SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6254 (Misses Tops)

3 more reviews
Viewed 886 times 
Reviewed by:tigger
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiggerstar
AE USA
Member since: 1/8/05
Reviews: 33 (patterns: 29)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/06 2:07 PM
Last Updated:5/28/06 2:07 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
AnneM said... (6/18/06 3:53 PM) Reply
Yes, it does look like a maternity top. Which is actually one of the current styles, it seems. I can't wear empire-waist garments either, unless perhaps it is fitted through the waist.
fuzzygalore said... (5/29/06 2:52 AM) Reply
I'm belly challenged too, and I agree completely with time2sew: keep the gathers above the seam line... Or use darts. Something, just don't make a maternity top :-).
Elemenopeo said... (5/28/06 6:36 PM) Reply
I guess you could finish it off and donate it to a shelter as a maternity top. The fabric is very pretty. Throw the pattern away. Ish.
frame said... (5/28/06 5:38 PM) Reply
Very pretty fabric, but you're right. It screams maternity. Sorry it didn't work for you.
Em's Summer said... (5/28/06 4:29 PM) Reply
Sorry it didn't work for you, and thank you for this great review! Maybe you could try an empire with a fitted bottom?
Linda F said... (5/28/06 3:04 PM) Reply
I'm belly challenged also and I own quite a few empire tops. The key is to get a top that is not gathered below the empire line. When I looked at the photo before I read the review, I thought it was a maternity top. I have been going to the store and trying on styles before I make them. While RTW falls off the shoulders, are too big or darts don't point where they should, I can still see if the style will work. Good luck.
Mary Stiefer said... (5/28/06 2:54 PM) Reply
Oh gosh - I'm so sorry this didn't work for you but I certainly do appreciate the warning on this one. thank you for that.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Beyond the BoatNeck
Beyond the BoatNeck

Class Details

Other Ohhh Lulu 1203

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Pamela's Patterns Cool Cardigans - Banded Front Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Cool Cardigans - Banded Front Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Pattern Details