SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1211 (Santa Monica Tee)

47 more reviews
Viewed 1713 times 
Reviewed by:milwaukee_kelly
photo

 
 
About milwaukee_kellystar
WI USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/22/06 10:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
Hi Kelly, I have square shoulders too, so I have the page in Fit for Real People marked for how to sq all the different patterns. On page 165, it states you are to "let out" the shoulder seam dart on a darted raglan sleeve. I don't have this pattern, so I am assuming that is the dart you are referring to. The drawing shows the alteration lines outside the pattern lines. I only need a 1/4", so I don't really cut the pattern any differently, I just baste the sleeve pieces together and then adjust at the area I need to sq and I still have plenty of seam allowance. That way I do not have to measure exact distance from the neck and length of my shoulder. If you need a picture, let me know and I can maybe scan it and send to you via private message. Hope this helps. Oh, and I really like your top, too.
11/18/07 3:33 PM
AnneM said...
How exciting, your 1st knit! It came out very nicely.
6/7/06 11:22 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This looks very attractive on you: great job, especially for a first knit. I'm with the others on finishing hems on knits: believe it or not, you can "over-finish" causing "pulling" at the hem after washing. I alternate between using twin needles and zig-zagging depending on how the stitches look on my sample fabric. After doing one or the other, I then trim as close to the stitching as I can: looks fine on inside.
5/23/06 10:43 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great top! I love this pattern too. The armholes are cut a bit high, although I didn't recognize this in stretchy knits in my stash. Using another knit recently with less stretch, I realized that the armholes could have been dropped about 3/8" to accommodate less stretch and the raglan seams let out a 1/4". Only problem was the SA's were 3/8" to begin with. Good thing it was only a muslin, but if you think it might be a little tight in the chest or shoulders, cut the SA's larger and adjust as necessary. Or like you said, maybe try adjusting the darts. The stretch factor really does make a fit difference with this shirt.
5/23/06 7:30 AM
CarolynD said...
This top looks very nice on you, nice choice of print, good color for you. Good job for a first project, it really looks like RTW. I have this pattern and plan to make it soon.
5/23/06 0:38 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your lovely top, interesting review, and the informative comments you received all make me want to make this top again. I am now appreciating some of the advice you received about not fussing over the interior with certain knits--having recently had bulges in some serged slinky seams. Your wooly nylon really worked well to prevent waving seams and hems. Good job!
5/22/06 7:16 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
First knit? Wow. Look at those nice flat hems. Well done. Regarding the interior finishing on the hems, I've got two words for you: Coverstitch Machine!
5/22/06 4:51 PM
Peggy L said...
Kelly - this turned out really cute. Great fabric. I'm with Mini, I think you might need to lengthen it a little across the chest as it would make your armhole a little lower. One the places I usually shorten. You should be proud to wear this!
5/22/06 3:57 PM
Mini said...
P.S. Kelly, your profile says you are taller than average. This pattern seems to be proportioned for the pattern industry's "standard" height of 5'6", so you may need to lengthen the upper chest a bit, as this armhole is cut pretty high even for some of us short types.
5/22/06 2:59 PM
Mini said...
A very wise pattern choice-it's stylish, yet quick and easy to sew. I think your idea about taking up less fabric in the dart is a good one. Lots of raglan tops are designed without a shoulder dart, so it is possble to leave it out. (This works best when your fabric has lots of stretch. That way the fabric will shape itself to the shoulder without help from the dart.) I agree withthe others about not overfinishing your knits. If your fabric isn't twisting or ravelling, a turned and topstitched hem is all you really need:).
5/22/06 2:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
Congratulations on your first knit! It looks very stylish and sleek on you. Don't fret about the interior finishing -- knits don't need much and often hang better without the extra thread that serging adds.
5/22/06 1:11 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Congratulations! Soon you'll be addictively making lots of knits too.. But just hold off a bit on doing more to the inside - after dozens of washings, when you see that nothing happens, you'll relax about the 'unfinished' bit. And when people add elastic, it's usually to stabilize the neck and/or shoulders, not to really do finishing. As to your sleeves, yes, people persecuted by ready to wear usually do over-compensate at first :-). Hack off a couple inches from those sleeves next time, you'll be fine.
5/22/06 10:50 AM
Patti B said...
Wonderful job on your first knit! I love your fabric and it is very flattering on you. Congrats on entering the knit world -- it's enticing!
5/22/06 10:24 AM
wvsher said...
Nice top with great fit!
5/22/06 10:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat

photo
by: Robin Denn...

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now