Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3093 (T-Neck L/S Pullover) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1047 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Shirley Stitchin'
photo
About Shirley Stitchin'star
CA USA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/02 9:03 AM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Shirley, Nice, thorough review. I've been considering making this top because of all the good reviews it's received. I, too, like seeing mistakes other people make, that way I don't feel quite so stupid when something ends up in the trash. I always have to make full-bust adjustments, too, and don't quite have a handle on that yet.
10/16/02 9:34 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love that quote! "Life is too short for me to make all the mistakes myself; I must learn from the mistakes of others as well" That's worth putting on a cross-stitch sampler! Thanks for the great review, Shirley. Looking forward to seeing the photo!
10/16/02 11:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, this review is packed with great tips, and I have this pattern so I can try them all out. I have the flexible curve which I recently used to draft a custom hip curve for my pants (-works great, by the way.) Now I can use it to draft a waist curve! I have Connie Long's knits book--sounds like the Fit for Real People would be useful for me too.
10/16/02 11:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made this top 3 times so far with the mock t-neck. It's a great little top! I agree that the pattern runs on the large size. I also agree that the neckband runs on the big size as well (even on the mock). When making the collar out of self-fabric, I found that it's better to cut the neckband at the ribbing line rather than the self-line if the fabric has good stretch. I'm glad you're so pleased with the results! Excellent review!
10/16/02 11:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Shirley, your turtleneck sounds fabulous! Those speckled knits will look like designer originals! I made a KS t-neck in stretch velvet last year after seeing them for over $100 at the ski shop. My cost: $20, gotta love it!
10/20/02 7:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lisa Laree said...
Shirley - I tried a different KS turtleneck pattern (2900), and found that the armhole was very low; considerably lower than the illustration. How is the armhole depth on this pattern?
11/28/02 11:40 PM
Shirley Stitchin' said...
Lisa, The armhole is a bit low on this pattern as well. I did not redraw the side seam line when I altered for full bust, and that keeps the armhole a shade more snug, I believe. I like the roominess as long as the wrist is snug enough to keep me from dunking my sleeves in my soup. :) It crosses my mind to combine the armscye from one of Loes Hinse's patterns with a Kwik Sew top. Loes armscyes are as snug as they could be on me and still permit any arm movement at all.
12/19/02 3:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Folkwear 258
photo
Review by Annika on 6/28/08
Read Review

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 63953-1000 Judy Jetson
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/30/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us