Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Classix Nouveau Razor-Sha (Classix Nouveau Razor-Sharp Pa) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1741 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Tarawebster
photo
About Tarawebsterstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/31/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/06 7:04 PM
Last Updated:5/23/06 7:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Cotton/ lycra woven is notorious for having a mind of its own. It may not be you at all, but this particular fabric. Any variation on the grain will show up, and one yard may have a slightly different tension than the next. All in all I think your pants look good. You might try pinching out a little length in the front rise at the zipper area. You would have to take the equivalent out of the fly pieces as well, so maybe making a side or back zip version would help to work ou the fit issues.
5/23/06 7:19 PM
Karla Kizer said...
About those pesky drag lines.....yes, I'm the one who suggested a "covert" high hip..... once again, the drag lines are on the right side of your pants. If you put them on and tug the right sideseam down (it will not feel good around the waist), do the drag lines disappear? That would be an indication that you need a little more length in the upper hip on the right side. Another clue: the right pants leg looks shorter; more of your heel is showing on the right side. Do any RTW pants show the same evidence, or is Georgene's suggestion about the finickiness of cotton/lycra more likely?
5/23/06 7:30 PM
wvsher said...
The pants are looking pretty good, almost there. Kudos on your patience working out the kinks! I'm thinking maybe they just need to be lengthened a little from the waist to the hip -- maybe you are either taller or more long-waisted than the average the pattern is based on. (?)
5/23/06 10:29 PM
carolynw said...
I agree with wvsher that you may need to lengthen the crotch to get rid of the drag lines - it's worth a try but before you cut out another pair pull these slacks down below your waist a bit and maybe you can see if having an inch or so extra in the depth would help. Getting pants to fit correctly is a time consuming(and often frustrating) affair but it looks as if you are on the right track with these!!
5/23/06 11:24 PM
Tarawebster said...
Thanks for the feedback. Karla, I just took your advice and put on my favorite rtw pants, and looked in a mirror with a mirror in my hand, and lo and behold, the same drag lines on my right side. So, I have a high hip. D'oh! The fitting mystery is closer to being understood. Now it's a question of playing with how much to add to the right side of all my pants, as I'm sure this is adjust ment I'll need on most pants. I will do my fourth muslin with a non lycra fabric, taking Georgene's advice, and figure out how to correct for the high hip that Karla first spotted on a pair of burda's with me, and maybe also lengthen the waist to hip as wvsher suggests in these pants as I think it would make them more flattering. It's a good thing I like to tinker, lol. thanks!
5/24/06 0:52 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Before you go and alter everything, consider something else: a temporary high hip. I like to stand with my weigh on one hip or the other too, but if I altered my pants to fit that, I'd end up with drag lines half the time :-). Clearly you're physically capable of standing straight, you have the photo to prove it, so it's not an organic thing, just a habit thing... Personally, I don't consider an occasional drag line a reason to change long-standing habits, after all other people wear ready-to-wear pants that don't fit them nearly as well to begin with :-).
5/24/06 3:32 AM
CarolynGM said...
Tara -- I don't know how similar the crotch depth on these pants is to the Pants to Die For, but I had to lengthen quite a bit from waist to crotch line. Since you're tallish, you might need to do something similar.
5/24/06 7:00 AM
Nancy K said...
I sent you a message on the high right hip, as Karla mentions. I also think that you may have to have a bit more crotch depth. But, I also have had problems with cotton lycra and just chucked a pair. If you need a longer crotch you can sew it deeper in the finished pant. You look really close in the fit department, don't dispair. Pants are the hardest and yours will look great with just a bit more work. I'd also lengthen the leg a little bit. I who have a short crotch depth, made this pant and had to reduce the hem depth because the leg was too short. I am not sure on her sewing order. Other pants sew the inner legs then put the crotch together which keeps the inseam sas flat. Mine want to fold over. I think that next time I will sew the order I have other pants.
5/24/06 8:38 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Well they look good! I wondering what the fitting solution will be?
5/24/06 9:51 AM
magmacat said...
you might also consider making the hem circumference wider in addition to lengthening the leg, both to make it look more like the drawing and to make it more flattering.
5/24/06 10:24 AM
redsquid said...
Thanks for your review -I'm working on my Razor-Sharp pants muslin now. I'm going to use fabric without lycra for this first pair based on your feedback comments. Linda (redsqiud)
5/24/06 1:25 PM
Elaine Penney said...
I ditto Karla's observations about the high right hip. It seems quite apparent from your back view. I have the high hip problem, also. My adjustments include the extra length in the upper part of the waist/hip on the right side only and a little redrawing of the hip curve on the right side (front and back). You don't mention a problem with twisting, but some people with one hip higher also have a problem with their pants twisting off center around the body while wearing. I have this problem because my right hip is a little bit fuller than the left, so I add a good quarter inch (total, half inch) to the right front and back front sides. This pretty much solves the twisting. Keep plugging away. It's very rewarding when you finally get a great fitting pair of pants!
5/24/06 1:34 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on the pants, Tara! Isn't it funny how we will be so critical of what we sew, and not even notice those same draglines in RTW? I haven't sewn in 2 weeks, so I have no progress on my version to report. (Hopefully this weekend.)
5/26/06 5:12 AM
Tarawebster said...
Thanks Anne. I look forward to seeing yours! I went to a class with a Bay Area fit expert, Jane Foster, and got the Burda pants fixed. We looked at these, and we lowered the crotch even more and corrected for the right high hip, and they fit much much better now. Now I just need to try them again in a non lycra fabric, perhaps put an invisible zipper in the back instead of a front fly, transfer the fit adjustments to the pattern, and I should have a great pair of pants. She was also not sure that it was a flattering style in general on me, and I tend to agree with her. I think my hips look better in a different cut. That's not a criticism of the pattern. As we've seen from the other reviews these pants look terrific on many people. I will give them one more try with the fit adjustments and then make my decision about whether this pattern is right for me or not. Ah...someday....someday....I will find the right style and learn how to create the right fit. Once again though, I have to give hotpatterns credit. Every time I work with one of their patterns, I learn a ton. I'm looking forward to working on their trouser skirt and their shirtdress!
5/27/06 3:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 5465
photo
Review by Sewlovelie... on 12/27/08
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5006
photo
Review by misscreati... on 10/18/10
Read Review

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us