Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6587 (vintage inspired dresses) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2804 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/06 7:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trinity. said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I love these vintage dresses. It looks fabulous!
5/23/06 7:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
A very authentically vintage look. I know I made myself similar dresses in my salad days as a fledgling sewist, but they probably were trimmed with rick rack and darted rather than using princess seams (too hard at the time). Sounds like you had a lot of fun just shopping for for all the ingredients.
5/23/06 7:59 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your dress is absolutely adorable! I wish I could wear dresses like this. I bet you look great in it.
5/23/06 8:04 PM
Judy Wentz said...
What a darling dress! You have inspired me to give it a try.
5/23/06 8:19 PM
Diane E said...
Sue, this is a wonderful dress. I love the buttons and the trim! I agree with you about sewing with lovely cotton. It's got to be one of the most delightful things on earth.
5/23/06 8:48 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
It is fabulous! What a great dress- so pretty and the perfect thing to wear for Spring and Summer. Thank you for writing this inspirational review!
5/23/06 8:53 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - I love this dress. The fabric is great and the retro look, as we all know, is certainly back in. Never mind that - this is just a cute dress.
5/23/06 9:28 PM
Riordan said...
Your dress is darling! Such a tiny little waist--the whole effect is exquisite. I, too, bought this pattern, and now am very eager to sew it (although knowing that my dress won't be as petite and adorable as yours) Thanks for all the helpful information!
5/23/06 9:30 PM
Ann Smith said...
Absolutely adorable. You can serve me apple pie anytime.
5/23/06 10:22 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute dress! I love it.
5/23/06 10:32 PM
wvsher said...
Sweet dress! BTW, I see a lot of original vintage patterns from the 40's & 50's on eBay this week (even a few 20's & 30's). Most of them are in the smaller sizes. :D
5/23/06 10:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I love this style dress. I wish I could still wear it. Yours turned out so pretty.
5/23/06 11:17 PM
carolynw said...
Love this dress!! Great job and good save on the arm hole problem!!
5/23/06 11:32 PM
BjP said...
This is definitely a wonderful looking dress and I love those pockets. Just delightful!
5/24/06 0:07 AM
Karen6790 said...
What a great dress! I just added this to my wish list - it will use up some of the fun old cottons inherited in the aunt stash. Great job, and I love the buttons too.
5/24/06 0:16 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Gorgeous!
5/24/06 0:42 AM
kathi s said...
Oh wow! I love your dress! "Sleepy Lagoon" keeps running through my head (vintage music for a vintage dress!).
5/24/06 1:32 AM
Tailypo said...
Oh Sue, it is wonderful! Just too cute. And I agree, much nicer than the pattern envelope!
5/24/06 2:06 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a light and airy dress--it's just perfect for summer!
5/24/06 3:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I always like reading reviews and see the finished product. I have passed over this pattern a number of times but seeing your dress, makes the pattern more interesting. Looks great!
5/24/06 5:27 AM
jlg said...
Such an adorable dress.
5/24/06 6:20 AM
BillieJean said...
Sooo cute. Your buttons look wonderful. I don't know if I'd have thought to move the bottom ones further apart to compensate for not having enough. I love this site! So many good ideas. Billie
5/24/06 6:39 AM
StaceysMom said...
This delightful dress is so crisp and fresh it's a true inspiration for what can be done in the sewing coner of the room. The fabric print suits the style, and the way the fabric hangs with the buttons forming a straight column and the trim nice and flat makes everything fall perfectly into place.
5/24/06 7:25 AM
squirrellypoo said...
that is SO cute! I love it! What a perfect, perky summer dress!
5/24/06 7:41 AM
MickeyFan said...
Seeing this dress makes me want to clean house and cook a hot meal for my family! It is really cute, I'll bet you will get many many compliments when you wear it.
5/24/06 7:45 AM
countrybug said...
Great dress and great review.
5/24/06 8:36 AM
Debbie Cook said...
What a great dress! (And a thorough review too!)
5/24/06 9:03 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love this look Sue. Your dress is adorable. I'd love to see a close-up of the pocket. Great reveiw as always.
5/24/06 9:05 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
So cute. I would love to see you make a matching apron for this.
5/24/06 9:45 AM
slanden99 said...
Great dress-wow!
5/24/06 9:49 AM
said...
Love your dress! It takes me right down memory lane as I wore that style 50-plus years ago when I weighed about 40 pounds less and had firmer flesh. Oh well, I still have enjoyed the style vicariously through your dress!
5/24/06 10:01 AM
Candis said...
I absolutely love it! You improved it so much by moving the placement of the pockets. As always...another great job!
5/24/06 10:36 AM
Julia Graham said...
I would never have seen this pattern and I adore it! Thanks for reviewing. The red buttons are great.
5/24/06 10:46 AM
Liana said...
So cute, and so very vintage, but a wonderful up-to-date sundress! I'm sure you'll wear this one out, too.
5/24/06 2:13 PM
hobik said...
That is SO ADORABLE
5/24/06 2:44 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I just love this vintage dress! It looks great.
5/24/06 3:33 PM
JDpenelope said...
We all love it! It's perfection, esp with your fetching details.
5/24/06 3:52 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, what a gorgeous dress. It looks just wonderful and I love the fabric and trim you chose, so pretty.
5/24/06 5:04 PM
PhyllisC said...
Dresses like this remnd of the red & white 1940's kitchen of my great aunt. *sigh* (basking in warm feelings of nostalgia) :0)
5/24/06 6:06 PM
Sewnla said...
What a sweet summer dress. Very pretty.
5/24/06 7:27 PM
Fern R said...
My only complaint is that your photo isn't three times the size of my screen so that I can look at your handiwork in detail. :-)
5/25/06 2:03 AM
tlmck3 said...
Your dress is so much cuter than the pattern! I passed over this pattern at Hancock's when I was browsing the New Look stuff that just arrived. I think I need to go back and buy it now.
6/10/06 3:04 AM
sue77 said...
I LOVE it! This is SO beautiful! I bought this pattern, and I'm still waiting for the right fabric to *call* to me, lol. I imagine I'll have issues with the arms then, I have large arms. Thanks for a great review!
6/28/06 3:58 PM
sue77 said...
I LOVE it! I bought this pattern, and I'm still waiting for the right fabric to *call* to me, lol. I imagine I'll have issues with the arms then, I have large arms. Thanks for a great review!
6/28/06 4:01 PM
Laurie Lou said...
That is the cutest dress I have ever seen! I also got this pattern and have not had a chance to make it but in the meantime I happen to come across a readymade sleevless; very retro, but with a slight capped sleeve and a sweetheart neckline. It is a pretty fusia...not exactly career wear but what the heck I wore it to work and felt so femmine. When you reach 50 the nice thing is you don't have to cower to fashion trends! Your dress turned out adorable. Have you worn it much? I bet the girls are envious!
8/1/06 2:26 PM
mad4sewing said...
I love this dress. I will definately buy this pattern.
10/29/06 7:34 PM
amanda77 said...
Way cuter than the pattern envelope. I've passed up on that pattern several times, but this makes me rethink it. Absolutely adorable!
3/15/07 5:23 PM
Nancywin said...
I just had to come back and read your review since I just made this dress. I love what you did with it. Now I'm inspired to make this view!
10/1/08 9:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2007-125 Cocktail dress
photo
Review by liliv on 11/6/13
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5815 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5815 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1085 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 6/24/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us