SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4192 (Five easy coordinates)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1316 times 
Reviewed by:redsquid
photo

 
 
About redsquidstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/06 9:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Celeste said...
Thank you for the detour!
5/23/06 11:14 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks a million - got the e-mail today and thought this was so cute - good to know it's one that's best to avoid. If YOU can't get it to look right then I know it's one a sewist should really run away from.
5/23/06 11:28 PM
sewbehind said...
I don't know what the instructions say, but what would happen if you used a rib-type fabric for the neckband piece? I noticed this pattern and thought that it was cute. Now I guess I will run too. Thanks for the review.
5/23/06 11:31 PM
redsquid said...
I thought about ribbing - but the band is cut too wide as is. I might try some narrow ribbing to salvage this (with some clear elastic to stablize gathers in front).
5/23/06 11:36 PM
Em's Summer said...
Hmm...if you shortened the length of the band and stretched it to fit the neckline, would that help? I hope you can fix the top--it's cute. Thanks for this very helpful review!
5/24/06 3:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like the look of this top on the pattern envelope. Do you think if you narrowed the neckband that it would lie on neckline better? This top is like a lot of RTW tops I have seen of late and really disappointed to hear of the results. Thanks for reviewing this and giving a heads up on potential problem.
5/24/06 5:36 AM
countrybug said...
Thanks for the review, I keep looking at this pattern every time I go to the store. Let us know how the other pieces come out, Ill wait on you!! ;)
5/24/06 8:52 AM
sewingfever said...
I made this same knit top about a month ago and after stitching the band to the top, I used a narrow overcast stitch close to the seam, then trimmed, so it's only slightly more than 1/4". I then gave the whole seam area a good steam press, kind of shaping the neckline. Then I topstitched close to the neckline seam as directed in the instructions. I wasn't a hundred percent happy with the finished result, but it's definitely wearable, and I'm picky! I am tempted to try this again, making the neck band only about half as wide, as I think this would help immensely. The band is just too wide as is to lay smoothly. I also found that the back shoulder area was cut a little narrow, and my bra straps show a bit. Hope this is helpful!
5/26/06 12:41 PM
sewingfever said...
In my above comments, I forgot to add that I added length to this top when cutting out - I can't remember exactly how much, probably close to an inch or slightly more, and I used it all. I'm 5'5'' and about average torso length for height.
5/26/06 12:57 PM
redsquid said...
Sewingfever - you should definitely write a review of this pattern!
5/29/06 1:03 PM
BeckyW said...
Thanks for the warning on the top. I am tempted by that little kimono top though. If you make it, please post a review.
5/31/06 9:06 PM
AnneM said...
Good info. Sounds like there are easier knit top patterns out there, although if swayed by the other pieces it might be worth fighting with. Maybe.
6/7/06 4:52 PM
Keisha West said...
Did you try to cut the band on the bias instead of a straight accross band. It may stretch correctly at the bottom of the band if the fabrics grain is on a diagonal.
9/8/06 0:51 AM
redsquid said...
Keisha - I cut it as directed - stretch lenghtwise. I just think my fabric had the right stretch was too firm - you need something you can mold into a U shape (others have gotten this made - try a narrower band)
9/8/06 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Other Other

photo
by: Holmar

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 218360-1000

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now