashion trends! Your dress turned out adorable. Have you worn it much? I bet the girls are envious!
8/1/06 2:26 PM
sue77 said...
I LOVE it! I bought this pattern, and I'm still waiting for the right fabric to *call* to me, lol. I imagine I'll have issues with the arms then, I have large arms. Thanks for a great review!
6/28/06 4:01 PM
sue77 said...
I LOVE it! This is SO beautiful! I bought this pattern, and I'm still waiting for the right fabric to *call* to me, lol. I imagine I'll have issues with the arms then, I have large arms. Thanks for a great review!
6/28/06 3:58 PM
tlmck3 said...
Your dress is so much cuter than the pattern! I passed over this pattern at Hancock's when I was browsing the New Look stuff that just arrived. I think I need to go back and buy it now.
6/10/06 3:04 AM
Fern R said...
My only complaint is that your photo isn't three times the size of my screen so that I can look at your handiwork in detail. :-)
5/25/06 2:03 AM
Sewnla said...
What a sweet summer dress. Very pretty.
5/24/06 7:27 PM
PhyllisC said...
Dresses like this remnd of the red & white 1940's kitchen of my great aunt. *sigh* (basking in warm feelings of nostalgia) :0)
5/24/06 6:06 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, what a gorgeous dress. It looks just wonderful and I love the fabric and trim you chose, so pretty.
5/24/06 5:04 PM
JDpenelope said...
We all love it! It's perfection, esp with your fetching details.
5/24/06 3:52 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I just love this vintage dress! It looks great.
5/24/06 3:33 PM
hobik said...
That is SO ADORABLE
5/24/06 2:44 PM
Liana said...
So cute, and so very vintage, but a wonderful up-to-date sundress! I'm sure you'll wear this one out, too.
5/24/06 2:13 PM
Julia Graham said...
I would never have seen this pattern and I adore it! Thanks for reviewing. The red buttons are great.
5/24/06 10:46 AM
Candis said...
I absolutely love it! You improved it so much by moving the placement of the pockets. As always...another great job!
5/24/06 10:36 AM
said...
Love your dress! It takes me right down memory lane as I wore that style 50-plus years ago when I weighed about 40 pounds less and had firmer flesh. Oh well, I still have enjoyed the style vicariously through your dress!
5/24/06 10:01 AM
slanden99 said...
Great dress-wow!
5/24/06 9:49 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
So cute. I would love to see you make a matching apron for this.
5/24/06 9:45 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love this look Sue. Your dress is adorable. I'd love to see a close-up of the pocket. Great reveiw as always.
5/24/06 9:05 AM
Debbie Cook said...
What a great dress! (And a thorough review too!)
5/24/06 9:03 AM
countrybug said...
Great dress and great review.
5/24/06 8:36 AM
MickeyFan said...
Seeing this dress makes me want to clean house and cook a hot meal for my family! It is really cute, I'll bet you will get many many compliments when you wear it.
5/24/06 7:45 AM
squirrellypoo said...
that is SO cute! I love it! What a perfect, perky summer dress!
5/24/06 7:41 AM
StaceysMom said...
This delightful dress is so crisp and fresh it's a true inspiration for what can be done in the sewing coner of the room. The fabric print suits the style, and the way the fabric hangs with the buttons forming a straight column and the trim nice and flat makes everything fall perfectly into place.
5/24/06 7:25 AM
BillieJean said...
Sooo cute. Your buttons look wonderful. I don't know if I'd have thought to move the bottom ones further apart to compensate for not having enough. I love this site! So many good ideas. Billie
5/24/06 6:39 AM
jlg said...
Such an adorable dress.
5/24/06 6:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I always like reading reviews and see the finished product. I have passed over this pattern a number of times but seeing your dress, makes the pattern more interesting. Looks great!
5/24/06 5:27 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a light and airy dress--it's just perfect for summer!
5/24/06 3:23 AM
Tailypo said...
Oh Sue, it is wonderful! Just too cute. And I agree, much nicer than the pattern envelope!
5/24/06 2:06 AM
kathi s said...
Oh wow! I love your dress! "Sleepy Lagoon" keeps running through my head (vintage music for a vintage dress!).
5/24/06 1:32 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Gorgeous!
5/24/06 0:42 AM
Karen6790 said...
What a great dress! I just added this to my wish list - it will use up some of the fun old cottons inherited in the aunt stash. Great job, and I love the buttons too.
5/24/06 0:16 AM
BjP said...
This is definitely a wonderful looking dress and I love those pockets. Just delightful!
5/24/06 0:07 AM
carolynw said...
Love this dress!! Great job and good save on the arm hole problem!!
5/23/06 11:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I love this style dress. I wish I could still wear it. Yours turned out so pretty.
5/23/06 11:17 PM
wvsher said...
Sweet dress! BTW, I see a lot of original vintage patterns from the 40's & 50's on eBay this week (even a few 20's & 30's). Most of them are in the smaller sizes. :D
5/23/06 10:34 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute dress! I love it.
5/23/06 10:32 PM
Ann Smith said...
Absolutely adorable. You can serve me apple pie anytime.
5/23/06 10:22 PM
Riordan said...
Your dress is darling! Such a tiny little waist--the whole effect is exquisite. I, too, bought this pattern, and now am very eager to sew it (although knowing that my dress won't be as petite and adorable as yours) Thanks for all the helpful information!
5/23/06 9:30 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - I love this dress. The fabric is great and the retro look, as we all know, is certainly back in. Never mind that - this is just a cute dress.
5/23/06 9:28 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
It is fabulous! What a great dress- so pretty and the perfect thing to wear for Spring and Summer. Thank you for writing this inspirational review!
5/23/06 8:53 PM
Diane E said...
Sue, this is a wonderful dress. I love the buttons and the trim! I agree with you about sewing with lovely cotton. It's got to be one of the most delightful things on earth.
5/23/06 8:48 PM
Judy Wentz said...
What a darling dress! You have inspired me to give it a try.
5/23/06 8:19 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your dress is absolutely adorable! I wish I could wear dresses like this. I bet you look great in it.
5/23/06 8:04 PM
CarolynGM said...
A very authentically vintage look. I know I made myself similar dresses in my salad days as a fledgling sewist, but they probably were trimmed with rick rack and darted rather than using princess seams (too hard at the time). Sounds like you had a lot of fun just shopping for for all the ingredients.
5/23/06 7:59 PM
Trinity. said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I love these vintage dresses. It looks fabulous!
5/23/06 7:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

New Look 6150

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

More Info