SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3093 (T-Neck L/S Pullover)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1049 times 
Reviewed by:Shirley Stitchin'
photo

 
 
About Shirley Stitchin'star
CA USA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/02 9:03 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Shirley Stitchin' said...
Lisa, The armhole is a bit low on this pattern as well. I did not redraw the side seam line when I altered for full bust, and that keeps the armhole a shade more snug, I believe. I like the roominess as long as the wrist is snug enough to keep me from dunking my sleeves in my soup. :) It crosses my mind to combine the armscye from one of Loes Hinse's patterns with a Kwik Sew top. Loes armscyes are as snug as they could be on me and still permit any arm movement at all.
12/19/02 3:25 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Shirley - I tried a different KS turtleneck pattern (2900), and found that the armhole was very low; considerably lower than the illustration. How is the armhole depth on this pattern?
11/28/02 11:40 PM
said...
Shirley, your turtleneck sounds fabulous! Those speckled knits will look like designer originals! I made a KS t-neck in stretch velvet last year after seeing them for over $100 at the ski shop. My cost: $20, gotta love it!
10/20/02 7:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made this top 3 times so far with the mock t-neck. It's a great little top! I agree that the pattern runs on the large size. I also agree that the neckband runs on the big size as well (even on the mock). When making the collar out of self-fabric, I found that it's better to cut the neckband at the ribbing line rather than the self-line if the fabric has good stretch. I'm glad you're so pleased with the results! Excellent review!
10/16/02 11:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, this review is packed with great tips, and I have this pattern so I can try them all out. I have the flexible curve which I recently used to draft a custom hip curve for my pants (-works great, by the way.) Now I can use it to draft a waist curve! I have Connie Long's knits book--sounds like the Fit for Real People would be useful for me too.
10/16/02 11:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love that quote! "Life is too short for me to make all the mistakes myself; I must learn from the mistakes of others as well" That's worth putting on a cross-stitch sampler! Thanks for the great review, Shirley. Looking forward to seeing the photo!
10/16/02 11:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Shirley, Nice, thorough review. I've been considering making this top because of all the good reviews it's received. I, too, like seeing mistakes other people make, that way I don't feel quite so stupid when something ends up in the trash. I always have to make full-bust adjustments, too, and don't quite have a handle on that yet.
10/16/02 9:34 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7905

photo
by: emr

Review
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

More Info
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

More Info