SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 6338 (skirt with front bow tie)

Viewed 1177 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynD
photo

 
 
About CarolynDstar
NJ USA
Member since: 12/31/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/06 2:18 PM
Last Updated:7/9/06 10:30 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
I love it. What a great pattern. I am glad you reviewed this.
6/28/06 2:27 PM
wvsher said...
I love it, too, and I like reviews of vintage and OOP patterns. Do you like how it looks on?
6/28/06 2:47 PM
McJulie-O said...
Carolyn, I'm having a difficult time figuring out how this skirt goes together. Are the ties part of the front pattern piece and if they are not tied, the whole thing would slip off and lie flat (like a sarong , without the unwrap)? That is to ask: do you untie the tie in order to take the skirt off? I'm not asking this very well....sorry!
6/28/06 3:23 PM
Janie Viers said...
Could you take a picture of the pattern piece? And, what is the Simplicity number of a similar pattern? I absolutely love it!
6/28/06 3:28 PM
CarolynD said...
I posted the back of the pattern at pattern photo at the top. It has one seam in the back and one in the front that ends right under the tie. The pattern doesn't instruct you to face the tie but I did, it just has facing for the back of the skirt. It does look really cute on. It has a kind of high waist look that sarongs have because of the pull on the fabric but it is very cute and the a line makes it easy to walk in. I also made on in vintage rayon that I still have to hem. I don't know the # of the simplicity pattern, it was on a page with other easy summer patterns. Come to think of it I am not entirely sure it was Simplicity, sorry I don't remember!
6/28/06 4:01 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a pretty skirt! I love the pattern's lines. -Ann
6/28/06 5:19 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very classy. I like seeing vintage designs - can always learn to draft your own.
6/28/06 5:38 PM
MaryBeth said...
What a sweet little skirt!
6/28/06 5:45 PM
Penny Carlson said...
It's adorable! I actually have a Butterick (I think) pattern that's about 1 1/2 years old that has a similar waist treatment, but for pants. Have not done anything with it, but I think you just inspired me!
6/28/06 6:25 PM
beth5646 said...
That skirt is so cute. I love it too. I love vintage patterns and I have collected some from the 40's through 60's, mainly off ebay, just haven't had the nerve to sew them yet. You are definately inspiring.
6/28/06 8:18 PM
Tiner W said...
Very cute!
6/28/06 10:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I am enjoying reading about vintage patterns and fabric. Thanks for sharing yours. I like this skirt.
6/29/06 5:24 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Very Cute! "The original pattern is unprinted and just has the little holes for marking"??? --I don't get this -- how does this work. Inquiring minds need to know!
6/29/06 2:00 PM
Hilary said...
I think your skirt is just lovely!! I too really enjoy it when I see vintage patterns reviewed-who knows what treasures we can find if we look! To me it's ok (I think :D) that I can't get the exact pattern. Seeing vintage reviews inspires me to check and see what I *can* find! Thanks so much for posting the review-good tips, too!
6/29/06 2:10 PM
Katherine Dols said...
What a cute skirt! Thanks for showing the pattern back with the pattern piece on it--I'll try re-creating the pattern piece and make the skirt.
6/29/06 4:25 PM
Berniejh said...
Hi Carolyn, I can't get the photo but would love to see the pics - can you help?
7/9/06 0:56 AM
Mermie said...
I love that skirt! Very cute.
7/9/06 10:49 AM
ConnieBJ said...
That is so pretty - I really need to catalogue my way too extensive vintage pattern collection and look at making some up!
7/9/06 11:58 AM
Debra H said...
Excellent job. What a great pattern find. Too bad Vogue doesn't "mine" more of their vintage patterns. Most of their new vintage releases are evening gowns and very fitted jackets....there are so many other wonderful designs and yours is a great example. You did a lovely job on it.
7/9/06 2:52 PM
AndreaP said...
I love this skirt. Very simple, and the tie front is so cute.
7/9/06 7:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 5651

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
StyleArc Nina cardigan

photo
by: Lazylinche...

Review
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now