SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6254 (Misses Tops)

3 more reviews
Viewed 884 times 
Reviewed by:tigger
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiggerstar
AE USA
Member since: 1/8/05
Reviews: 33 (patterns: 29)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/06 2:07 PM
Last Updated:5/28/06 2:07 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
AnneM said... (6/18/06 3:53 PM) Reply
Yes, it does look like a maternity top. Which is actually one of the current styles, it seems. I can't wear empire-waist garments either, unless perhaps it is fitted through the waist.
fuzzygalore said... (5/29/06 2:52 AM) Reply
I'm belly challenged too, and I agree completely with time2sew: keep the gathers above the seam line... Or use darts. Something, just don't make a maternity top :-).
Elemenopeo said... (5/28/06 6:36 PM) Reply
I guess you could finish it off and donate it to a shelter as a maternity top. The fabric is very pretty. Throw the pattern away. Ish.
frame said... (5/28/06 5:38 PM) Reply
Very pretty fabric, but you're right. It screams maternity. Sorry it didn't work for you.
Em's Summer said... (5/28/06 4:29 PM) Reply
Sorry it didn't work for you, and thank you for this great review! Maybe you could try an empire with a fitted bottom?
Linda F said... (5/28/06 3:04 PM) Reply
I'm belly challenged also and I own quite a few empire tops. The key is to get a top that is not gathered below the empire line. When I looked at the photo before I read the review, I thought it was a maternity top. I have been going to the store and trying on styles before I make them. While RTW falls off the shoulders, are too big or darts don't point where they should, I can still see if the style will work. Good luck.
Mary Stiefer said... (5/28/06 2:54 PM) Reply
Oh gosh - I'm so sorry this didn't work for you but I certainly do appreciate the warning on this one. thank you for that.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-7

photo
by: jent

Review
Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Pattern Details