SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3093 (T-Neck L/S Pullover)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1048 times 
Reviewed by:Shirley Stitchin'
photo

 
 
About Shirley Stitchin'star
CA USA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/02 9:03 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Shirley, Nice, thorough review. I've been considering making this top because of all the good reviews it's received. I, too, like seeing mistakes other people make, that way I don't feel quite so stupid when something ends up in the trash. I always have to make full-bust adjustments, too, and don't quite have a handle on that yet.
10/16/02 9:34 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love that quote! "Life is too short for me to make all the mistakes myself; I must learn from the mistakes of others as well" That's worth putting on a cross-stitch sampler! Thanks for the great review, Shirley. Looking forward to seeing the photo!
10/16/02 11:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, this review is packed with great tips, and I have this pattern so I can try them all out. I have the flexible curve which I recently used to draft a custom hip curve for my pants (-works great, by the way.) Now I can use it to draft a waist curve! I have Connie Long's knits book--sounds like the Fit for Real People would be useful for me too.
10/16/02 11:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made this top 3 times so far with the mock t-neck. It's a great little top! I agree that the pattern runs on the large size. I also agree that the neckband runs on the big size as well (even on the mock). When making the collar out of self-fabric, I found that it's better to cut the neckband at the ribbing line rather than the self-line if the fabric has good stretch. I'm glad you're so pleased with the results! Excellent review!
10/16/02 11:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Shirley, your turtleneck sounds fabulous! Those speckled knits will look like designer originals! I made a KS t-neck in stretch velvet last year after seeing them for over $100 at the ski shop. My cost: $20, gotta love it!
10/20/02 7:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lisa Laree said...
Shirley - I tried a different KS turtleneck pattern (2900), and found that the armhole was very low; considerably lower than the illustration. How is the armhole depth on this pattern?
11/28/02 11:40 PM
Shirley Stitchin' said...
Lisa, The armhole is a bit low on this pattern as well. I did not redraw the side seam line when I altered for full bust, and that keeps the armhole a shade more snug, I believe. I like the roominess as long as the wrist is snug enough to keep me from dunking my sleeves in my soup. :) It crosses my mind to combine the armscye from one of Loes Hinse's patterns with a Kwik Sew top. Loes armscyes are as snug as they could be on me and still permit any arm movement at all.
12/19/02 3:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Folkwear 240

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Jean Hardy 875

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now