SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 6338 (skirt with front bow tie)

Viewed 1177 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynD
photo

 
 
About CarolynDstar
NJ USA
Member since: 12/31/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/06 2:18 PM
Last Updated:7/9/06 10:30 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AndreaP said...
I love this skirt. Very simple, and the tie front is so cute.
7/9/06 7:47 PM
Debra H said...
Excellent job. What a great pattern find. Too bad Vogue doesn't "mine" more of their vintage patterns. Most of their new vintage releases are evening gowns and very fitted jackets....there are so many other wonderful designs and yours is a great example. You did a lovely job on it.
7/9/06 2:52 PM
ConnieBJ said...
That is so pretty - I really need to catalogue my way too extensive vintage pattern collection and look at making some up!
7/9/06 11:58 AM
Mermie said...
I love that skirt! Very cute.
7/9/06 10:49 AM
Berniejh said...
Hi Carolyn, I can't get the photo but would love to see the pics - can you help?
7/9/06 0:56 AM
Katherine Dols said...
What a cute skirt! Thanks for showing the pattern back with the pattern piece on it--I'll try re-creating the pattern piece and make the skirt.
6/29/06 4:25 PM
Hilary said...
I think your skirt is just lovely!! I too really enjoy it when I see vintage patterns reviewed-who knows what treasures we can find if we look! To me it's ok (I think :D) that I can't get the exact pattern. Seeing vintage reviews inspires me to check and see what I *can* find! Thanks so much for posting the review-good tips, too!
6/29/06 2:10 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Very Cute! "The original pattern is unprinted and just has the little holes for marking"??? --I don't get this -- how does this work. Inquiring minds need to know!
6/29/06 2:00 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I am enjoying reading about vintage patterns and fabric. Thanks for sharing yours. I like this skirt.
6/29/06 5:24 AM
Tiner W said...
Very cute!
6/28/06 10:43 PM
beth5646 said...
That skirt is so cute. I love it too. I love vintage patterns and I have collected some from the 40's through 60's, mainly off ebay, just haven't had the nerve to sew them yet. You are definately inspiring.
6/28/06 8:18 PM
Penny Carlson said...
It's adorable! I actually have a Butterick (I think) pattern that's about 1 1/2 years old that has a similar waist treatment, but for pants. Have not done anything with it, but I think you just inspired me!
6/28/06 6:25 PM
MaryBeth said...
What a sweet little skirt!
6/28/06 5:45 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very classy. I like seeing vintage designs - can always learn to draft your own.
6/28/06 5:38 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a pretty skirt! I love the pattern's lines. -Ann
6/28/06 5:19 PM
CarolynD said...
I posted the back of the pattern at pattern photo at the top. It has one seam in the back and one in the front that ends right under the tie. The pattern doesn't instruct you to face the tie but I did, it just has facing for the back of the skirt. It does look really cute on. It has a kind of high waist look that sarongs have because of the pull on the fabric but it is very cute and the a line makes it easy to walk in. I also made on in vintage rayon that I still have to hem. I don't know the # of the simplicity pattern, it was on a page with other easy summer patterns. Come to think of it I am not entirely sure it was Simplicity, sorry I don't remember!
6/28/06 4:01 PM
Janie Viers said...
Could you take a picture of the pattern piece? And, what is the Simplicity number of a similar pattern? I absolutely love it!
6/28/06 3:28 PM
McJulie-O said...
Carolyn, I'm having a difficult time figuring out how this skirt goes together. Are the ties part of the front pattern piece and if they are not tied, the whole thing would slip off and lie flat (like a sarong , without the unwrap)? That is to ask: do you untie the tie in order to take the skirt off? I'm not asking this very well....sorry!
6/28/06 3:23 PM
wvsher said...
I love it, too, and I like reviews of vintage and OOP patterns. Do you like how it looks on?
6/28/06 2:47 PM
Peggy L said...
I love it. What a great pattern. I am glad you reviewed this.
6/28/06 2:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 3134

photo
by: lilyloulad...

Review

Pattern