SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4192 (Five easy coordinates)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1318 times 
Reviewed by:redsquid
photo

 
 
About redsquidstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/06 9:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Celeste said...
Thank you for the detour!
5/23/06 11:14 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks a million - got the e-mail today and thought this was so cute - good to know it's one that's best to avoid. If YOU can't get it to look right then I know it's one a sewist should really run away from.
5/23/06 11:28 PM
sewbehind said...
I don't know what the instructions say, but what would happen if you used a rib-type fabric for the neckband piece? I noticed this pattern and thought that it was cute. Now I guess I will run too. Thanks for the review.
5/23/06 11:31 PM
redsquid said...
I thought about ribbing - but the band is cut too wide as is. I might try some narrow ribbing to salvage this (with some clear elastic to stablize gathers in front).
5/23/06 11:36 PM
Em's Summer said...
Hmm...if you shortened the length of the band and stretched it to fit the neckline, would that help? I hope you can fix the top--it's cute. Thanks for this very helpful review!
5/24/06 3:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like the look of this top on the pattern envelope. Do you think if you narrowed the neckband that it would lie on neckline better? This top is like a lot of RTW tops I have seen of late and really disappointed to hear of the results. Thanks for reviewing this and giving a heads up on potential problem.
5/24/06 5:36 AM
countrybug said...
Thanks for the review, I keep looking at this pattern every time I go to the store. Let us know how the other pieces come out, Ill wait on you!! ;)
5/24/06 8:52 AM
sewingfever said...
I made this same knit top about a month ago and after stitching the band to the top, I used a narrow overcast stitch close to the seam, then trimmed, so it's only slightly more than 1/4". I then gave the whole seam area a good steam press, kind of shaping the neckline. Then I topstitched close to the neckline seam as directed in the instructions. I wasn't a hundred percent happy with the finished result, but it's definitely wearable, and I'm picky! I am tempted to try this again, making the neck band only about half as wide, as I think this would help immensely. The band is just too wide as is to lay smoothly. I also found that the back shoulder area was cut a little narrow, and my bra straps show a bit. Hope this is helpful!
5/26/06 12:41 PM
sewingfever said...
In my above comments, I forgot to add that I added length to this top when cutting out - I can't remember exactly how much, probably close to an inch or slightly more, and I used it all. I'm 5'5'' and about average torso length for height.
5/26/06 12:57 PM
redsquid said...
Sewingfever - you should definitely write a review of this pattern!
5/29/06 1:03 PM
BeckyW said...
Thanks for the warning on the top. I am tempted by that little kimono top though. If you make it, please post a review.
5/31/06 9:06 PM
AnneM said...
Good info. Sounds like there are easier knit top patterns out there, although if swayed by the other pieces it might be worth fighting with. Maybe.
6/7/06 4:52 PM
Keisha West said...
Did you try to cut the band on the bias instead of a straight accross band. It may stretch correctly at the bottom of the band if the fabrics grain is on a diagonal.
9/8/06 0:51 AM
redsquid said...
Keisha - I cut it as directed - stretch lenghtwise. I just think my fabric had the right stretch was too firm - you need something you can mold into a U shape (others have gotten this made - try a narrower band)
9/8/06 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Dawn Anderson Designs 201

photo
by: julieb

Review
Vogue Patterns 1160

photo
by: VirginiasD...

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now